We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Good food and polite staff.

Will def. use this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badenochtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    134
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
66
124
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

I returned to the Macdonald Hotel for the second November running to stay in their cabins with three friends for a weekend walking in the hills in the area. I can't comment on the hotel rooms but the cabins are perfect for simple accomodation for walkers, better than any other bunkhouse-type accomodation I've ever used in the Highlands. The staff could not have been friendlier, the breakfast was big and good, the packed lunches likewise and the beer and bar food were perfect at the end of a long day on the hills. Can't wait to go back again next November!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed in the cabin for 2 nights late October. They're roomy, comfy and very reasonable on price as £10 per person per night.

We arrived late in the evening and were made very welcome by the owner who couldn't do enough for us on our late arrival.
The cabin sleeps 4 so with just the 2 of us there was plenty of space (You don't share with strangers). The bunk beds are very generous. The cabin itself had electric, heating, lighting and space at the front for all your gear. A single plug socket point was a bonus. The window, which could be opened had a fly mesh which in summer season I can see getting some good use.

The showers and toilets are a short walk, but only 25 - 30 metres away. The washing up area was very good, all under cover in it's own shed with hot and cold running water.
There could have been a fridge, which maybe a point for the owners but not the end of the world. There is a washing machine machine for use.

The food was really good in the Bothy bar and I would recommend the Kinlochleven chicken and Three Sisters ale pie which was all reasonably priced, as were the drinks. The Bothy bar is both clean and very comfy.
Overall the hotel facilities were so clean, a credit to the hotel.

The staff were fantasic, real friendly and very helpful.

Lovely views and an excellent setting.

Overall a good stay and would use these cabins again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camplike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

We arrived at the MacDonald hotel wet, cold and very tired. The first person we saw was a very friendly, helpful receptionist who brought us towels and helped us out of our wet gear. We were told where the drying room, dinning room and bar was then were shown to our rooms. They were bright and clean I was delighted to find a bath and lots of hot water! The meal we had in the Bothy bar was well cooked, well presented and the service was great. The house white wine is one of the best house wines I have had. After the meal we sat in armchairs in tfron of the fire and enjoyed a whisky from the excelent selection in the bar.

I arrived at the hotel exhausted and dreading the last section of walking up the West Highland Way., but the stay at this friendly, comfortable hotel made me feel able to finish the walk. Thank you, MacDonald Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deehound123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Stayed here for one night had a very nice meal in the resturant staff were friendly ,room was nice enough, no complaints except in the morning while checking out, had to wait for the bill to be made up

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wycombejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

Ate here while staying in Kinlochleven and enjoyed the food which was plain but appetising. The hotel itself looks a bit dated and bare but it was busy enough. Couldnt go into the bar with the kids but there is a sitting area in the dining room which we used a a drink.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed one night in the the hotel and one night in the cabins. For the price the cabins are superior--they are private, quiet and very nice. The only downside is you have to walk to the hotel to use the bathroom, showers, and drying room--a bit of a problem if the weather is not good. Bunkhouse guests are treated like second class citizens and only allowed to eat in the bar. The hotel rooms are basic and clean, but expensive for the quality. Food in the hotel and bar is ok. Staff does not really know much and were unable to provide basic information. The owner was at the desk one day and told us he could not help us as he had to get something out in the mail. Internet did not work most of the time. The town is pretty depressed, so not a place to spend a lot of time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooseantlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arborgirl23, Manager at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
I'm sorry if you felt like a second class citizen while staying in the cabins. However, we do not limit cabin guests to eating in the bar. We do not have rules about who is allowed to eat in the restaurant. The only rule we have is no dirty hiking boots in restaurant, and that rule is applied to any guest in or visitor to the hotel, not just those from the cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
6.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
9.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Property: The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing