We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveler rating
585
296
108
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
585
296
108
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops cycle path patio doors stunning views loch linnhe hollytree hotel cooked to perfection dvd player superb location porridge dining room long weekend couple of nights lovely room self catering glen coe cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

Really loved this place. We stayed in one of the lodges from the 16th September for a week. The view from our lodge when the sun was going down was jaw dropping. In the whole area from Fort William to Oban was fabulous. And as for Glencoe, stunning. Well worth a visit. We are definitely going back there next year.
Lodges were cozy and had everything you need for self catering. The decoration in the lodges is a little tired and could do with a bit of a sprucing up a little, but definitely worth a visit. We thought it was definitely money well spent. Restaurant food was good and enjoyed it when we decided not to eat in our lodge. We've spent many a holiday abroad, but after this place I wonder if we will go abroad again. Loved the whole area.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank neilmB8854TU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Holly Tree for a mid week break, such a peaceful location with fantastic views over the Loch, wanted a quiet tranquil break to explore The Highlands and thus was perfect. We ate in the Captains bar twice and the food was gorgeous. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we had room 7 and the sunset from our room was beautiful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Stopped off at this hotel for lunch whilst exploring on our bikes, we were shown to a table by the window, perfect place to soak up the beauty of Loch Linnhe. We ordered sandwiches and hot drinks, all was tasty and value for money.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank bichette78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Fabulous location friendly helpful informative staff
Restaurant menu extensive and delicious with huge portions
Plenty of choices at breakfast all piping hot and the service fast
The view from restaurant is great
Over looking The loch and hills
As did our room having outdoor seating / decking
Comfy beds
Great to have swim in morning
Recommend this hotel
A good all rounder !

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank snowtoes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Beautiful location. Pleasant enough-looking smaller family hotel. Ample parking. Room also pleasant, with a lovely view over the loch. Other reviewers mention refurbishment necessary in places, but our room was fine.

Attitude of young bespectacled man on duty at reception not particularly welcoming (perhaps we had disturbed his online surfing). On returning to reception on my way to fetch a suitcase from the car it suddenly started teeming down with rain. On asking if there was an umbrella I might borrow for a few minutes, instead of looking around and at least pretending to look for one, all this reception fellow could come up with was a blunt: "Err…, no." No attempt to be helpful at all. Not one umbrella available? Back to his computer screen.

The food was quite tasty–tiger prawns, lobster, pate, sea bass, chicken and haggis…, but we all thought some of the food rather on the salty side–a personal issue, of course. On three nights the Soup of the Day was tomato–obviously a firm favourite in the restaurant. The scallops were a good size and nicely presented–much better value than Brown's of Glasgow.

A couple of the restaurant staff were pleasant enough, but the lady serving our table seemed impatient to get our order and was rather brusque; perhaps someone was giving her a bad time in the kitchens. A napkin which my toddler had unwittingly dropped onto the floor next to the table (en route to the kitchen)–and which I only saw at the end of the meal–was obviously stepped over and stepped on by several of the staff–including the head waiter. They were obviously much too busy to pick it up or replace it until I did so. The head waiter came over to say hello as we were about to leave and to ask us if everything was okay.

The hot water didn't work that evening (it had earlier) so we called down. The reception chap said that he would try to get it fixed ( a problem with the boiler?). It appears that he did get it fixed, but he forgot to let us know that the problem had been remedied and so we waited. And waited.

Unfortunately, we had forgotten a child's plastic bib at the end of the previous evening. After enquiring about it the following morning when we came down to breakfast, it was returned to us: it would have been so much more pleasant if they could have considered returning it already washed to the dining table (could a few splashes of sauce have been so difficult to dislodge?).

On our second evening, we asked if our order from the menu could be made either with no added salt or, at least, with little salt. "No, it is not possible." Another guest commented that the food might be prepared ahead of time at this place and not cooked to order. Surely not! Breakfast nourishing and good enough for a cool morning–the porridge especially tasty, but had to be advised by a kind soul who'd spent a few nights there that the children could also help themselves from the cold cereal buffet table "They don't tell you this" she pointed out.

No TV or papers in the lounge, just a sofa and armchairs to relax in in the evenings, although I suppose that if you have beautiful views and an enviable location, this doesn't much matter. The changeable weather the key element in the dramatic and varying beauty of these spectacular skies.

Sadly, though, generally very unimpressed by the demeanour of several of the hotel staff–not the the usual friendly highland folk encountered elsewhere. Very disappointed–a pity, because we were so hoping to enjoy our stay. if you decide to visit,
make sure you bring an umbrella should it rain on your way to the car park.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexanderjay2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews