We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Highland Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What can I say, a lovely hotel with really comfortable rooms. Stayed here after a rather arduous walk from Bridge of Orchy to Kinlochleven. Service was excellent, staff were very friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would advise anyone walking the WHW to stay here for the night before the walk from Kinlochleven to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinN2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 500 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arriving in Kinlochleven you have to walk through the town to get there on the West Highland Way but better start in the morning. No manned reception on arrival and staffing did seem very light (had to do a bit of hello-ing to get the one bar man who was working two bars and trying to check folk in too). Shower didn't really work in room but bath was good. Food was good and nice, friendly atmosphere with locals popping in. Absolutely amazing view from the hotel, please get more outdoor seating.

Room Tip: make sure the shower works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnReid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Situated at a very beautiful location.
Amazing walks to do around.
Staff was very friendly and willing to help with everything we needed.
Breakfast was rich and very good, evening meals were excellent and at a very good price. There is a variety of drinks at the bar at very good prices.
I would happily stay there again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nenia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and used it as a base to explore from, set next to Loch Leven it's in an excellent location. We had a twin room in the absence of a double, happy to say we could shunt the beds together. The room had all the basics, everything we needed, the midge netting on the windows was welcome. There are plenty of facilities for walkers which we didn't need as we were on a road trip but could see it was popular, there were many walkers/climbers around while we were there, some roughing it more than others.

Breakfast was good, evening meals filling and good value, staff were helpful. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

done the west highland way and this place was paradise to 10 guy that have just walk over the devils stair case. we camped on there camp site which is right next to the hotel there is a drying room and showers free of charge, the food is great, I even got two bowls of soup it was that good. the staff where super helpful. nothing like the staff at the inveroran hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicmcslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed one night. The new owners are lovely & very friendly and keen to please every guest. Place is spotless, good food and they make you so welcome. Location is spot on. Good luck with your new business.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stotty-cake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel, and had dinner and breakfast. Meals were lovely, and the portion sizes were great.

The hotel is in a great location, and is handy for both Glencoe and Fort William.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Room was clean and comfortable. However, we were able to hear everything from neighbouring rooms. Also, the shower was either freezing cold or scalding hot. No happy medium. That said, as we were only staying one night, it didn't spoil our enjoyment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
167 reviews
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
363 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
682 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,065 reviews
6.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range: $44 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing