We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here with Canadian visitors in October for one night .We were in Lodge six and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.This is not an upmarket lodge or accompanying hotel but it is in a particularly beautiful position and the staff and food are excellent.

The views are simply outstanding and the lodges are cosy and comfortable

I would recommend the Holly Tree hotel for dinner, there is significant mention of the vibrant young team in the reviews and we found this positive feedback to be accurate.

Visit if only for the view and the haddock chowder.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here on September 20th as the Holly Tree was fully booked. We were in Lodge 1 and arrived just in time to have lunch on our veranda overlooking the beautiful Loch. The lodge was equipped with everything we needed and was very comfortable. They are a wee bit dated but we felt that it added charm to the stay. The Holly Tree restaurant was fantastic !!! great service and great food, the duck was fantastic ! The hotel staff were all really friendly and we must point out the lovely girl at the front desk for her help. The pool was very good and also the sauna took away the aches of driving real quick. The hotel and lodges were very clean and the views !!! Wow, just amazing. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveTracy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Set in a fantastic location if it hadn't been for the panoramic views from our balcony then we would have had a grim week in these lodges. On first impression we were disappointed to be met with overflowing wheelie bins which smelt and as the week went on spilled over literally into the car park - there were even dead lobster heads strewn on the ground! We could not park in the car park assigned to the lodges and had to trek from the car park the other side of the hotel which was not ideal with suitcases or in the rain...this continued throughout the week because the cleaners were clearly using the guest car park. The cleaners would also loiter behind the lodges in groups smoking and eating their lunch. Unfortunately things did not improve once inside the lodge and we were suprised to find that the "luxurious lodges" were very tatty, threadbare carpet, poor mattress' and dated furniture. We have stayed in self catering properties for years and this was not cheap and in comparison to places we have stayed previously was a big disappointment. If they were billed as basic lodges and charged at an affordable price then you would not have room to complain but to advertise luxury lodges and charge £550+ is unacceptable. These lodges could be superb and we went away feeling that the owners had not made the most of a fantastic location. On the up side the reception were lovely!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PuffinGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband & i stayed at the lodges to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary having travelled in the area before during our 18 years together, but staying in the lodges at Barcaldene. On arriving, we noticed overflowing large bins, which were the same a week later on our departure. The lodge was in a lovely spot, the last one in a row of 8 being the furthest from the hotel where we collected our key. We had to leave the car about 15 meters away from our lodge (we were told of this before booking) we did not mind this, but having a designated parking spot in the same area for that lodge would be a great guarantee as most days we had to park in the car park the other side of the hotel as unthoughtful people parked so as you only got 3 cars in a space sufficient for 4 cars!in pouring rain its no joke! I felt the lodge could have been cleaner! I found the electric fire in the lounge to be very dusty, the taps in the bathroom dirty & in need of a clean, & the grouting in the shower area could do with re whitening. We found a puddle of baked bean juice in the microwave which was burnt on, i had to sort all these things out as i found the young man behind the desk in the hotel to be dour & not very engaging! The facilities were all adequate enough, but having stayed in a cottage from Crabtree&Crabtree in Northumberland in May, which had L'occitane hand/ body cream and shower wash etc, a few items of essentials e.g tea bags, coffee, salt & pepper, extra toilet rolls etc as standard, for 450 for a week, we felt the £595 paid for the week in the lodge was very steep once we realized what the lodge offered. All in all a lovely if rain soaked week, just a few tweeks here & there it would have been perfect!
N.b we eat at the restaurant on the evening of our anniversary, husband had a lovely big fillet steak & i followed 6 oysters with a seafood platter! Overdoing the oysters i think, as i was poorly all night! So my advice is to stick to 6 oysters max!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cacenwatcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed with our three sons (9 - 14) who are used to Med holidays + was worried they may have been bored/hated the weather. Not a chance. From the minute we arrived at the lodge we knew the holiday was going to be a success. The lodges overlook a small stony beach just perfect for scrambling on, with abundant mussels (the boys collected them every night for our starters) and the view from the large balcony is awesome. We spotted seals and sea eagles. We never tired of sitting out there watching the mountains changing colour through day. Lodges were extremely clean, and the fittings were of good quality - plump sofas and a large size flat screened TV for example. The living area is spacious, the kitchen very well equipped and you can ask for anything else you may need from the staff in the adjacent hotel who will fall over themselves to help you. The bedrooms are a good size - the boys were a bit crammed with a put-me-up but they thought it was cosy. The bathroom is v small, no getting away from it, but hot water was plentiful and shower was v good. The staff were young, extremely helpful, lively and great fun. Example - we bought lobsters one day from Oban and the chef offered to cook them for us and happily lent us a large pan when we said we wanted to do it ourselves. Bring a fishing rod (or buy a cheap one from the shop in Ballachulish) - fishing from the pier became a nightly obsession for all the lodgees - some more successfully than others! The swimming pool attached to the hotel is immaculately clean, never crowded, has a water jet to swim against and a sauna which was v welcome after a day out walking or climbing. Then round up the family for a pre dinner drink on the hotel terrace overlooking the loch and enjoy catching up with the other guests. We didn't eat in the restaurant (just too expensive for all five of us) but was told the food was v good and it was always packed.
Downsides- the bed in our room was comfortable but I hated the plastic backed mattress protector. Bring your own pillow too - they were all hard. Also they allow animals and you can tell. The carpets are quite scratched in places and no amount of cleaning can disguise the smell of recent dog/cat in your bedroom although that did fade over the week.
But apart from those gripes we had a marvellous time. The lodges are in a prime spot to explore some of the most beautiful parts of the Highlands although we also enjoyed just hanging out there. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumofboys_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
0.1 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
4.4 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges

Property: Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges
Address: Kentallen; on the A828 | next to the Holly Tree Hotel, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kentallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Linnhe Waterfront Lodges Scotland/Kentallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing