We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveler rating
267
93
48
32
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
93
48
32
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suiteloch awesingle track roaddining roomloch viewromantic getawaycourse dinnersnooker tableon arrivaldeep bathbeautiful locationfour poster bedmain coursedrovers inndecanter of sherryhotel groundspeace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 453 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this wonderful hotel. It really was a treat, the lap of luxury. We were greeted on arrival by the lovely Nathalie who made us feel most welcome. We stayed in a junior suite with loch view (room 17, aptly named ‘Awe’). The room was lovely, with a huge bed, tasteful décor and it was spotless. The piece de resistance for me was the bathroom which was enormous with double sinks and a claw foot bathtub. Absolutely gorgeous. Other nice touches included heated towel rails, Molton Brown toiletries, and decanter of sherry. The loch view is a must-have. You would never tire of looking at the impressive scenery.
We ate dinner on our first night there and it really was an experience. The dining room boasts a loch view too and it was lovely to see it at dusk. The 6 course tasting menu is a set menu which differs each night and it really is haute cuisine. The food is beautifully prepared and presented. We enjoyed mushroom velouté, chicken salad (as an alternative to the fish course which we had opted out of), slow roasted pork with sticky ribs and chorizo mash, crème brulée with passion fruit sorbet (as it was Easter Monday this was presented in a duck egg shell, truly lovely and it looked like a boiled egg with toast soldiers!) It was all very, very rich and totally delicious.
We didn’t enjoy the breakfast as much, but this is down to personal taste. Potato scones are sadly amiss from the breakfast menu and the scrambled eggs were a little undercooked for my liking. There was plenty to choose from (continental and cooked) and the staff go out of their way to accommodate all requests (Thank you!)
We booked this using an internet voucher and as such we weren’t sure what to expect. We couldn’t have asked for any better. The drive up from Glasgow to Kilchrenan is beautiful (we went via Loch Lomond). The scenery is stunning and it only gets better when you arrive at the hotel. The only downside is the 7 mile drive on a single track road to get to the hotel. The locals drive like lunatics because they ‘know the road’ apparently, so please take care on this road. I would highly recommend a stay at Taychreggan for complete relaxation. We were very fortunate with the weather which was an added bonus. The staff are so attentive, nothing is too much trouble. Go and see it for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite to guarantee the loch view. It's this hotel's USP.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Albeit aided by sunshine and snow-capped mountains another great stay at the Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan Argyll

Marvellous professional hospitality abounded as always

You are in a beautiful place and in a great hotel so how can you not enjoy yourself?
Wonderful views from the hotel dining room and of course the bedrooms at the from and side

Nice to be able to have breakfast up until 10 o'clock too so no need to arise too early

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blandorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The last part of the journey to is hotel is 7 miles along a single track road - usually a nightmare but only passed one car each way! The hotel is lovely and very relaxing - great setting next to Loch Awe which we could see from our bed. Dinner is a 5 or 6 set course menu. I would normally prefer a choice but the food is amazing and can't be faulted at all so it wasn't an issue here. Breakfast was also v tasty. Only reason I marked it down to 4 stars is for some of the staff. Wait staff were good but reception and bar staff made me feel awkward and they seemed surprised that we went to the bar for a soft drink in the afternoon! And no diet coke!!

Room Tip: Get a view of the loch.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuvetDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is our 2nd stay here as a birthday treat for my husband and we were not disappointed. If you are looking for that WOW factor then this is the hotel for you. The staff are extremely friendly and the food is to die for - that something extra special that you normallyi do not experience. We stayed in our old room no 19 with a loch view, and after a lovely walk round Loch Avich came back to a hot bath - pure luxury and a wee glass of sherry! This is certainly value for money as we reserved our room via a discount voucher but the second night was matched for the same price! It is just little personal things that make this hotel special as Fiona recognised us on our return visit. Cannot fault the hotel or staff - a very special weekend was had. Will most certainly return again to this little gem of peace and tranquility!!

Room Tip: Request a Junior Suite as very spacious and views spectacular over the Loch
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue1abbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Went for a night with my partner as we love the area. Had a great evening despite the crazy weather, Staff were polite and friendly, food was fab and rooms were spotless. Will definately go back again. I normally always have something to complain about as I love a moan but on this occassion could find no complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a lochside view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews