We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to a very long day on the West Highland Way.”
Review of Allt-na-Leven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allt-na-Leven
Ranked #1 of 10 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect end to a very long day on the West Highland Way.”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our family were on the five day walk of the West Highland Way and found Pauline and Wullie the most amazing hosts. The rooms are immaculate and well thought out. Everything you could need plus. They were even going to come to pick up our youngest who was struggling for the last bit. The town is so very lovely and I believe our favourite. Remember they provide meals if you let them know ahead of time. Breakfast was brilliant. Can't say enough about this wonderful B&B. We were there at the end of August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007Laurie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Greetings all of the way across the globe to Victoria ! Wullie and I are so pleased to read your comments and it was a real pleasure to offer our hospitality to you and your family. Thanks for mentioning that we offer evening meals since we are always willing to provide a dining option for our guests – it is a real pleasure. Kind regards from a frosty but beautiful Kinlochleven. Pauline & Wullie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
163
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our 6th night of the West Highland Way. Allt-na-Leven is pretty much right on the route. It's right opposite the supermarket (to stock up on the next day's lunch) and handy for Ice Factor with it's cafe and bar.

We stayed in a good-sized room which had all the amenities you would expect from a top-quality B&B: copious quantities of good-quality biscuits, tea, coffee, etc. The huge shower was very welcome after a day's walk.

We had a great breakfast and the selection of fruit and juices was the best of anywhere we stayed on the route.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorganPeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello to the spectacular city of London. It is always fantastic to receive such a lovely review so thank you so much. To learn that our breakfast was the best on your West Highland Way route is high praise indeed. It is important for our guests, especially our walkers, to be provided with every essential necessary for a quality stay. All the best from a beautiful day here in sunny Kinlochleven. Pauline & Wullie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The guest house was immaculate and has a very cosy feel to it which is always great after walking for 6 days. Loads of little treats in the rooms to go with any hot drinks I made in the room and in the morning was given a more than generous breakfast. I'm sure that all rooms are double rooms, but even if you are alone it is well worth the money!
Would definately visit again if I walk the west highland way again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TechLDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Greetings to Paisley and thank you so much for your kind words. We try our best to ensure that all of our guests are offered the highest standard of service and as many luxuries as possible especially after a hard days walking on the West Highland Way . Please do visit us again if you are ever up in Kinlochleven. Kind regards. Pauline & Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Yes, I've heard a lot of good words about Scottish B&Bs and yes, I'm traveling quite a lot around the world so it's difficult to surprise me. I'm telling you: some of the $300-400 per night hotels falls short to deliver what I experienced here. Sheer hospitality, attention to details, cozy "feels like home" interior. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review Allt-na-Leven and your words are high praise indeed. To be compared to a $300-$400 per night hotel is quite something else! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our Scottish hospitality. Thanks so much for recommending us. All the very best. Pauline & Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What can we say.. from the minty chocolates, great selection of biscuits and teas in the room, to the amazing showerhead (much appreciated after a long day's walk), and well equipped toiletries in the washroom, this place is simply great.
The wonderful selection of fresh fruits and cheeses for breakfast (in addition to a yummy full Scottish breakfast) was a treat.

This is a "four" star B&B which clearly deserves many more stars.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyal_lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
What can we say! Thanks so very much for your fantastic review and your comments about all of our facilities and the star rating! It is our pleasure to offer you our Highland hospitality and to provide a wee bit luxury after a long day’s walk. Thanks once again. Kind regards. Pauline & Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

An immaculately clean guest house with comfy beds, en-suite shower and TV. Our bedroom lacked for nothing, there were even nail scissors and files in the bathroom. In addition to the coffee and tea making facilities, there were an array of tasty biscuits and mint chocolates. After a very hard day's walking it was an oasis of luxury. Breakfast was excellent with fresh berries, melon and pineapple in addition to the usual staples, plus a basket groaning with an array of baked goodies and toast, and the pack lunch was a generous and tasty one. The welcome and service was wonderfully warm - in short a walker's paradise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Patrick, it was wonderful to read your review - your comments about Allt-na-Leven being an oasis of luxury is very heart warming indeed. We aim to offer the best service possible to all of our guests but appreciate that our walkers need that extra bit of comfort after a hard day out on the track/the hills. In addition to all of the facilities we offer, we pride ourselves on our welcome and try to provide a service second to none. Please look us up again if you are ever in the area. All the very best. Pauline & Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed un Allt-na-Leven - we arrived after a full day walking West Highland Way.
The rooms so comfortable and homely with loads of special touches with the decor as well as all the home comforts most hotels dont offer as standard. Breakfast was amazing and nothing was too much for the owners.
After a hard days walk it was like coming home, i would recommend Allt-na-Leven to anyone staying in Kinlochleven.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shieldsy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Greetings to Airdrie and many thanks for your review and kind comments. We try our best to offer our guests a five star service with all of the home comforts so that everyone has a most enjoyable stay. Your recommendation is so very much appreciated. Kindest regards. Pauline & Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.4 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
463 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
8.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blackwater Hostel
Blackwater Hostel
#1 of 4 in Kinlochleven
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-na-Leven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-na-Leven

Property: Allt-na-Leven
Address: 23 Leven Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauline & Wullie offer a warm welcome to everyone who visits our home. Once the Village Store, we have recently renovated the old building to a very high standard. Our accommodation is spacious and bright and spotlessly clean with every little comfort to make your stay the best possible. Allt-na-Leven has recently been awarded the 4 Star Gold Award grading from VisitScotland and is ideal for walkers, hill climbers and fishermen alike.As well as being on one of the main stages of the famous West Highland Way, we also have around ten Munros in the area so there are extensive walking and hill walking opportunities within easy reach.Facilities include free drying facilities for outdoor gear, free Wifi ipod/iphone docking stations and a laundry service at a reasonable charge. Our packed lunches are renowned among the walking community along with our varied and hearty breakfast menu.We are situated in the centre of Kinlochleven Village, between Glencoe and Fort William, and just a few minutes from the famous West Highland Way. Backing onto the River Leven we have lovely views of the surrounding hills and the River Leven. On our doorstep is The Ice Factor which lays claim to being the largest indoor ice climbing wall in Europe.Our aim is for all of our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed and we will do our utmost to ensure that your stay with us is second to none.Please come and visit Allt-na-Leven. Kind regards. Pauline & Wullie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Allt-na-Leven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Leven Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing