We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Room, Extraordinary Food!”
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here for five days with my parents and my sister and we all absolutely adored our stay. The rooms were cosy and spacious, and had stunning views out of the window over the Loch. The room had a television which had only a few channels available, however, the hotel has an internal DVD rental service with something like 250 different films to watch. It was £10 deposit per film which is excellent.

My highlight of the trip, however, has to be the evening restaurant and the breakfasts. The breakfast are full Scottish breakfasts with these delicious potato scones which I simply couldn't get enough of! For all the evenings we spent in the restaurant, I had the ribeye steak which was absolutely glorious. It was served with a peppery source and a bowl of potatoes and vegetables.
The service is excellent and the staff were charming!

There is free Wi-fi provided however the signal was very week from our room. However, if you sit in the lounge area the signal is much stronger.

Overall, a brilliant little holiday at the Holly tree Hotel and I can't wait to (and I think we will) go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 904 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Four of us - two adults, a teenager and a 11 year old - stayed at the Holly Tree Hotel for 5 nights. The hotel exceeded our expectations on all levels. The staff were charming and always 'walked the extra mile' to ensure we were comfortable and well looked after. Thank you to all staff - Donald is the only name I can recall - thank you Donald, you were brilliant!
The food was delicious. There was an excellent choice on offer for breakfasts - I had smoked salmon every morning, what a treat! Lunches and evening meals were of a very high standard - all meals cooked to perfection. The views from our room and from the dining room windows were wonderful, looking straight over Loch Linnhe towards the Ardgour mountains.
Our family room was large, comfortable and well serviced each day. The housekeeper was very helpful.
I made use of the swimming pool every day. It was warm and very clean.
Again thank you to ALL staff - you are an asset to the hotel and we shall be back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kernowcouple94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Holly Tree with friends for a couple of nights in September. This was our second visit, their first. It`s a great place - friendly, helpful staff, great location, spectacular views and good food. But why or why do you get instant coffee when you ask for Decaf? In this day and age it`s ridiculous. Call me a coffee snob but instant coffee in a hotel just isn`t right! Come on Holly Tree - if you can make normal filter coffee surely you can make proper Decaf too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StickyToffeeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay, booked for dinner bed and breakfast on a classic britain deal, it was great, i have never tasted food like it, as my husband said "fine dining with man size portions" I was surprised we could pick "ANYTHING" form the fantastic menu, usually these deals you are restricted to a few choices. Our room was a good size and spotless, bathroom spotless but in need of a wee bit of painting. We had a room with only window, the views were beatutiful, next time we'll treat ourselves to a balcony, the pool and the sauna were great both times we used it we had it vitually to ourselves.The staff were wonderful nothing was a bother, service was excellent, we stayed in room 7 plenty of hanging space etc. Could think of hanging T.V. on wall in front of bed as like most "Lazy weekenders" wee like to watch some T.V. stretched out after an "AMAZING MEAL" and a few glasses of "VINO".Thanks so much for one of the best weekends we've had in a long time.xx

Room Tip: Room 7 was good,tea ,herbal teas, coffee, hot choc and biscuits provided every day in room, heating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked two lodges and were pleasantly surprised with the adequate furnishing. The rooms were clean and seemed to have been recently refurbished. The toilets were spotless and the of course the view was awe inspiring. We could have spent the whole day in the balcony only. The staff was exceptionally well mannered and helpful. They helped us out with milk for the kids when we arrived really late at night.

There is a service station 10 minutes away so you are not stranded and anywhere you go you are surrounded by amazing views. Ben Nevis about 40 minutes away.

I would definitely go again maybe in summer next time,

Room Tip: Lodge 4 is very well equipped. Loved the 'faux fireplace'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fahad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We moved to this gem of a hotel after the cottage we had booked for the week turned out to be damp and smelly. We are a family of 5 plus a chocolate lab so to accommodate us at short notice was amazing. The receptionist was so helpful and moved room bookings around so we cld be in a large ground floor room with access to gardens for the dog. We stayed four nights in room 2 which was spotlessly clean, spacious and had a fantastic big bed. The staff were so friendly and nothing was a problem. The breakfast was delicious and our 4 yr old particularity loved his daily boiled egg. The bar menu/ kids menu had a great choice of fresh, reasonably priced food. The pool was fabulous and two evenings we even managed to have it to ourselves! After a disastrous start to our mid term break this hotel rescued our holiday and we left feeling totally refreshed.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 2 for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We only popped in here for lunch yesterday but the place was lovely and the food was fantastic. We ate in the bar area and the views were stunning. The restaurant looked stunning and I would have loved to see it with the central open fire going, must be a real focal point. The areas that we seen were very clean and the staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roserab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
166 reviews
13.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
618 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
679 reviews
2.7 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
718 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range: $98 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Scotland/Kentallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing