We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I booked a two night break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were treated like royalty by Fiona, Nathalie, David and the rest of the staff. Our room with the loch view was magnificent and it really is a wonderful location (even in the torrential rain) We had dinner both nights in the resteraunt which was a real treat and well worth the money! The only downside of our stay was that we had to leave early as my wife took unwell (flu!!!) However Nathalie gave her a wonderful Cinnamon and rum drink (family remedy I believe?) Which took the edge off! We will certainly 're-visit Taychreggan if not for the wonderful location or food but for the fantastic warm service we received.

Room Tip: Room 17 Great views, luxury bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    72
    35
    23
    11
See reviews for
34
258
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Really enjoyed a weekend at this lovely hotel. We had a warm welcome from Fiona, Nathalie and David and the room was lovely, really nice bathroom too with luxurious Molton Brown toiletries. A small problem with the hot water in the shower was eventually resolved. Didn't have the tasting menu meal but had a bar supper which was one starter, one main course and one sweet from the main menu (no choice), felt the bar menu could have offered more but we enjoyed what we had nonetheless. There are plenty of things to do at the hotel, but as we just wanted to relax we opted just to sight-see and what a treat that was, some of the most beautiful scenery in the world, and the view from the hotel right down Loch Awe was stunning. Our weekend was relaxing and comfortable, the bed was adequate although I noticed that other junior suites had king size beds whilst ours was only a double bed. Breakfast was very good,, the porridge was nice and creamy and on the second morning we had smoked haddock with a poached egg which was delicious and beautifully cooked and presented All in all it was an enjoyable weekend and the hotel would be a fantastic venue for a wedding - very romantic!

Room Tip: Junior suites at the front of the hotel have a gorgeous view over Loch Awe
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerswelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We would highly recommend this hotel for location, service, food and comfort. It was the most peaceful and relaxing stay we've ever had in a hotel. The set evening restaurant menu was fantastic. A real gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked for the Christmas special at this inn by the side of Loch Awe. Weather was appalling on Christmas Eve, the day we arrived, which put a lot of guests off the journey. As a result, there were only four couples staying. Nonetheless, the very friendly and attentive staff treated us superbly and made our stay something special. The bedroom was great, with a great loch view and the most amazing bathroom en suite - his & hers basins, huge roll-top bathtub, separate big rose shower. Despite having had boiler problems, the hotel managed to keep us cosy and warm. The real delight was the food. Young chef Ondrej Kasan produces beautifully presented food with a wide range of subtle flavours and very interesting combinations. After each five-course repast, we rose from the table fully satisfied but never overfed, repairing to the lounge for coffee and more home-made delights. Boxing day, thankfully, was a lovely day and we enjoyed the walk along to Ardenaisaig, with spectacular views of Cruachan and the mountains round Glen Orchy. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The loch view rooms in the new wing are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Booked Saturday morning for Saturday night, arrived just before sunset to stunning views across Loch awe.
checked in, taken to a cosy but not small room, lovely large bathroom, really comfortable bed.
had a couple of drinks in the bar then dressed for dinner, was told drinks canapes would be served at seven and there would be a pre dinner speaker.drinks and canapes arrived very nice start, but the speaker spoke for an hour+ far to technical and far too long especially if your last meal was a late brunch.
Dinner, six course's was fantastic, no choice's but that really didn't matter. Coffee and petit four's served in the lounge.
time for bed.
in the morning woken by the sound of water pumps a bit annoying but not unduly early but we were up and dressed and down to breakfast by 9-30, nicely cooked, plenty of hot tea and coffe at a tabl overlooking the loch.
will be going back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 27 if you want a long lie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaddyChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a fantastic stay from the moment we arrived until we left we had a ball. We were met by Fiona who made us feel so welcome. All staff were brilliant couldn't do enough for us. Food was brilliant. This is said to be a romantic hotel and would have to agree candles and fairy light were beautiful. Can't wait to go back. Thank you so much for looking after us xx

Room Tip: Loch facing rooms were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerfun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were staying locally and just wanted to have a small(ish) dinner. I rang to book and discovered that out of season they, understandably, wanted to have some warning that non residents wanted to eat. The chef offered us a quite incredible slow roasted ox cheek along with a small rib eye steak with kale. Wow! It was quite incredible! Totally unexpected! It melted in the mouth and quite honestly I could have eaten the whole thing again (not because it wasn't generous I hasten to add) I am just greedy.

I knew Taychreggan in a previous incarnation and remember it as being incredibly warm and inviting. The staff were. The interior of the bar and the dining room isn't, which is why I have not given it 5 dots ... But frankly, with food like this - who cares?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggeronoverdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
3.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
636 reviews
8.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
13.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
16.2 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Property: Taychreggan Hotel
Address: By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing