We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful staff, tiny uncomfortable bed and complete shambles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful staff, tiny uncomfortable bed and complete shambles”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff didn't seem to want you there, didn't even offer a good morning at breakfast. Room was dated even for the 1990's with the smallest double bed in Scotland along with the smallest portable TV presumably sourced from an antique fair. Nothing like the photos or reviews, please don't expect more here than from sleeping rough outside from your stay. A terrible nights sleep and an all round unforgettable experience for all the wrong reasons. The worst hotel on the West Highland Way by a country mile.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ahpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
My staff and I do our very best to make all our guests feel welcome, comfortable and cared for and welcome any positive suggestions to better the stay of our guests. As you did not voice your discontent at the time, you also did not give us the opportunity to make anything right. I should also point out that bed sizes are standard sizes.

Given the content of your comments, I must assume that you have some personal axe to grind and have chosen to do it anonymously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    145
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
69
130
54
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived at the hotel for 2 nights in the cabins onsite. There was no manned reception on our arrival however i did find someone at the bar so was no hassle at all. Our cabin was very clean and the beds were already made with some linen and pillows.
However our dog unfortunately cut his paw on some glass which was at the porch of the cabin, but when we spoke to the owners about this they could not be any more helpful. They apologised and gave us some antiseptic cream for his paw and checked the rest of our cabin for anymore glass. Anytime after this when they seen us they asked how his paw was.
Breakfast at the hotel was great, we prebooked at check in and because we had the dog, a table was set up in the bar for us which was perfect. The dog even recived his own sausages for his breakfast and on the second mornings breakfast the same set up happend and they had laid out a water bowl and some treats for him and had his sausage cooked and cooling for him coming which i thought was fab, an extra personal touch which made a difference. We ate an evening meal at the hotel also which we could not fault the waiting staff were very attentive and the food was delicious.
Really enjoyed our stay here and will definately be returning as it is a very welcoming hotel with very friendly and welcoming owners who cannot do more to welcome our 4 legged friends aswell.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for those kind words. We loved having you and your dog was wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can't praise the owners and staff more! We stayed here on night 5 of the West Highland Way. My dog hurt his paw during the prevoius day and my wife went ahead with him to the hotel. The staff were extremely accomodating and made them feel right at home making a space for them in front of the fire place. We stayed in one of the cabins which were very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was the best of our trip. Thanks again and we hope to come along again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you! You have a beautiful dog and I hope all is now well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What can I say, a lovely hotel with really comfortable rooms. Stayed here after a rather arduous walk from Bridge of Orchy to Kinlochleven. Service was excellent, staff were very friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would advise anyone walking the WHW to stay here for the night before the walk from Kinlochleven to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinN2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arriving in Kinlochleven you have to walk through the town to get there on the West Highland Way but better start in the morning. No manned reception on arrival and staffing did seem very light (had to do a bit of hello-ing to get the one bar man who was working two bars and trying to check folk in too). Shower didn't really work in room but bath was good. Food was good and nice, friendly atmosphere with locals popping in. Absolutely amazing view from the hotel, please get more outdoor seating.

Room Tip: make sure the shower works
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnReid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Situated at a very beautiful location.
Amazing walks to do around.
Staff was very friendly and willing to help with everything we needed.
Breakfast was rich and very good, evening meals were excellent and at a very good price. There is a variety of drinks at the bar at very good prices.
I would happily stay there again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and used it as a base to explore from, set next to Loch Leven it's in an excellent location. We had a twin room in the absence of a double, happy to say we could shunt the beds together. The room had all the basics, everything we needed, the midge netting on the windows was welcome. There are plenty of facilities for walkers which we didn't need as we were on a road trip but could see it was popular, there were many walkers/climbers around while we were there, some roughing it more than others.

Breakfast was good, evening meals filling and good value, staff were helpful. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
324 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,188 reviews
8.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
540 reviews
6.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Property: The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing