We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAFF FANTASTIC!!!!”
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
PETERHEAD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“STAFF FANTASTIC!!!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

April 2012 a friend of mine stayed in this hotel and was secretly married on this trip!! I was the long distance bridesmaid. On the day of the wedding when I phoned and spoke to the very nervous bride, I thought she needed a drink to calm the nerves!!! I telephoned and asked if possible could they put some wine to the room, Shona was a star!!! Organised bottle of bubbly to the room went to check on the bride and as time was limited I had to phone back to pay the bill!!! Shona could not have done enough for me or the bride. So a big thank you. I have never stayed at this hotel but I was so impressed with the service that I got over the phone and nothing seemed to be a problem I will be making a visit hopefully soon. Thank you for all your help on the wedding day!! Shona you were a sweetheart.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    249
    84
    14
    11
See reviews for
205
440
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed in one of the lodges on the bank of Loch Linnhe, with everything you need inside from washing machine, well equipped kitchen, to DVD player and cot! We stayed with a 10 month old baby, everywhere was safe and we could even let him explore the balcony over the beach through the patio doors, as it was well fenced in.

The views at all times of the day are stunning, but the best time is sunset on the balcony with a glass of wine trying spot seals and otters (we saw a seal on our first night).

The Hotel (the lodges are within the Hotel's grounds) has a small but quiet swimming pool, a sauna, and a very good restaurant. The service is friendly and attentive, the staff are happy to recommend dishes and know their stuff about the local food used. The modules mariniere are fantastic, as is the haggis-stuffed chicken with whisky and cream sauce. Very good breakfasts too!

The Hotel is a converted train station with some of the original features preserved sympathetically. It is in a perfect location to explore the area between Fort William and Oban. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel but would consider it if we returned to the area. A lovely setting. We ate in the bar section of the restaurant. It was very busy but staff were friendly and efficient. Food was hot and well presented. My husband enjoyed his chicken and haggis main course so much he didn't want a dessert to spoil the taste! I had scallops and was not disappointed either. The apple and cinnamon crepe was a lovely finish to the meal. Overall a very good dining experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

This was our 5 visit to the Holly Tree and it was great again. For the first time, we even got nice weather! Only disappointment was to be in a Captains Room for the first time. Was surprised at the poor customer care given over the phone before arriving when I checked re the upgrade. Not a problem not having it just being basically accused of lying wasn't nice. This didn't detract for the stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Govan Jaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great value for money. We really enjoyed our stay and wish we'd had longer to make use of the pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2012

just spent three days at the hotel for my fiftieth birthday. I don't know where the negative reviews come from but all I can say is " PERFECT". Food, service, room, views, friendly staff. I can't think of a negative. THANKYOU.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooby98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stunning location,large spacious room and excellent food what more can I say.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshallLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
13.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Property: Holly Tree Hotel
Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Scotland/Kentallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing