We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Taychreggan Hotel(Kilchrenan)
$166
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranald Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
$164
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$164
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveler rating
419
135
73
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
135
73
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomloch awesingle track roadtasting menuboat houserose cottagedining roomoff the beaten trackromantic hotelhot water bottlesfaded grandeurloch viewwalled gardenhand held showercountry housepassing placespublic rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 672 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We have stayed here three times now - most recently to get married, when we booked the entire hotel for friends and family. This is one of those places that you either get, or you don't - looking at other reviews, most people love it, but a few completely miss the point. For us, it's the tops - this place is designed to relax you and help you slow down. Slightly old-fashioned (generally baths instead of showers) and full of antique furniture (note - by their very nature, some of these will have marks on them...), roaring log fires, it is every inch the Scottish Baronial house, and is decorated in that style. The staff are friendly without being intrusive, and the food is absolutely top class, fresh and mostly locally sourced. The gardens are extensive and lovely, whatever time of year. We have stayed in several rooms on different visits, and have found all to be superb - and none of our wedding guests had any complaints on any score, that we're aware of. If you're looking for a romantic wedding venue, this is unbeatable, and the staff are extremely proficient in helping with arrangements.
If you want to dash around in a place with a corporate image, obsequious staff, cheap matching furniture and beige walls - don't go - you won't like like it, and your complaining will spoil the atmosphere for those of us that love it !!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC290660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

As soon as we entered the driveway we got a sense for the character ahead... I had been recommended this hotel but nothing prepared me for how amazingly haunting, romantic and beautiful it was going to be.. First impressions were off this old world house/castle exterior, then followed by the friendly & warm receptionist on check-in, our room was beautiful, breathtaking views, comfortable, warm, top class amenities & a bathroom second to none with free standing bath and fire place. Bar was cosy with hugh open fire, antique furniture & attentive staff. Dining room was romantic with candlelite tables only to be topped off by excellent service & mouth watering delicious food.. From the moment i checked out i was looking forward to going back.. Only regret was not getting to stay longer. A place to be shared & experience with someone really really special to you, forever fond memories i got to do that and hopefully will again..

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travellash79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

We really wanted to like this place more, but it didn't live up to expectations (which were probably too high!).

There is no question that it is a wonderful place, with a remote, tranquil location and wonderful food. I definitely recommend it, if you want to spend this much.

However, having stayed at other similar places on our trip the overall experience just didn't quite match up to what we hoped.

Doing up an old place is obviously difficult, but we were very aware that it is old. It has a tired feel about it and I feel it should be more luxurious than it is. We had no shower in our room, but did have a huge bathroom with a wonderful central bath.

It must be difficult to get staff here, and this did show. They were perfectly polite, but nobody seemed to "own" our welcome and making sure we were having a good time. Plus, the decoration is baronial rather than warm and welcoming. The dining room has a particularly stark and cold feel.

The food though, is brilliant. The meals were well balanced and very enjoyable. I would have appreciated more advice with wines and breakfast could have been more imaginative, but the dinners are superb and worth the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jude064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stayed here for one night in July 2008, and what a wonderful experience.

Friendly staff throughout our stay, with a lovely room - all rooms are decorated in a different way, but all have a character that will make the experience memorable.

Both dinner and breakfast were of a very high standard, and the view from the dining room at breakfast is just out of this world.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulmckelvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My wife and I were there for 3 nights in July. We stayed in the Ichrachan room. We believe it to be superior to other rooms. Although many of the rooms have a great lake view we felt It has the best lake view.

The common areas are very comfortable, very circa 1850. Tall, grand rooms with the sort of space that in London a visitor would only see if it were jammed with other tourists. Here it is not jammed.

The service staff was incomparable. The food is amongst the best we had in the UK. Really 5 star. A light lunch is served daily. It is a full repast. Elegant smoked salmon etc. The dinner is an outstanding value and is a multi course delight. The freshest of everything with a French influence yet not overly creamy. Nouvelle comfort food? In any event, the kitchen really cares about food and it shows in every detail. As for breakfast they will make you what you wish hot or you can dine at their buffet. The buffet was stocked with sweetest of fresh fruits ( mango, passion, pineapple, grapefruit, orange, grapes etc. not to mention a chopped fruit salad and all the standard breads and cereals). A home made jam or two amongst the other jams with the toast daily.
On the 2nd day of our stay my wife asked for a green salad with her lunch, it was not on the menu. It arrived with a fusion of colors and creative flavors and a light dressing. Perfect. Each day thereafter it was offered at dinner and lunch. This was not treated a a burdensome request, they really delighted in making her what she wished. No extra charge for the salads......we would have happily paid, but that is not the spirit of the place.

Trees planted on the grounds some 170 years ago have grown magnificently since. Many varieties like the Sitka spruce that must be too big for 4 people to ring. A rare thing.

A beautiful place, worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Antonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews