We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay on a beautiful place”
Review of Blackwater Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blackwater Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay on a beautiful place”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with a group of 12 persons. At arrival the friendly guy gave us a extra room, so we had more space for our luggage. The two bathrooms on our room(8 persons) were very well cleaned.
Due to the large kitchen with the dubble equipment(even two stoves), we could cook for our "large" group while others could still use the kitchen.
It was a nice stay in one of the most beautiful area of Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHT_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    198
    57
    9
    9
See reviews for
172
153
45
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I freely admit that once I saw the hobbit huts I knew that I had to stay here for no other reason than that they are so darn cute. That being said, having been there I would say size up, size up, size up! The hut for 2 is exactly that, but with no seating and all of the storage being under your bed (not a nook, but a platform you must lift) you will not regret the extra money when you have a place to set your luggage, spread out your belongings, and save your friendship. In the hut for 2 there is really only enough space for one person to be off their bed at any given time, complicating all of our girly rituals. There was a crowded and not very warm drying shed and a luggage shed, but if you size up you no longer have to worry about these minor inconveniences. Size up!

Warm showers are just a short walk from the hut.

We were allowed to use the kitchen in the hostel and there is a store just a quick walk from the hostel if you want to buy groceries. Otherwise plenty of restaurants and bars nearby by for all of your meal needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snizort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumbarton
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in 2 man hobbit for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute, the hobbit was very clean, spacious,and comfortable, has a tv,kettle, heater and a microwave with plenty of storage under beds .Brothers Patrick and liam who own the blackwater are top men and very friendly, helpful and do a great job looking after this brilliant site in a beautiful place. Definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjb182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in the hostel on the 2nd of October best hostel on the west highland super clean, well equipped kitchen area with a great comfy leather sofas, already booked to try out the microlodges next year thanks for all your help Patrick see you next year :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently booked a week in February 2014, scouting for possible accommodation to be used by clients of my mountaineering business. The booking was excepted, email confirmation received. Then another email arrived 2 days later informing me of a mix up and last 2 days were double booked. I rang they booked a group and we were offered a micro lodge with no access to facilities. No similar accommodation offered or discussion possible.
Disgraceful treatment!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Arbo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had booked an ensuite twin room at this self catering hostel, well in advance of our walking holiday. I even phoned nearer the time to check that all was still well. However when we arrived we were told that they had a group in and we would have to stay in the grounds in a microlodge. We had no cooking equipment with us but there was a microwave in the microlodge so we were able to cook using that. We were given sleeping bags and plates and cutlery from the hostel but no drying up cloth or pillows. There were no comfortable chairs for us to relax in in the evening.
I'm afraid I do not take kindly to being treated like this.

Room Tip: You can't choose a room, you are completely at the mercy of the people who run it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights at short notice as original choice was full. Did us a favour really , its a great hostel with good facilities and better than our plan A.
Wouldn't hesitate about using it again, or recommending to others.
Callum is a very helpful and friendly warden , Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.5 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
463 reviews
5.6 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
9.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 10 in Kinlochleven
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Hostel

Property: Blackwater Hostel
Address: Lab Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwater Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blackwater Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Hostel Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing