We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilfinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilfinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently spent four relaxing nights at the hotel. No TV, wifi or mobile phone reception so a lovely chance to unwind and enjoy the beautiful scenery.
We had a lovely room and large en suite.
The food was good but a few more specials for dinner would have been welcome.
Special mention must be made about Madelon, the only staff member we actually saw during our stay. She is amazing and a real asset to the hotel. She is so warm and cheery a real pleasure to have met her.
Hopefully we will return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    19
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This little family run hotel has the old charm of the Victorian area. Hidden in the coastal road of the east bank of loch Fyne. You end up in this place either because you lost your way exploring the rugged wilderness of Argyll or because you have been told of this little gem. The owner is more than welcoming and make you at ease in that rather dark place. The pub has Devine cuisine and you are going to need to loosen the belt if you plan to eat it all up. All is made with local produces and freshly laid eggs from the hen from the back garden. The room is quite bare but clean. The charm of the place make you forget that you do not have a good view over the loch but never mind it is a very nice place to stop. I would definitely recommend it especially the scallops with bacon and sage are not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tetechercheusescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the Kilfinan Hotel again for an early Spring break, even before their usual season opening date. It was lovely to see Helen, Andrew, Maddie and the dogs again, despite the mixed weather. We arrived a little later than planned last Thursday to the warmest of welcomes and a great dinner next to the roaring fire in the bar. On Friday we rounded the day off with a sprint down to the lochside with Jessie and Flo (the hotel's collies) before another lovely dinner. On Saturday we had a long day's tour over to Edinburgh for the Scotland vs France 6 Nations game, and Helen had kindly put a sandwich supper in our rooms for a late return. After another homely dinner on Sunday evening we reluctantly said our farewells yesterday morning before the long trip home. We're already planning our next visit and recommend the Kilfinan Hotel to anybody looking for a totally relaxing home from home stay away from life's cares.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerfidiousAlgernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed a great weekend stay in this fantastic small hotel, the staff were extremely friendly and the service was great. We eat in the restaurant, after enjoying pre-dinner drinks in the cosy lounge bar both nights, the menu provided a good choice of quality traditional Scottish dishes and the wine list a good range of options to accompany. Also have to commend the substantial cooked breakfast which set us up for the day. With almost no mobile reception it really is a great location to get away from it and just relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Kilfinan Hotel several times over the years when the current management have been running the show and each time the experience has been faultless and them, and staff, have been nothing other than friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank akaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have just spent two days at the Kilfinan hotel on a golfing weekend. Retuned to this hotel after attending a fabulous wedding 2 years ago and was surprised to see recent negative reviews.
Our stay this time was as excellent as the last, with the owners being as delightful as they were the first time . The setting is idyllic and the service and food superb. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: stayed in room 1 which was really nice overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skygotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel has the unique ability not only to make guests feel they are being welcomed into a warm Scottish family hearth but to also accompany stylish service with a generous smile.

A family run hotel, Andrew & Helen, Madoline and Verry (spelling?) are natural hosts, cheerful and efficient, creating a charming, relaxed oasis in this truly beautiful part of the world.

With wonderful food and comfortable beds, our party of 14 to stay, and 18 for the celebration meal, from 14 to 16 August, 2013, was everything we could have wished for a very special occasion, thank you, Kilfinan Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilfinan
6.3 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
7.6 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilfinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilfinan Hotel

Property: Kilfinan Hotel
Address: | on the Otter Estate, Kilfinan PA21 2AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilfinan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilfinan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Kilfinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilfinan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing