We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highland wedding”
Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Kingdom of Fife
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Highland wedding”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is the Hotel my daughter has chosen to hold her wedding.The location is as perfect as you are going to get. On our visit we had a very good reception and shown round the Hotel. This is a very nice period hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Since the wedding is not until next year, we have subsequently spent a night there as it is a hotel that is right down my street.The rooms are perfect and a number have a loch view. The views are wonderful even on a dull day. The evening meal and full breakfast were very nicely done.
We will of course be staying again,what a treat.

Room Tip: We preffer the rooms above recption
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nodrogthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    79
    37
    24
    13
See reviews for
38
268
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2011

On arrival we were offered a room upgrade which was wonderful. With arms outstretched we could just find each other in the bed. Great room, wanted it to rain so we didn't have to leave. And very good food too. Mary and Dave, Ireland

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband & I spent a lovely night at this hotel earlier this week. We stayed in the Sonachan Suite which had a 4 poster bed and a lovely spa bath which was perfect for us both to relax in whilst enjoying the complementary sherry & using the Molton Brown toiletries which were in the room.

We were lucky enough to be there on a crisp autumnal day and the views over Loch Awe were stunning. The 5 course table d'hote dinner in the evening was divine – we actually preferred it to the reknowned Three Chimneys on Skye where we had eaten a few days earlier - the lamb just melted in your mouth. The chef is certainly to be commended. The bar prices were very good too.

The breakfast menu was extensive. We both started with yoghurt & home made fruit compote which was really nice. Hot breakfast items ranged from the traditional fry up to haddock & eggs, smoked salmon, or kippers. Fiona, the manager, couldn’t do enough for us. She was very knowledgable of the local area and recommended some good walks.

We're already looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure_Doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just home from two nights in this lovely peaceful hotel. Our room had a fantastic view of Loch Awe, huge bathroom with slipper top bath. The hotel is very quaint and yes it's the only hotel for miles but then if you've done your homework that's just what you'll expect.
We had a five course table d'hote dinner cooked by the Head chef John Sherry. Each course was presented beautifully and tasted devine. Dinner was priced as to be expected for a five course table d'hote in a two AA rosette restaurant. The hotel also serves bar meals earlier in the evening for those not wishing to dine in the restaurant - so you can't really say fairer than that! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Choose a room with Loch views and enjoy a little pre-dinner drink taking in the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lms021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is an average hotel, but extremely poor value for money. The accommodation is ok but not luxurious (no fridge or dvd player in room etc), and common parts likewise.
The hotel's only restaurant is also v expensive, and as the hotel is so remote, their is nowhere else to go nearby.
However, the location and views are truly beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg KZN Natal South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were so sad to have only discovered Taychreggan Hotel on our last night in Scotland. If it had been our first night we would have spent the rest of the week there! The whole experience was so far ABOVE our expectations which is an unusual experience. We would rate this hotel as the best we used in Scotland.

We asked for a Junior Suite with a loch view and thoroughly enjoyed watching the changing weather from the upstairs window. The room wasn't large but it had all the essentials with comfy chairs and occasional table where you could enjoy the tea tray provided. The bathroom was huge and the first on our 7 day trip which had a separate shower closet - very nice. The hot water took forever to reach us and wasn't all that hot but we were warned about it so we didn't suffer an ice cold shower.

The bar service was excellent with plenty of wine and beers to choose from and prices were much more reasonable than any of the other hotels we stayed at. Peter who served us was knowledgeable about the wines and we were really impressed with his selection.

The dinner was undoubtabley the best we had in Scotland - every course was perfect and even the coffee tasted better than anywhere else. Breakfast was simple and delicious. We both chose Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon - the best we had ever tasted.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My mother and I were fortunate enough to experience Taychreggan Hotel. Living in the hustle and bustle of London Loch Awe is the most delightful location for a peaceful & relaxing holiday. My room was out of this world (room number 15 to be exact) & the bathroom was of the highest standard.
The staff were extremely helpful & friendly, Fiona the manageress is delightful. I would highly recommend the Taychreggan Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonarufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
8.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,454 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
648 reviews
16.2 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,770 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
311 reviews
11.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Property: Taychreggan Hotel
Address: By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing