We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic family run hostel!”
Review of Blackwater Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blackwater Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic family run hostel!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

On arrival I met a lad whom was amazingly helpful, he showed/told me everything which I could use during my stay.

The dorms were spacious with only 2 bunkbeds each, and an en-suite per dorm. There was even a TV in the dorm! The kitchen had everything you need as breakfast and dinner can't be bought on site.

I would recommend this hostel 100%, and would be happy to go back :) I'd also use the camping facilities as they looked brilliant too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    207
    57
    9
    9
See reviews for
182
163
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here walking the west highland way. The 2 person hobbits were really good, even had a small tv, microwave and fridge! The showers weren't the best as they blasted water onto the floor which you then had to mop up. The location is close to the west highland way. On one side there's industrial buildings but the other side does have a nice river and woodland view. Staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

i stayed one night in one of the microlodges, you are able to use the facilities in the hostel which include a kitchen/lounge area which is very spacious, toilets and showers.
my lodge included a microwave, kettle, fan heater amd a television.
callum, who runs it, was very friendly and helpful. what a nice man.
really you have everything you need with minimal fuss.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolzatyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our fifth night on 'The Way'.
On arrival we found that the reception didn't open until 1400hrs, but that wasn't a problem as there were seats outside and the weather was fine. The staff were very friendly and helpful and let us in early. We had to pay cash so remember and have some with you.
The room was small, but adequate. It had an en-suite with shower. There was also a TV. Although the beds were bunk beds, thankfully they didn't have a foot board so you could stretch right out. They weren't the comfiest but that may have been down to our legs being sore after so much walking.
We didn't use the kitchen facilities, so can't comment on them.
Th drying room was big enough, but it wasn't that warm and our clothes/boots were still damp in the morning.
Once again we found the people in the hostel friendly and it was certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calumgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived and the main reception was closed with a note to call a mobile number, within minutes we were greeted and shown around what I would describe as an excellent facility.
We stayed in the hobbits but managed to use the hostel facilities, plasma TV, sofa, great kitchen and a pool table.....

Will defo go back here in the future.

Please is brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank71_11, Owner at Blackwater Hostel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi thanks for your review hope you can come and stay with us again for longer next time
regards callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great place & good value. The second time we have stayed in the "hobbits", a large "beer barrel" to sleep in complete with fridge, microwave, kettle, heater & tv. Camping & hostel accommodation also available. Callum & Patrick are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peekay555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank71_11, Owner at Blackwater Hostel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi good to hear it your 2nd time staying with us hope to see you again
regards Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Returned yesterday from 2 night stay in hostel, first time trying this and will go back again without a doubt. Facilities were excellent, rooms small but clean with en-suite toilet and shower ideal. Kitchen large and clean, we had everything with us but will travel lighter next time as everything you could need in a kitchen was there and more. Patrick kindly let us view the new "Hobbits", they are fab will try for them next time. Outdoors in the rain for 3 days but well nobody can help or control that and it didn't keep us in or stop us enjoying our time there. Great, will return (soon we hope) !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naini1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank71_11, Owner at Blackwater Hostel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi thanks for your great review we are glad you found the hostel well equipt shame about the weather hope when you return next time you bring the good weather we are due some.
Regards Callum (Patricks dad)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.5 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
471 reviews
11.1 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
9.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Highland Lodge Bunkhouse
West Highland Lodge Bunkhouse
#4 of 4 in Kinlochleven
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Hostel

Property: Blackwater Hostel
Address: Lab Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwater Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blackwater Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Hostel Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing