We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
268
93
48
33
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
93
48
33
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite loch awe single track road dining room loch view romantic getaway course dinner snooker table four poster bed beautiful location main course drovers inn decanter of sherry hotel grounds peace and quiet the general manager lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 455 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. We had a Junior Suite which was a lovely big room overlooking the loch - which really is at the bottom of the garden. Extremely comfortable with what looked like a brand new bathroom. Very friendly staff who looked after us from the moment we arrived. Dinner was lovely - the menu is designed as a tasting menu and shouldn't be viewed as one from which to choose individual dishes - all the courses were delicious and we couldn't have eaten any more by the end. Some good wines to complement dinner in the wine list as well. In all - a lovely stay and we would definitely recommend it if you are seeking peace and quiet, with some luxury on the side.

Room Tip: Go for a loch view if you can
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were really looking forward to a relaxing stay but found Taychreggan a disappointment. The room itself was beautiful with an amazing view over the loch, dinner was lovely but everything else fell below expectation.

Some of the public areas were pretty tired. Despite the cold weather & the driving rain the fireplace in the lounge was not on, adding to the general feeling of the Inn being partly open. It was difficult to find staff, who were all helpful but very junior.

We were expecting long lochside walks but this was limited as the Inn has very small gardens and beyond this the loch is all private access for nearby houses.

Worst of all, we had chosen a junior suite so we could enjoy the luxurious bathrooms. Unfortunately, when we went to take a bath found there was no hot water! The solution was to give us the key to a room across the corridor to use their bathroom. These rooms have not been refurbished and have dated over bath electric showers with poor power. Not what we were lookng for!!! Also, towels were clean but grey & worn.

Overall lovely location, lots of potential, but disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was literally a last minute booking as the hotel we were booked into had the chef walk out, we made this choice under pressure as we were travelling within the next 8 hours and it really worked out, a very pleasant hotel in quiet surroundings and a nice ambience, the staff are very friendly and welcoming, we were shown round the hotel prior to going to our room which helped get our bearings, the room was nicely decorated and the bed so comfortable, a complementary small decanter of sherry is a nice touch and is refilled every day and makes a good appetiser before heading to the restaurant. The food is outstanding from a very good chef who likes to experiment, you can preview the 7 course menu prior to booking your table, portions are small as you would expect from this type of cuisine but filling all the same once you've been through the courses, a really good selection of wines are also available, you can also avail of the bar menu if you don't want the full monty, speaking of which breakfast is a winner too, all fresh produce from the usual fry up to hot or cold smoked salmon, haddock with duck egg, kippers, fresh fruit and cereal also the best scrambled egg I've had in many a year, the lounging areas are very tasteful with lovely views of loch Awe there is also a snooker room at the end of the corridor, I liked the fact that there was no TV in any public room but free Wi-Fi is available should you need it, all in all a very nice experience.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CB1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

From the moment we first made contact with the Taychreggan Hotel, the service was first class: from offering us a special B&B rate to accommodating a date change. Once we got there the service was equally impressive and attentive to every detail, from a free room upgrade to being given a table for dinner with a breathtaking view of the loch. Stunning location, beautiful hotel, impeccable service and great food - our two nights at the Taychreggan, in the spring sunshine, were exacltly what we needed to recharge the batteries. One slight complaint, which affected the sleep quality early in the morning, was a fairly constant dripping/creaking sound in room 16, of which we informed the duty manager, but no room change was offered.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this wonderful hotel. It really was a treat, the lap of luxury. We were greeted on arrival by the lovely Nathalie who made us feel most welcome. We stayed in a junior suite with loch view (room 17, aptly named ‘Awe’). The room was lovely, with a huge bed, tasteful décor and it was spotless. The piece de resistance for me was the bathroom which was enormous with double sinks and a claw foot bathtub. Absolutely gorgeous. Other nice touches included heated towel rails, Molton Brown toiletries, and decanter of sherry. The loch view is a must-have. You would never tire of looking at the impressive scenery.
We ate dinner on our first night there and it really was an experience. The dining room boasts a loch view too and it was lovely to see it at dusk. The 6 course tasting menu is a set menu which differs each night and it really is haute cuisine. The food is beautifully prepared and presented. We enjoyed mushroom velouté, chicken salad (as an alternative to the fish course which we had opted out of), slow roasted pork with sticky ribs and chorizo mash, crème brulée with passion fruit sorbet (as it was Easter Monday this was presented in a duck egg shell, truly lovely and it looked like a boiled egg with toast soldiers!) It was all very, very rich and totally delicious.
We didn’t enjoy the breakfast as much, but this is down to personal taste. Potato scones are sadly amiss from the breakfast menu and the scrambled eggs were a little undercooked for my liking. There was plenty to choose from (continental and cooked) and the staff go out of their way to accommodate all requests (Thank you!)
We booked this using an internet voucher and as such we weren’t sure what to expect. We couldn’t have asked for any better. The drive up from Glasgow to Kilchrenan is beautiful (we went via Loch Lomond). The scenery is stunning and it only gets better when you arrive at the hotel. The only downside is the 7 mile drive on a single track road to get to the hotel. The locals drive like lunatics because they ‘know the road’ apparently, so please take care on this road. I would highly recommend a stay at Taychreggan for complete relaxation. We were very fortunate with the weather which was an added bonus. The staff are so attentive, nothing is too much trouble. Go and see it for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite to guarantee the loch view. It's this hotel's USP.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews