We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent value”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Island View

The beach in front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow The double room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow
The double room
The twin room
The living room
The kitchen
The view from the porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very good accommodation with BT wifi access, Sky TV, wood burner in living room, with more than enough wood provided. We were there in winter, but it was warm and cosy due to the electric heaters in each room. Very good location and easy parking. Wood floors throughout were very practical. House is newly decorated and very clean. Would recommend this property as it is exceptionally good value. The best thing was the quick and efficient responsiveness of the owner- admirable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our second trip to Jura and both times we have rented Island View. It is in a wonderful location, clean and has everything you might need during a break. The owners are a pleasure to rent off, friendly, helpful and prompt to respond.

Jura is a wonderful island and the annual music festival is a must! We are looking forward to next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
It's now 2016 and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay at Island View for the annual music festival!

All the best! Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has everything , especially a view! Lovely décor and spotless.
Interesting island -wild and rugged.
Beware the stalking season ( starts July ) when hillwalking
We brought more food from home than we needed- the local shop (1/2 mile away) is very well stocked -

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Everything. It's a lovely, clean holiday home which I would happily recommend.
Liked least: We were there in late October and were unlucky with the weather but that's life!!.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
auchterarder
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Space, comfort and lovely views
Liked least: Hard to name anything, maybe lack of Internet access, but it is only two minutes walk to the Service Point which provides free wi-fi access.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Hi there! It is now 2016 and I've just decided out of curiosity to check back and have found that, not only were you our first guests at Island View (having looked at the house in 2011 whilst it was being refurbished) but your next visit this year will be the 5th time that you have stayed! Many thanks for your custom - we look forward to welcoming you for many more years to come! Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blossom10...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked to stay at Island View almost 12 months before our trip. We wanted to be on the island for the fell race and would be travelling with our two young children, spending the half term holidays there. From the moment of booking, the owner Annie was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and she kept in regular contact with us throughout, even messaging us whilst there to check we had all we needed. The property itself looks right out over the Sound of Jura and we sat each night watching the sun set feeling really lucky to have found such a gem in such an amazing location. The lounge is lovely and cosy and all bedrooms are spacious and clean, The house is tastefully decorated throughout and had all we needed. Two bathrooms was a real bonus. The island itself was amazing and the people we met were all so welcoming. The house in a 5 minute walk to the park and a 5 minute drive to a beautiful beach where we swam in the sea. It's about 25 minutes walk to Craighouse (quicker when not in the company of children!!) along the shore line. I would highly recommend Island View and if you've any doubts still....we've already booked again for next year!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing