We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here 3 times over the last couple of years, never been disappointed. The food was lovely and the service first class. View of the Loch is stunning. Only comment would be the room we stayed in was a bit dated and could have done with a make over. Apart from that everything else was excellent. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Captains room, best views and recently refurbished.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
There are newer reviews for Holly Tree Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 887 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

A last minute decision to stay and certainly not disappointed. On the plus side, the rooms are of a big size, views overlooking the loch, clean and tidy. Flat screen TV with DVD player (and a DVD Library at Reception) and all other amenities needed for a stay including kettle (including tea, coffee and Cadbury hot chocolate), hair dryer and toiletries. The property also has an indoor swimming pool (with swim jet) and a Saunarium - not huge, but big enough to relax in. Extra towels are also available so no need to bring one or use the one from your room. Helpful staff during check-in and throughout our stay.

Dinner in the Restaurant (not the Captain's Bar) was great. Seated next to a roaring open fire looking out onto the loch - couldn't be many places in Scotland with such an awesome atmosphere. And the food complimented the experience. Great quality and variety, all good portion sizes and efficiently served. For dessert, we highly recommend the Pecan Pie made on-site - simply delicious! The next morning, breakfast included in the room rate was a mix of Continental self-serve cereals, fruits, yoghurts and juices. Also a choice of porridge, toast and cooked items including the typical Scottish breakfast items. Service was not as great in the morning, but still, the view made up for it.

If we were being constructive, we would note the following small comments. Room rate and food prices are slightly above average, but that is the choice you need to make. And from a cleanliness perspective, we had a swim in the morning and the pool area had not been cleaned from the night before. Slightly disappointing and let the overall quality of the venue experience down.

Noting all above, we would definitely highly recommend the Holly Tree to anyone in the area and it will stay on our list of properties to re-visit when next in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 upstairs - good size and great views of the loch. No road noise at all, rather j...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUSLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Have stayed at the Holly Tree quite a few times over the last 15 years and thoroughly enjoyed every visit. This time was just a one night stay in a Captain's Room - a beautifully appointed refurbished room and bathroom with a small balcony overlooking the loch. Spotless and lovely as ever. We decided to have a drink in the bar area and enjoyed a beer and a gin from their really good selection of Scottish gins - very relaxing. We came down to dinner at 7pm to be told that they had run out of langoustines - as several of the items on the menu include langoustines and it is known as a seafood restaurant we were extremely disappointed. We always have langoustines when we go as they are always beautifully fresh. At lunchtime they were serving them to in the bar area to non-residents - enough said. One thing we noticed was there didn't seem to be any supervision or management around - and the service although friendly was not as slick as it has been in the past. It was busy fairly busy and a bit noisy with children. However, we enjoyed our dinner - scallops, brie for starters and sea bass for main - all perfectly cooked, followed by an excellent pecan pie and an apple crepe. Breakfast was a little disorganised - we were asked three times what our room number was, fresh fruit running out, utensils not replaced, but the quality of the produce was as good as usual. The staff were friendly and were working hard but I felt it just needed some overview to ensure that things ran a little more smoothly. We will definitely be back as we love the place but hope that these small glitches are sorted for next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muckhartgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with a party of 18. Had a great time, right on the sea with an amazing view. Dinner and breakfast - couldnt complaint at all, tasty food. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Looking to book again in the summer!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a little patio outside for dogs
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandymcd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here with sisters, 2 lovely rooms booked and the 2nd room was upgraded for nothing. both had balconies overlooking the Loch. Staff that were on duty when we arrived were very helpful and carried luggage up to the rooms. Lovely evening meal, good job we booked, it was full as a film crew were staying there, we all enjoyed our meals, the beds are very comfortable and we enjoyed getting into the swimming pool and sauna.Breakfast was great with all the lovely views again but the breakfast staff were a bit glum, a smile and a good morning would have been nice. I think (Charlotte) on reception was great very happy. The reception is not manned all the time so you have to go searching. they all all busy doing other jobs. The pluses outshone the minor points.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Easter weekend stay at this wonderful location, the rooms are well appointed, the food is good & the majority of staff are friendly & helpful. This is a great base for getting out and exploring the Glencoe area.

My only frustration was that as paying guests you should be able to order from the bar menu but eat in the restaurant if you choose, on one evening I wanted something from the restaurant menu & my wife from the bar menu, she was not allowed to order it because we were in the restaurant!!?? Hello Restaurant Manager - this is not a fine dining eatery but a hotel serving locally sourced produce.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, they don't all have them but both are the same price.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just back from a one night stay but wish we had stayed here longer. Lovely location, everyone very friendly and my daughter was kept entertained with the swimming pool after a long drive from Skye. Evening meal in the restaurant was lovely and a good choice at breakfast. Rooms were spacious plenty of room for travel cot and well equipped with tea and coffee. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bramble_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
155 reviews
4.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
659 reviews
2.7 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range: $139 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Scotland/Kentallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing