We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Kilfinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilfinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Kilfinan Hotel several times over the years when the current management have been running the show and each time the experience has been faultless and them, and staff, have been nothing other than friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank akaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have just spent two days at the Kilfinan hotel on a golfing weekend. Retuned to this hotel after attending a fabulous wedding 2 years ago and was surprised to see recent negative reviews.
Our stay this time was as excellent as the last, with the owners being as delightful as they were the first time . The setting is idyllic and the service and food superb. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: stayed in room 1 which was really nice overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skygotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel has the unique ability not only to make guests feel they are being welcomed into a warm Scottish family hearth but to also accompany stylish service with a generous smile.

A family run hotel, Andrew & Helen, Madoline and Verry (spelling?) are natural hosts, cheerful and efficient, creating a charming, relaxed oasis in this truly beautiful part of the world.

With wonderful food and comfortable beds, our party of 14 to stay, and 18 for the celebration meal, from 14 to 16 August, 2013, was everything we could have wished for a very special occasion, thank you, Kilfinan Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is such a beautiful spot, lovely, lovely comfortable rooms, very friendly staff and owners, nothing to much trouble, put my venison shopping in the hotel fridge, find me bus times, no problem. Peace perfect peace, could not be better.

Room Tip: I think the tighnabruach room was great but I suspect non less than good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catrionascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a fabulous time at the Kilfinan Hotel. Everything and everybody was great for the whole of our stay. It all started well being greeted by the Jessie and Flo the border collies before we had even reached the Hotel door. The people are cool, the animals are cool, the food is great and the beds and rooms are spotless comfy and lovely. This is a fantastic place to come to a halt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am very disappointed in the kilfinan hotel and its management. I unfortunately booked my wedding there and was left feeling very upset and hurt by the managers.

Upon arrival, after traveling for a long distance we were told the manager could not see us and to come back later which made us feel very unwelcome.The room where the ceremony was to be held was untidy and undecorated, with food lying at the tables. I was left feeling very disappointed. My family then had to go down and do the room themselves, they also had to swap the room for the reception after the meal with no interest from the management ( even though they had previously agreed that this would be done).

The vegetarian meal was very small portions and guests were finished as some were still waiting on their meal to arrive and it was only 24 adults. The children's meals were inedible.

Our wedding day will never happen again and I am so disappointed that we picked this venue as we were made to feel very unwelcome apart from a couple of members of staff (Madelon, Vahri and Lin) who tried their hardest and were very friendly. The manger never welcomed us or came to see us herself.

To put the icing on the cake, when we simply queried extra charges on the bill this was met with some extremely rude and disrespectful comments to myself and my husband and a refusal to discuss the matter, we were told to return in a couple of days. After her comments and the way she spoke to us we were not prepared to pay any extra. Upon return with 2 family members who work in the hotel industry we were spoken to in a highly unprofessional manner, even though we were in no way irate or disrespectful to her, the manager ended up screaming, insulting and swearing at us! We could not believe it and I have never experienced anything so disrespectful and disgusting in all my life. Definitely need some anger management and lessons in customer service. We will never get our day back and I dread to think what it would have been like had it not been for our fantastic family and friends pulling together.

After reading some of the other comments on here it upsets me that I did not have the same experience at all.
I don't think they should take bookings for more than 10 people at a time as they obviously can not handle it and I definitely hope no else has the misfortune of having their wedding there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the 21st of july 2013, the occasion being my sons wedding which was being held at this venue, the food was average with quite small portions served to us, the price of alcoholic drinks was expensive, and to complete the stay my son and his new wife were verbally abused and sworn to by the hotel manager , all they did was to question the billing for several items they were being charged for, I would therefore certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: rooms at rear have a partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilfinan
4.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
475 reviews
6.2 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
7.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
282 reviews
20.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,453 reviews
6.7 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilfinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilfinan Hotel

Property: Kilfinan Hotel
Address: | on the Otter Estate, Kilfinan PA21 2AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilfinan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilfinan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilfinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilfinan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing