We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Allt-na-Leven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allt-na-Leven
Ranked #1 of 10 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hamilton, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here for a night whilst walking the west highland way, and this was by far the most comfortable night's sleep. Cannot rate the Allt-na-Leven highly enough. Fantastic, comfortalbe rooms, plenty of tea/coffee/buscuits and toiletries. Breakfast was brilliant.

After staying here, this has changed my mind about B&B's - i'll never stay at a chain hotel ever again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jduguid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
It was fantastic to read your kind words and learn that we have managed to change your mind about b&bs – fabulous! Thank you for your brilliant comments and for taking the time to submit your review. We do try to offer everything that walkers need from a comfy bed to a hearty breakfast to name but a few! All the very best and please do return. Pauline & Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
172
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balloch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was the first time we stayed in this B & B while walking the West Highland Way. Could not fault it. Was picked up at the Kingshouse which meant that we didn't need to stay there, and were dropped at our accommodation and taken back to the Kingshouse the following morning. Great service from Pauline and Willie - both made us feel so much at home. Pauline's breakfasts were something to behold and will keep you going for the rest of the day - even through to Fort William. Rooms were excellent, no faults whatsoever. Everything you require is in the rooms, even a sewing kit which was used. Ensuite was spectacular and shower was fantastic. In fact the shower was so good I'm going to buy one myself. A big thanks to Pauline and Willie for such a warm welcome and fantastic eats.
p.s. Pauline, remember to tell Willie about those keys, ha, ha!
Jason.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Greetings to the lovely village of Balloch! It was great to have you stay with us and thanks so much for your fantastic comments. Sorry about the keys and thanks for taking it all in such good spirit. We would love to see you again if you are ever back in the area. Cheers the now. Pauline & Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We gave ourselves a heavy walk from the Bridge of Orchy to Kinlochleven on the West Highland Way, arriving at Allt-na-Leven, 23 Leven Road, we were met by Pauline and Wullie Byers, we were greeted like family and shown to our room for our nights stay with them. Talk of 5 stars - I would rate this accommodate a Thousand stars - an absolutely fantastic room - decorated to the highest degree - superbly clean - a large and very comfortable bed that gave us a wonderful, wonderful sleep - we were so sorry to leave the next morning to continue our walk. A walk that was comforted by a parting Breakfast - Wullie's claim to fame is his Porridge - it was fantastic and has to be tried by all that stay here - the cooked breakfast was very well served and very clean and sang to you to eat it with all relish - and we did. Both Pauline and Wullie were wonderful host and made you welcome and feel like part of their family.
How one improve on the best I really don't - it was so so fabulous. Thank you.

I highly recommend a stay here and I know I will be back again.

Brian and Joan Finlayson

Room Tip: All Bed and Breakfast accommodation owners should visit Pauline and Wullie to see how it should be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Brian & Joan – all we can say is wow! We just received our four star grading from VisitScotland but we will take your thousand stars any day!! It was our pleasure to provide our Highland hospitality and we take our hats off to you for raising all that money for the soldiers’ charity. It is actually your good selves who deserve the thousand stars and we hope that your walk of the Great Glen Way was a success. Wullie says that he hopes that no-one else managed to beat your rating on the porridge though! He is very competitive on the porridge making front!! Kindest regards. Pauline & Wullie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of the West Highland Way. We had 3 rooms booked on the 5th night of our 6 night holiday. It was without doubt the best accomodation of the trip. Pauline (owner) is just lovely, the rooms & beds are very comfortable, fantastic shower, brilliant food (we also had dinner which was excellent and great quality) and first class service. Couldn't ask for anymore. If you are going to be in the area you really should stay here, fantastic value. Thanks Pauline, we hope to be back.

Room Tip: All rooms equally as good. One room on ground floor and 3 upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Hello Christine and greetings to Edinburgh and all of your family! Your comments are high praise indeed and thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. You can be rest assured that we will offer the same high service if you return to stay at Allt-na-Leven in the future and remember………if you ever want a job……your table setting skills were second to none! All the best. Pauline & Wullie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed while hiking the West Highland Way. I recommend this B&B highly. I was delighted with our room - extremely comfortable King size bed and a single bed in our room. Several plush towels per person, exquisite toiletries in the lovely ensuite (and such a great shower!). Lovely things to nibble on in our room, as well as coffees, teas, chocolates, etc. We felt very pampered. The breakfast was extremely generous, I could not begin to eat all the delicious food on offer: fresh fruit, yogurt, cold meats, cheeses, fresh juice, full cooked breakfast - delicious. We each bought a packed lunch for 6 pounds, and she could certainly charge more. It was a large lunch and kept us going for the 14 mile hike the following day. I wish we could have stayed longer, it was a lovely B&B,

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice. We were on the top floor, room 4 I think, and we had a good breeze running t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
It was a delight to have such a lovely couple staying with us and thank you so much for your kind praise. We would love to have you staying for longer at Allt-na-Leven so please do make it back across the pond soon! Thanks also to Tom for helping me to carry the bags, it just goes to show that chivalry is still very much alive and kicking!! Warm regards. Pauline & Wullie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Allt-na-Leven Guest House has recently opened in Kinlochleven. In centre of village.
The premises were originally a newsagents shop with storeroom and living accommodation.
Now converted to a very high standard.
The bedrooms are large,light and tastefully furnished. Lovely high pressure shower.
Breakfast is not to be missed. Try the porridge followed by smoked haddock fishcakes and poached eggs.
Evening meals are also available with a first class menu.
Packed lunch will certainly not leave you hungry.
STB classification awaited, must get 4*
This venture by a young couple is to be applauded, and much appreciated after a long day on the hills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghTartanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Greetings to Edinburgh! Wullie and I are so pleased that you had such a fantastic stay after your long day on the hills. Thank you for taking the time to send in such a great review. We recently received our four star grading from VisitScotland so we are over the moon. Please do return, there are plenty more mountains to tackle near Allt-na-Leven! All the very best. Pauline & Wullie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of the West Highland Way. We had booked hotels for the trip and this was the only guest house. I generally don't like guesthouses, but I have to say I was delighted with this place. It doesn't look much from the outside, but when you get to your room you are pleasantly surprised. There has been no expense dared on lovely bed covers and sheets, and in the bathroom is a lovely double shower with all the toiletries you could possibly need! It's like a little home from home and the owners were lovely and friendly. Also, for breakfast there was every kind of breakfast food you could imagine! I would highly recommend staying here if you are in kinlochleven.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allt-na-Leven, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about Allt-na-Leven and for your recommendation. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will bypass the hotels and come and stay with us again the next time you are in Kinlochleven. All the best to you and your dad. Pauline & Wullie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.4 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
471 reviews
8.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-na-Leven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-na-Leven

Property: Allt-na-Leven
Address: 23 Leven Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauline & Wullie offer a warm welcome to everyone who visits our home. Once the Village Store, we have recently renovated the old building to a very high standard. Our accommodation is spacious and bright and spotlessly clean with every little comfort to make your stay the best possible. Allt-na-Leven has recently been awarded the 4 Star Gold Award grading from VisitScotland and is ideal for walkers, hill climbers and fishermen alike.As well as being on one of the main stages of the famous West Highland Way, we also have around ten Munros in the area so there are extensive walking and hill walking opportunities within easy reach.Facilities include free drying facilities for outdoor gear, free Wifi ipod/iphone docking stations and a laundry service at a reasonable charge. Our packed lunches are renowned among the walking community along with our varied and hearty breakfast menu.We are situated in the centre of Kinlochleven Village, between Glencoe and Fort William, and just a few minutes from the famous West Highland Way. Backing onto the River Leven we have lovely views of the surrounding hills and the River Leven. On our doorstep is The Ice Factor which lays claim to being the largest indoor ice climbing wall in Europe.Our aim is for all of our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed and we will do our utmost to ensure that your stay with us is second to none.Please come and visit Allt-na-Leven. Kind regards. Pauline & Wullie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Allt-na-Leven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Leven Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing