We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Island View

The beach in front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow The double room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow
The double room
The twin room
The living room
The kitchen
The view from the porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Helen S
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Island View is a spacious, light and airy bungalow, with a well equipped kitchen/diner. The large lounge has a log burner making it very cosy and the views from the large picture window across the bay are stunning. Even though Jura is a small island Craighouse has an excellent pub and Bistro and very well stocked shop. All the Islanders we met were friendly and helpful. The walking , scenery and wildlife are spectacular well worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large comfy lounge with log burner
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
Thank you for your review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your break. It was such a long time in the planning and I'm glad that it was up to your expectations. I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. All the very best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie...
Dalmeny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best ever holiday”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Warm comfortable homely cottage with a fantastic outlook. Jura is beautiful, rugged walking and a lovely long beach. We had spectacular weather, sunshine blue skies and a sparkling sea. The walking was excellent, really rugged in places, spectacular scenery. The water at the beach is clear and clean. We ate out at the hotel in the evening, good food at very reasonable prices.
An excellent holiday well worth the journey.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the front window.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2016
Hi Marjorie!

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that you found Island View to be homely and comfortable. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your review.

Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T
Trelawnyd, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We are still reflecting on the magic of Jura and the wonderful stay we had in Island View. The house was gorgeous - comfortable, cosy, warm and so well equipped. We wanted for nothing - it was a true home from home. The views from the front window were just breathtaking and we were treated to sightings of seals, swans, heron, wild goats, stags and hinds and otters - all on the beach in front of the house! We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy I
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning location”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a week on Jura in late August, The island is wild and beautiful and being able to get so close to the wildlife and the many Red Deer roaming the hills was a real treat. Island View did not disappoint - it's spotlessly clean, cosy and in the most stunning location right by the beach. It's also amazingly well equipped. Craighouse provided everything we needed - great shop, bistro (with super home bakes), hotel and pub serving really good food. A fabulous holiday in all respects!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeeeeeee...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“outstanding”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is really a great house.
a LOT of thought has been put in to whats needed for a holiday rental, small things like a great dvd and book collection when its rainy or midgey! and a home away from home feel.
lovely living room with a view out to sea esp good fro breakfast if sunny.
book this one!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the living room that
Liked least: my single beds matress was a little tired...
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2016
Hello Lee!

This is just to let you know that we have now purchased memory foam mattress toppers for the beds. Thanks for your feedback and comments. I've still yet to make the whisky cake but will get around to it some day! All the best! Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W
Cossall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heaven on your doorstep”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

great location, comfortable and roomy, well equiped with everything you need. Felt at home as soon as we arrived. If you like being close to wildlife whilst being not too far (easily walkable distance) from the pub this is the place for you. Also great village shop, well stocked and not overpriced.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: television in lounge a little small for size of the room.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2016
Hello Martin

Just to let you know that we have now fitted a bigger television in the living room. Thank you for your feedback and review - it is much appreciated. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Island View.

Kind regards

Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic place to relax & chill out!”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Recently returned from a wonderfully relaxing stay at "Island View" on the remote but beautiful Isle of Jura. A lovely holiday home with spacious rooms, cosy log burner (which we enjoyed on one rainy afternoon), well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and the most stunning views from the lounge - we even saw deer on the beach one evening! Loved the decking area at the back of the property where we could relax & enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. Wifi was a welcome extra. The shop, hotel & other amenties were only a short walk away. A real paradise for nature lovers and walkers - with deer, seals, otters, oyster catchers and lots of other wildlife in abundance. A great place to just relax and chill out!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, stunning views, log burner and comfortable bed
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing