We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
268
93
48
33
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
93
48
33
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite loch awe single track road dining room loch view romantic getaway course dinner snooker table four poster bed beautiful location main course drovers inn decanter of sherry hotel grounds peace and quiet the general manager lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 455 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We got married here in Oct 2007 and this is the first time we have managed to get back. Our room was excellent and spotless. Food was good and the staff could not be more friendly or helpful. The hotel has had lots of work done, it is an old building so I guess its difficult ti keep everything in ship shape order but the staff here manage it because it is absolutely perfect. Lovely grounds and gardens and lovely views. Can't wait to get back, musn't leave it so long next time, I had forgitten how lovely it was

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolfStar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful spot. The room we had was lovely with great views and a huge bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful - the reception had a note that I was vegetarian and a seperate menu was waiting for me in our room. The food was great and the staff attentive. The candles along the corridor were a magical touch in the evening. I would unreservedly recommend this hotel for its ambience and service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShonaghG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here after driving over from Edinburgh through the wonderful Trossachs. We were really well looked after when we arrived by the staff. They showed us our room, gave us the menu for dinner - some nice personal touches. We had a fantastic, very well appointed room over looking Loch Awe - stunning bathrooms and a gorgeous claw foot bath I took advantage of to while away the cold outside. Highly recommend staying here for a complete relaxing time. Food was great, staff very attentive and really looked after you. We had snow over night and to wake up to everywhere bathed in white was amazing, so we spent the next day hanging out at the hotel. It was blissful looking out at the snow sitting in over stuffed armchairs, been served soup and sandwiches and of course the odd whisky liquor. Have already passed their business cards onto friends and if we ever come back to Scotland this place is on the list.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch View
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful overnight stay for a friends get together.
The hotel is in an amazing location with breathtaking views.

The food is excellent. The rooms we had (loch view rooms) are luxuriously furnished and the bathrooms stunning with a large freestanding bath, separate large shower and Moulton Brown toiletries.

The real stars of the hotel are the staff. They were understanding and flexible when we needed to change our booking twice. Nothing was too much trouble. A couple of minor glitches were dealt with speedily and professionally. And when one of our party was unwell (nothing to do with the hotel) they were so considerate and helpful.

I’m certainly looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms a must - views are just amazing!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed overnight last week. This was definately a hidden gem. The location is right on the side of Loch Awe and we had a loch view. The room was very spacious and modern, the bathroom was huge. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful.We booked this hotel through a discount scheme and were pleasantly surprised. The food is good although a bit pricey. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room with a loch view, it is stunning.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lane2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews