We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hogmanay”
Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Lossiemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hogmanay”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed with friends for the hotels 3 night Hogmanay Hoolie. The Taychreggan team took very good care of us. The food was out of this world and the 5 course dinners were to die for, nicely portioned so that you can eat all 5 courses that arrive like artworks on a plate and enjoy all the flavours that their 2 chefs create. Our friend who can not have shellfish got her own, personalised menu, when we had scallops. Just one of those attention to detail and making you feel a little bit special things that the Taychreggan Team give you. The guests numbers were doubled on New Year's Eve when the locals joined us for dinner and a ceilidh. We were talked through all the dances and flung around the floor to much laughter, then the bells and fireworks. As an extra bonus the hotel across the loch had fireworks too. Stayed in room 9. Nice sized room and large bathroom, be aware when using it or you may treat a passer by to more than they were expecting to see at the loch side!. Snooker table was an unexpected added treat. We were there for a party but I can also see this being a lovely romantic holiday stop, the hotel grounds have seats in little nooks and cranies where you can feel like the only 2 people in the world and cosy up inside on over-stuffed sofas looking down the loch. Treat yourselves to a break at Taychreggan and you won't regret or forget it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelossieduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    72
    35
    23
    11
See reviews for
34
258
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I spent a night at this hotel last week. The welcome we received was very friendly, yet professional. The room was a very good size with a seating area and beautiful views of Loch Awe. We were even left a small dram of whisky - an appropriate thought for a Scottish hotel. Dinner was a set 5 course meal which was excellent in every way;even the presentation was "artistry on a plate". My friend cannot eat fish and the chef very kindly gave her a special main course. Breakfast next morning was everything we expected and we enjoyed a relaxing meal while watching the mist roll over the loch. All in all a wonderful experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys the better things in life.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

just returned from an overnight at this great hotel - birfthday treat for my husband so we had the master suite which was well worth the extra - spa bath, separate sitting room which was very comfortable. We had dinner in the hotel and it was excellent , however got to say when we got the soup course we were a bit shocked as it was in a tiny cup, but it was delicious and i could happliy have eaten a huge bowl of it but then would have been too full to enjoy the other courses which i couldnt fault. Did not leave one scrap of anything on the lplates which is unusual for me. The staff were down to earth, friendly and couldnt do enough without being over the top - all in all a great overnight stay and will definitely be back when the better weather comes to enjoy the wonderful scenery

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Like many others we had purchased a voucher for our stay at Taychreggan .A last minute spur of the moment purchase which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip .
Initally I had reservations about the 6 course tasting menu but it was a fantastic experience . Beautiful presentation of gourmet food . The service was first class and accomodation stunning .
Our room was lovely , freestanding bath and walk in shower , stunning views over Loch Awe we have and will continue to recommend to our friends . If you want to get away from it all and just chill in beautiful Scottish countryside this is for you . The fact it is well off the beaten track is a huge plus for me .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruandsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

As with a few other reviewers, we stayed at Taychreggan Hotel using a promotional voucher. They totally exceeded my expectations. Nothing was too much bother, a change in dates was accommodated with grace, the staff, who seemed fairly young, showed a professionalism and maturity that you often don't see in individuals of a more mature age. The room was of a generous size and the bathroom massive and with nice products. We dined there and, again, it was unexpectedly good. As a vegetarian I wondered if I'd get the standard risotto option, but they went to the effort of coming up with fantastic options, and even prepared a personal menu for me. Chef was amazing. The negatives are few - you need a car to get there and once there there are no other options to eat out. But if you don't eat there you'd be missing out. Well done, keep it up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taniwha_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a voucher and I was a bit worried by some of the previous reviews but oh my goodness it was perfect!
We had to change our dates a few times but this was accommodated with no problems or penalties.
The road indeed is not for the amateur driver but I don't think the hotel built it!
The seclusion lack of phone signal and being practically the only guests added up to a perfect evening.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who were chatty and friendly with amazing humour.
The food was tasty and cooked perfectly served in front of the fire.
Wot a sleep we had in the big comfy bed after a warm deep bath.
How anyone finds fault here is a mystery to me.
Breakfast was perfect to set us up for the long journey home after I was dragged back to the car because I didn't want to leave.
Can't wait to return very soon.
Thanku to everyone on shift last night

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel is situated in a remote area overlooking Loch Awe. I had booked Bed and Breakfast then added an evening meal which appeared rather expensive although it did include six courses. The food was excellent and though the portions were fairly small when they all added up I was comfortably full. The service was second to none.
The view over the loch is really beautiful even in November. I may return in the summer for another stay

Room Tip: Worth asking the cost of one upgrade from basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotlandsgreyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
3.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
636 reviews
8.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
13.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
16.2 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Property: Taychreggan Hotel
Address: By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing