We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
268
93
48
32
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
93
48
32
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suiteloch awesingle track roaddining roomloch viewromantic getawaycourse dinnersnooker tablefour poster bedbeautiful locationmain coursedrovers inndecanter of sherryhotel groundspeace and quietthe general managerlovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 454 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a weekend at the Taycreggan Hotel. What a lovely place! The staff are super helpful and so polite, the food at the restaurant was amazing, The location of the hotel is quite secluded, unfortunately we had typical Scottish weather for our stay but the hotel is so welcoming and cosy that we were more than happy to curl up in front of the fire in the lounge. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just returned from taychreggan and had the best time ever. The location is second to none you just couldn't find another hotel that compares. The staff were wonderful and food simply delicious nothing was too much trouble for the staff I have health problems with a lot of food but they worked around the problems and I had the most beautiful looking evening meal and it tasted superb breakfast too was well catered for. We felt so relaxed and spoiled we really hope to go back real soon

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite with a wonderful view of the loch
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. We had a Junior Suite which was a lovely big room overlooking the loch - which really is at the bottom of the garden. Extremely comfortable with what looked like a brand new bathroom. Very friendly staff who looked after us from the moment we arrived. Dinner was lovely - the menu is designed as a tasting menu and shouldn't be viewed as one from which to choose individual dishes - all the courses were delicious and we couldn't have eaten any more by the end. Some good wines to complement dinner in the wine list as well. In all - a lovely stay and we would definitely recommend it if you are seeking peace and quiet, with some luxury on the side.

Room Tip: Go for a loch view if you can
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were really looking forward to a relaxing stay but found Taychreggan a disappointment. The room itself was beautiful with an amazing view over the loch, dinner was lovely but everything else fell below expectation.

Some of the public areas were pretty tired. Despite the cold weather & the driving rain the fireplace in the lounge was not on, adding to the general feeling of the Inn being partly open. It was difficult to find staff, who were all helpful but very junior.

We were expecting long lochside walks but this was limited as the Inn has very small gardens and beyond this the loch is all private access for nearby houses.

Worst of all, we had chosen a junior suite so we could enjoy the luxurious bathrooms. Unfortunately, when we went to take a bath found there was no hot water! The solution was to give us the key to a room across the corridor to use their bathroom. These rooms have not been refurbished and have dated over bath electric showers with poor power. Not what we were lookng for!!! Also, towels were clean but grey & worn.

Overall lovely location, lots of potential, but disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was literally a last minute booking as the hotel we were booked into had the chef walk out, we made this choice under pressure as we were travelling within the next 8 hours and it really worked out, a very pleasant hotel in quiet surroundings and a nice ambience, the staff are very friendly and welcoming, we were shown round the hotel prior to going to our room which helped get our bearings, the room was nicely decorated and the bed so comfortable, a complementary small decanter of sherry is a nice touch and is refilled every day and makes a good appetiser before heading to the restaurant. The food is outstanding from a very good chef who likes to experiment, you can preview the 7 course menu prior to booking your table, portions are small as you would expect from this type of cuisine but filling all the same once you've been through the courses, a really good selection of wines are also available, you can also avail of the bar menu if you don't want the full monty, speaking of which breakfast is a winner too, all fresh produce from the usual fry up to hot or cold smoked salmon, haddock with duck egg, kippers, fresh fruit and cereal also the best scrambled egg I've had in many a year, the lounging areas are very tasteful with lovely views of loch Awe there is also a snooker room at the end of the corridor, I liked the fact that there was no TV in any public room but free Wi-Fi is available should you need it, all in all a very nice experience.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CB1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews