We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So wonderful so very wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So wonderful so very wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We came for the Hogmanay break

It was so very good and memorable

The General Manager Fiona Sutherland could not be more helpful

Room Tip: Facing the loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blandorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    70
    31
    21
    11
See reviews for
32
247
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We purchased a Groupon deal for a one night Bed & Breakfast stay then upgraded to the Master suite as well as dinner. The whole experience was delightful - high quality service, gorgeous location and dinner was exceptional. The room was well worth the extra £25 and was amazingly quiet. The staff couldn't do more to help and the chef accommodated my picky pallet. Packed lunch and Afternoon Tea were of the same high quality as dinner. WiFi in the lounge and Bath Tub for two were great bonuses.

Can't say enough great things about the place! We will definitely be back again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambo2012ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We booked this hotel on a voucher website which is something I have only done once before as previously it was a very disappointing experience. However, the bed and breakfast deal we got at the Taychreggan delivered everything it offered and more. From the very moment we stepped into the hotel to the moment we left the staff and service and food were faultless. Our room was the Walter Scott Junior suite which was immaculate and comfortable. We booked the evening meal (£45/head or £40 if booked at time of room). This might seem pricey but believe me it is worth every penny, a gastronomic experience. If you can afford the full price for DBB I'd say go and if you're not so flush then definitely book the voucher deal.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed in the smaller rooms only. I would recommend any of the Junior suites in the old s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had been advised to go for their sunday lunch and we were weary...but it turned out the best lunch we have had in all our years travelling to Scotland, generous portions on the mains and very sofisticated starters and desserts, our roast today was roasted to perfection, vegetables crisp, service very attent, and price remarkably good value/money. Would recommnet to anybody the window tables overlooking the misty lake on a winter/autumn day!! No wifi around so go for the romance, not for work!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We recently went to Loch Awe for 3 days and spent the first day cycling around the loch and the second walking the trail between Loch Awe and Loch Avich. We stayed at Taychreggan the first night and Ardanaiseig the next two and I thought it might be interesting to write a comparison between them. I would say that the weather was kind (dry for 48 hours!) and the setting for both hotels is amazing, making it worth the pretty difficult drive to this isolated part of the country.

Taychreggan appears more practical and modern and certainly the junior suite we had (Awe) was as good a room as we have had on our travels. It was very spacious with a huge, firm double king bed, powerful shower and breath-taking loch views. We arrived too late to justify the highly rated dinner and so in food terms I can only comment on breakfast and my wife and I had very different experiences. I was very disappointed in the full cooked, which was only ok in terms of quality and portion sizes were a bit mean for someone with a 7 hour cycle ahead of them. My wife had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs however and raved about it. Staff were friendly, informative and capable.

At Ardanaiseig, we were only in a standard double room, which was fine but nothing like as impressive as the junior suite from the previous night. The hotel itself is a terrific country house and the public rooms are really impressive with settees around the fireplaces and glorious full height windows overlooking the loch. We enjoyed the 7 course taster menu dinner on both nights (although I'm not convinced it is worth £50pp) and thought the wine list was decent in terms of both choice and value. Breakfast was enjoyed by all with the full cooked and the smoked haddock both getting the thumbs up.

We paid much the same for both hotels, so on this basis the bedroom at Taychreggan was much better value than Ardanaiseig, however the lounge and bar facilities in the latter were definitely more sumptuous and comfortable. Food appears to be really high quality in both restaurants based on our experience and from reading other reviews. Although we did not manage to sample it, the Taychreggan’s restaurant was fully booked out well in advance on both the nights that we stayed at the Ardanaiseig which is no mean feat at £50pp in a remote part of Scotland in March!

All in all this is a great part of the world to visit and both hotels provide a high quality offering and I am happy to give an unqualified recommendation to both. Compare the deals on offer and then decide what is important to your enjoyment.

Room Tip: Junior suites are much better than the standard rooms (bigger, better appointed and loch views).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had a lovely stay here.. The hotel was in a beautiful location. All staff were so helpful and friendly. We were upgraded as it was a Monday night to a beautiful room. The food was amazing.. I felt very relaxed after our 1 night stay. We will definitely come back

Room Tip: We have given the hotel full marks for value however, we did get a 50%off deal and we were upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seablueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We have just returned from a night's stay at the Taychreggan Hotel and we're already planning to go back. The hotel is set in on the banks of Loch Awe. As we arrived we were met with the most spectacular view across the loch and the sense of peace and tranquillity was most welcoming. Two members of staff greeted us and after a quick and smooth check in we were taken around the hotel to familiarise us with where everything was. We'd brought our dog with us, it's the first time we've taken him away and although we'd advised staff we were bringing him we were unsure as to how they would take to our mutt but they couldn't have been nicer even saying that he could come down to the bar with us if we didn't want to leave him in the room for too long. Our room had a four poster bed and a sofa set in front of the window which looked out onto the loch. Sunset was simply stunning. The room and bathroom met my wife's very exacting cleanliness standards. We had a drink in the bar before dinner where we were served canapes. Dinner itself was excellently cooked and served with the wait staff being attentive but not obtrusive. We both slept very well and before we set off for home this morning we took the dog for a ramble in the adjoining woods before he had a quick splash in the loch. I can't find one negative thing to report about this hotel and truly can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
3.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
8.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
13.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
16.2 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
6.6 mi away
Taynuilt Hotel
Taynuilt Hotel
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Property: Taychreggan Hotel
Address: By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing