We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Having chosen to go campervanning in the Highlands of Scotland over christmas and New Year, it was a bit of an experience considering the abnormal weather conditions. Minus 16 in Glencoe one night. My partner and I were camped in a layby in snow and ice at the top of Loch Leven and we took a walk down the road until we came to the Macdonald Hotel. What a truly delightful place. The staff were friendly, warm, welcoming and cheerful. It was as if they were all part of one big family. The huge deer hounds wandering around were a total joy and our own dog was welcomed amongst them.
We had a drink to warm ourselves and after cheerful banter with the staff and Francis the owner, we decided to book a Christmas Eve meal the following evening since we weren't going to get the full Christmas works in our campervan.
The meal was superb. We had the traditional turkey and works and it was served with charm, efficiency and informality.
This hotel is a joy. I would recommend anyone travelling through this area to pay it a visit.
If you have ever seen Monarch of the Glen, imagine that crew running a hotel and you've pretty much got The Macdonald Hotel. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundaydriver09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 485 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2010

This hotel poves that Highland hospitality is not dead but very much alive in this hidden wee gem. All the staff are very friendly and helpfull. It is very obvious that they all get along very well and the place is run very smoothly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the bothy bar very welcoming, and the food great! The breakfast was marvelous and served by a young lady who has the best of morning banter. The views from the hotel are amazing. A delightful hotel in an awesome area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveclimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Amazingly friendly little gem. We as a group were walking the west highland way and so were camping, so i can not comment on the rooms. However, I can say a few things about the place. Its not luxury or brand new, what it is, is genuine and v friendly. Family run, which is always nice to see. Camping facilities were excellent. I had two dogs with me and when I arrived back from a long walk with the dogs soaking wet and cold, I was pleasantly surprised to be welcomed in to the bothy bar. not only was I welcomed but was given a dog towel to dry the dogs and even a few dog biscuits! this i think gives the best example of the service you can expect at this hotel. Their full Scottish breakfast was exceptional as is their selection of whiskeys. So if a friendly atmosphere, open fires fine ales and whiskey and dogs curled up at your feet is your idea of a good time then this is perfect for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Ramb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Good food and polite staff.

Will def. use this hotel again

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badenochtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I returned to the Macdonald Hotel for the second November running to stay in their cabins with three friends for a weekend walking in the hills in the area. I can't comment on the hotel rooms but the cabins are perfect for simple accomodation for walkers, better than any other bunkhouse-type accomodation I've ever used in the Highlands. The staff could not have been friendlier, the breakfast was big and good, the packed lunches likewise and the beer and bar food were perfect at the end of a long day on the hills. Can't wait to go back again next November!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed in the cabin for 2 nights late October. They're roomy, comfy and very reasonable on price as £10 per person per night.

We arrived late in the evening and were made very welcome by the owner who couldn't do enough for us on our late arrival.
The cabin sleeps 4 so with just the 2 of us there was plenty of space (You don't share with strangers). The bunk beds are very generous. The cabin itself had electric, heating, lighting and space at the front for all your gear. A single plug socket point was a bonus. The window, which could be opened had a fly mesh which in summer season I can see getting some good use.

The showers and toilets are a short walk, but only 25 - 30 metres away. The washing up area was very good, all under cover in it's own shed with hot and cold running water.
There could have been a fridge, which maybe a point for the owners but not the end of the world. There is a washing machine machine for use.

The food was really good in the Bothy bar and I would recommend the Kinlochleven chicken and Three Sisters ale pie which was all reasonably priced, as were the drinks. The Bothy bar is both clean and very comfy.
Overall the hotel facilities were so clean, a credit to the hotel.

The staff were fantasic, real friendly and very helpful.

Lovely views and an excellent setting.

Overall a good stay and would use these cabins again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camplike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We arrived at the MacDonald hotel wet, cold and very tired. The first person we saw was a very friendly, helpful receptionist who brought us towels and helped us out of our wet gear. We were told where the drying room, dinning room and bar was then were shown to our rooms. They were bright and clean I was delighted to find a bath and lots of hot water! The meal we had in the Bothy bar was well cooked, well presented and the service was great. The house white wine is one of the best house wines I have had. After the meal we sat in armchairs in tfron of the fire and enjoyed a whisky from the excelent selection in the bar.

I arrived at the hotel exhausted and dreading the last section of walking up the West Highland Way., but the stay at this friendly, comfortable hotel made me feel able to finish the walk. Thank you, MacDonald Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deehound123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
156 reviews
6.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,211 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range: $95 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing