We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven at the end of a miserable rainy day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We arrived at the MacDonald hotel wet, cold and very tired. The first person we saw was a very friendly, helpful receptionist who brought us towels and helped us out of our wet gear. We were told where the drying room, dinning room and bar was then were shown to our rooms. They were bright and clean I was delighted to find a bath and lots of hot water! The meal we had in the Bothy bar was well cooked, well presented and the service was great. The house white wine is one of the best house wines I have had. After the meal we sat in armchairs in tfron of the fire and enjoyed a whisky from the excelent selection in the bar.

I arrived at the hotel exhausted and dreading the last section of walking up the West Highland Way., but the stay at this friendly, comfortable hotel made me feel able to finish the walk. Thank you, MacDonald Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deehound123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 502 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2009

Stayed here for one night had a very nice meal in the resturant staff were friendly ,room was nice enough, no complaints except in the morning while checking out, had to wait for the bill to be made up

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wycombejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Ate here while staying in Kinlochleven and enjoyed the food which was plain but appetising. The hotel itself looks a bit dated and bare but it was busy enough. Couldnt go into the bar with the kids but there is a sitting area in the dining room which we used a a drink.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed one night in the the hotel and one night in the cabins. For the price the cabins are superior--they are private, quiet and very nice. The only downside is you have to walk to the hotel to use the bathroom, showers, and drying room--a bit of a problem if the weather is not good. Bunkhouse guests are treated like second class citizens and only allowed to eat in the bar. The hotel rooms are basic and clean, but expensive for the quality. Food in the hotel and bar is ok. Staff does not really know much and were unable to provide basic information. The owner was at the desk one day and told us he could not help us as he had to get something out in the mail. Internet did not work most of the time. The town is pretty depressed, so not a place to spend a lot of time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooseantlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arborgirl23, Manager at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2009

I'm sorry if you felt like a second class citizen while staying in the cabins. However, we do not limit cabin guests to eating in the bar. We do not have rules about who is allowed to eat in the restaurant. The only rule we have is no dirty hiking boots in restaurant, and that rule is applied to any guest in or visitor to the hotel, not just those from the cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Only thing that let this place down during our stay was the temperature in the room, which was unbearable. However, not a problem that you encounter in Scotland very often.

Staff were very friendly, food in the bar was good and the packed meal the following day was good value and the best we got during a week of walking. Room was basic, but clean and there were midge nets at the window. It was also well situated for the WHW.

Wonderful views to the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themadjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

It was 13 years since my last visit and little seemed to have changed. Different owners, but otherwise a step back in time. The rooms were simply furnished and clean, although the bathroom was rather tired and the shower temperature fluctuated noticeably. As the dog was allowed in the bar area, we ate there in preference to the dated dining room. The food was, like the accommodation, plain but reasonably good value. If you are looking for friendly, no-frills accommodation right on the West Highland Way, you could do worse. For those on a stricter budget, cabins are available to hire and camping is permitted in the garden area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzardsandchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

I organised a motorcycle trip for 17 people and we booked in at the Macdonald having spent the previous trip at the Blackwater Hostel round the corner. I chose this place simply because the staff we met last year were so welcoming and friendly. Again this year they did not dissapoint. We had a mixture of the cabins and several rooms and I tried both. They were top notch for our needs on all counts. The rooms were clean, comfy and warm, with on suite. The cabins, allthough a little small and weren't on suite were perfectly suited for us. The view first thing in the morning has to be seen to be believed. The food is excellent ( you must try the chicken stuffed with Haggis) and the beer is also.
From the biking point of view, Kinlochleven is a perfect base to begin your tour of the highlands. The Isle of Skye, Loch Ness or Ullapool are in easy reach. In fact you simply cant go wrong with any of the roads around here. Thats not forgeting the road the village is on. The B863 is a fantastic loop road with a mixture of straights, sweeping bends and tight corners. Not one to miss, This place could make a fortune if they shut the road off once in a while and had a road race..

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HondaBlackbird1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,251 reviews
8.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
9.3 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
683 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range: $87 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing