We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay on the west highland way”
Review of Allt-na-Leven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allt-na-Leven
Ranked #1 of 9 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here while doing the West Highland way I have to say I have never stayed anywhere that has thought of evry little detail. The room provided eveything you could ever need, from hairdryer to nail file the owners have thought over everything to make sure you have wonderful stay. The quality of the accomodation was 5 star, the ensuite being the stand out feature for us, the shower was amazing. Breakfast in the morning was no less than you would expect after seeing the rooms, there was everything on offer. Full scottish breakfast, porridge, fishcakes, smoked salmon, plus along with these cooked options there were home made scones, pancakes couissants, cerals ect and everything was delicious. I would def reccommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are over the moon with your comment about us being 5 star. We try to think of everything that would make our guests stay comfortable and to know that we have achieved this is great. We are so pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and hope to see you again if you decide to do the walk again. Warm regards Pauline and Wullie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 445 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having walked from Inverarnan to Kinlochleven - 2 out of 5 of our party with extreme blisters what a welcome we received from Pauline. When shown to our rooms we were astounded at the quality of the accommodation. Breakfast had such a choice and quality, home made scones etc. We will definitely recommend you to everyone. Best accommodation on WHW. K&S Brownsea, Woodford, Kettering.

Room Tip: All rooms were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilab2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

hi there all the way to Kettering, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Allt na Leven, its lovely to hear your thoughts on our rooms and hospitality and that you liked our breakfast. We would love to see you again if you are ever decide to do the WHW again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Cannot reccommend this beautiful Guest House highly enough . stayed in a wonderful twin room. Has to be said the room was very modern and the bathroom was fitted out wonderfully . .The breafast and dining area was professionally set out and the food was definitely five stars .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the room and the food. That is a lovely cosey room and the view from the bathroom are wonderful. Please call again if you are in the area and we hope you enjoyed the rest of the walk.

pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Fantastic little B&B which could easily compete with a 4 star hotel. Lovely little touches such as chocolates and lovely fluffy bathrobes. Decor is lovely and modern and the power shower is just what is needed after a long day of walking. The breakfast was the best I have ever seen in any B&B. Pauline could not have been any more welcoming. Whether doing the West Highland Way or just visiting the area - this B&B is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

It was a pleasure haveing you stay with us and thank you very much for your glowing review. We try our best to make sure that our guests have a nice stay and to know we have achieved this is great. many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.

pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Last night's stop on the WHW (South to North). Massive room, comfortable bed, excellent hot power shower, fantastic food (homemade cakes / scones) and the biggest packed lunches we have seen. It did us for two days (our ascent of Ben Nevis the next day)! Also one of the cheapest along the way. Outstanding value for money for what you get. We've stayed in many B&Bs over the years with the long distancing walking we've done. This is one of the best, this lady is at the top of her game!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

thank you very much for all your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We have also stayed in a lot of B & B s and knew what we wanted and what we didnt want for our own, so to know that guests think so highly of us is a great feeling. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again if you decide to do the walk again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This B&B lived up to all the earlier reviews and I was not disappointed . The host was very welcoming and friendly . The rooms were imaculate and I loved all the extra touches eg fluffy towels , large selection of toiletries , chocolates etc. The power shower was most welcome after a long tiring day . I also thought the tray for mucky boots was a great idea as saved you having to worry about making a mess in her spotless house. The beds were very comfy will lovely crisp bed linen and warm quilts. The breakfast was the best available on the West Highland Way with a large selection of fresh fruit , cereals , porridge and a full cooked breakfast. I would highly recommend staying here and wished I could have stayed for a few more days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moiranext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are really glad you enjoyed staying at Allt na Leven, we do our best to make sure guests are comfortable and feel that after a long day on the hills you all deserve a few home comforts. Thank you for your lovely comments on your breakfast, we want you to leave feeling full and ready for the last leg. We hope to see you again.

pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent accommodation , everything you require after a long days slog over the Devils staircase this little Gem in the heart of Kinlochleven,the rooms are second to none the best we had on our adventure and the breakfast is a must to set you up for your last hike into Fort William.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline B, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi James

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you thought it the best B&B you stayed at on your walk and that your breakfast hit the spot! We look forward to seeing you again if you decide to do it all over again.

pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.4 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
507 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 9 in Kinlochleven
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Kinlochleven
98 reviews
12.5 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-na-Leven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-na-Leven

Address: 23 Leven Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range: $113 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauline & Wullie offer a warm welcome to everyone who visits our home. Once the Village Store, we have recently renovated the old building to a very high standard. Our accommodation is spacious and bright and spotlessly clean with every little comfort to make your stay the best possible. Allt-na-Leven has recently been awarded the 4 Star Gold Award grading from VisitScotland and is ideal for walkers, hill climbers and fishermen alike.As well as being on one of the main stages of the famous West Highland Way, we also have around ten Munros in the area so there are extensive walking and hill walking opportunities within easy reach.Facilities include free drying facilities for outdoor gear, free Wifi ipod/iphone docking stations and a laundry service at a reasonable charge. Our packed lunches are renowned among the walking community along with our varied and hearty breakfast menu.We are situated in the centre of Kinlochleven Village, between Glencoe and Fort William, and just a few minutes from the famous West Highland Way. Backing onto the River Leven we have lovely views of the surrounding hills and the River Leven. On our doorstep is The Ice Factor which lays claim to being the largest indoor ice climbing wall in Europe.Our aim is for all of our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed and we will do our utmost to ensure that your stay with us is second to none.Please come and visit Allt-na-Leven. Kind regards. Pauline & Wullie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Allt-na-Leven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Leven Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing