We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful !!!”
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just wonderful !!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed her for three nights over New Year and brought the New Year in with a ceilidh at the hotel. The staff are amazing and so friendly. Our room was very spacious with a separate bath and free standing shower, nice big square bathroom. Small balcony with two chairs to sit on if you got the weather.

The food, the food is just amazing! Loved everything. Massive helpings of glorious tasty morsels. A fish restaurant with a fantastic menu to suit everyone (even meat eaters).

It has a small swimming pool and steam room to relax in with nice fluffy towels.

We are so glad we were recommended this hotel and would strongly advise others to give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tranquil8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    254
    88
    15
    12
See reviews for
207
450
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Holly Tree for one night. The room was lovely and big and had everything we needed. We had dinner in the bar which was very nice with lots of choice and good service.

The weather was not so kind to us as it rained very hard during our stay but the location is lovely and I am sure even better when the sun is out. I would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed in separate 2 bedroom lodge with 2 small kids. Decent accommodation, well equiped kitchen. Seafood restaurant is also worth a visit. Would recommend for family travels - swimming pool was handy on a rainy day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our second trip to the Holly Tree at Kentallen and wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. Having enjoyed a 3 day stay back in july, my husband and I were excited at the prospect of cold frosty weather maybe a touch of snow to enhance the already fantastic views....we were not disappointed!
the views over last weekend ( 7th-9th December) were picture perfect pink sunrises over snow capped hills reflected in the loch...seemed a waste of time going out when there are such good views from the windows. The food as before and in previous reviews never fails to impress, with all the finer details of bread/ water etc offered without prompting, ingredients all fresh and fabulous and cooked to perfection. Breakfast still included fresh fruit even in December, not all tinned as you see in so many other hotels. The staff are friendly and approachable so that even when the bar is quieter ( it was busier than I expected for a weekend running up to christmas) the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. I hope their boss knows what a great team he has as they all work the reception/bar/ wait on in the restaurant together and do it very well. Real fires in both the restaurant and the little lounge adds to the relaxed warmth of the place, fab fab fab!
Bedrooms are fitted and maintained to a high standard, the balcony rooms providing the perfect place to take those loch view photos.Large comfortable beds and the best large bath ever...more importantly endless hot water to fill it ( stayed in a hotel in yorkshire, great huge bath for 2 but not enough hot water to even fill the sink!!) So many lovely walks to do, places to visit.......I'll just have to go again.

Room Tip: All rooms have loch views, but worth the extra for a balcony....we were lucky and were upgraded on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in Ballachulish and looking for a good seafood restaurant. Went online, booked a table and had an absolutely fabulous meal. Starters of scallops and langoustines were lovely, the main courses if chicken & haggis and venison were fantastically delicious, with sticky toffee pudding & butterscotch sauce (x2) the perfect ending! Only regret is not being able to return until late next year! Can't recommend the Holly Tree enough. I hope the locals are aware of what a gem they have?!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights with myself, wife and 17 month old boy. The setting was superb. Right on the loch with mountain and water views from room, restaurant, pub and pool. The building used to be the Kentallen train station, so train enthusiasts might find that interesting. The room was decent size for the three of us. Bed was comfortable. The hotel had quite a few toys around for our son to play with both in the bar and in the lounge. The hotel is a little drive from Glencoe but we found that refreshing and quiet. Hotel staff were friendly and attentive. I wound stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmetzky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday treat and chose it after reading reviews. We arrived early and were pleased to find that our room was ready ! the girl on reception was very nice and informed us of all the hotel amenities. We were given our key and headed to our room and on entering we saw that the reviews were correct and we had the most amazing views of the loch. The room itself was big,very clean with a spacious bathroom and plenty of storage space and a large tv with separate seating area. As the hotel had their own pool and sauna we decided to try it out, being the only ones using it was great it felt like it was our own ! Pool was big and the sauna was lovely and warm great for a cold day to warm the bones. Before dinner we used the bar and again a lovely fresh area with stunning views over the loch. The hotel is an old train station and you could feel that they tried to keep the feel of this throughout the hotel. There was also a nice lounge area with an open fire where you could chill with a book or enjoy a quiet drink ! Had a wonderful sleep and in the morning opened the curtains to that lovely view again ! Breakfast was delicious and a must try is the porridge with a glayva cream. I would highly recommend the hotel and am looking forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
131 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
631 reviews
4.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Property: Holly Tree Hotel
Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Scotland/Kentallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing