We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardanaiseig Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Taychreggan Hotel(Kilchrenan)
$225
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveler rating
419
135
73
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
135
73
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomloch awesingle track roadtasting menuboat houserose cottagedining roomoff the beaten trackromantic hotelhot water bottlesfaded grandeurloch viewwalled gardenhand held showercountry housepassing placespublic rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 672 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a lovely place for a romantic weekend away, our first since having our second child and we struck gold!
We were blown away by our beautiful room, which was spotless and had a few of the loch to die for.
The food, cooked by the amazing Gary Goldie was out of this world, I tried things I have never eaten before and would happily have again! The meal lasted all evening, with 7 sumptuous courses of delightful and delicious dishes it was no surprise he was awarded Scotlands chef of the year last year!
The staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly, they could not have done more to make us feel welcomed and looked after.
The grounds are beautiful and the walk around the loch shore was stunning, even though the weather wasn't great, when it finially drove us back indoors we enjoyed a fine tea, complete with scones and cake in the wonderful grand drawing room with more splendid views and comfy chairs.
It's a long way to go, but well worth the effort, it was just what we needed, a relaxing and romantic weekend, a lovely treat, one I hope to repeat soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We travelled up in April to explore some Scottish territory and enjoy a peaceful getaway.
The drive up from Glasgow to the Hotel is pleasantly scenic, and there certainly was no shortage of mystic when you enter the driveway of the Hotel after taking a 10 mile drive through what seems to be the middle of nowhere.

The location of the Hotel is simply breath-taking and was everything we had hoped for.
We stayed in what was named the BEN LUI room for our two night stay, which faced out towards the wondrous Loch, snow-capped mountains and caught the morning sunshine.
The room was fitted with classy antique furniture, has a large bathroom, and a very large comfortable bed, TV etc.

The serenity of the place was amazing, and so we spent our first day simply reading books in the tea rooms, listened to the birds chirping, walking the grounds, and ate the glorious food (the chef caters nicely for vegetarians).

For a good day out there is a fantastic castle which you can walk up into and explore and this was only a 45 minute drive from the Hotel towards Inverness. Being a golf enthusiast, I found a magic little 9 hole country club in Oban which was surprisingly a very challenging links course nearby the Hotel also.

The staff were all professional and very friendly and overall we found our stay to be thoroughly enjoyable and hope to return

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend away at the Ardanaiseig Hotel. We arrived late due to a delayed flight and the staff were flexible with dinner arrangements. We stayed in Kilchurn which was a beautiful room with king-sized four poster bed and wonderful views of the Loch.
The room had a selection of Molton Brown toiletries and even handmade shortbread biscuits with the well-stocked tea and coffee making facilities. We stayed for two evenings and found the food and the service exceptional - especially the pistachio milkshake! It was particularly impressive that at very short notice the kitchen were able to alter the menu to accommodate my wife's dislike of fish.
On the first full day we took advantage of the weather (very sunny and dry for Scotland) and went on a 9 mile walk that was recommended by the very helpful staff at reception. We arranged for the kitchen to make us a packed lunch which was very tasty and good value for money.
We thought that the breakfast selection was excellent. While I enjoyed the scrambled egg and smoked salmon, my wife found the fresh fruit and cereal selection to be just what she wanted. A great touch was the homemade marmalade and jam.
We thought the building was well maintained and very grand inside. The grounds were in-keeping with the landscape.
Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_traveller679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We chose this place in order to explore the area, but we did very little exploring because the hotel is just the best place to be. Our room was charming, beautifully decorated, comfortable and spotless. We appreciated the homemade shortbread with the tea service. The grounds are lovely and the view of the loch is amazing. The real surprise was the food. It turns out Chef Goldie won the best chef in Scotland award last year and he deserves it. The meals were not only delicious but beautifully presented and the portions were perfect and so was the timing of the courses. And then there is the wonderful staff. The housekeepers work hard and keep the place spic and span, and the servers are very good at judging what is needed to keep guests contented. They are ready with conversation or a laugh, or they disappear if needed. They seem to read minds. After three weeks in Scotland visiting every museum, castle, garden and historical site we could find, this was a perfect way to end our holiday, sitting in the gracious drawing room with a whiskey or tea, looking out at the loch and the hills beyond.We will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was a garden view, very nice, but next time I'd like to try a loch view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gentinasybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We spent three nights here and felt that this was just about ideal as a length of stay. The Hotel is well off the beaten track but worth the 10 miles of single track road to get there. We found the staff very friendly, although the manager seemed barely inclined to make himself known.
The hotel retains a relaxed country house feel with little pomp and we enjoyed the dinners each evening which were all pre-set menus.
Our room was 'Tervine' which was loch facing and decorated in chinese antiques with red walls..it worked! The bathroom was big but you have to run the taps for an age before the hot water kicks in. The hand held shower was rather weak and at some point they will have to address the plumbing,
The hotel is very dog friendly (we have two) and the grounds are truly gorgeous.

Room Tip: Tervine is a good a large room and would certainly suggest facing the loch to get th most out of the location
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IncaWalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews