We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a stunning, remote location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jura Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Jura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jura Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Certificate of Excellence
Bishopbriggs, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a stunning, remote location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly staff and management. Still being upgraded at the moment, but very comfortable. A little pricy perhaps for an out-of-season single room, but a quality place to stay nonetheless. The location is ideal for exploring Jura, as it is centrally located and set in the only village on the island. The bar is cozy, well stocked and friendly, which is just as well, as there is no other bar on the island! If you like "remote", then Jura is a truly magical place, and the Jura Hotel is an ideal base.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfaetrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    91
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
155
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

The perfect place to get away from it all. Amazing food which is sourced locally where possible.

We were made to feel so welcome it was like being part of the family. Where else are you told to bring your slippers and make yourself at home? Dog friendly.

Owners will be refurbishing the hotel which is starting to look a little tired. Already vastly improved by the exterior coat of paint.

Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We spent New Year at the Jura Hotel and could not fault the warmth of the welcome or the efforts that were made to make us comfortable. The companionship of our fellow travellers and the interesting activities laid on by the hotel managers made this the best New Year ever. We cannot fault the efforts made by the staff. I have never enjoyed so much free malt! Jura is a very special place. 10/10. Recommended for all those of us who find New Year's Eve a depressing time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Over the last few years we have regularly made the trip over from Islay with visiting friends and family to have day out on Jura and treat ourselves to lunch in the Jura Hotel. We went over a couple of times this summer and were disappointed with the slow service and lack of atmosphere. The last two times we were over we had to wait over 45 minutes for our lunch (basic bar food) and that was once the barmaid actually appeared to take our order! There seem to be a lot less locals working here too and the guy behind the bar wasn't able to answer basic questions about the island being asked by some tourist. Luckily we were on hand to help.

Overall we're disappointed that what has been a great hotel for many years seems to be losing it's touch under new ownership. Hopefully it's just a case of the new owners finding their feet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslayFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

This was our first trip to Jura and we stayed for four nights which gave us enough time to do some walking, drive up and down the island on the single track road, visit the local whisky distillery next door to the hotel, lunch at the nearby Antler's restaurant and take a day trip to Islay . The hotel has stunning views over the bay and our rooms were situated at the front of the hotel overlooking the harbour. Our room was spacious and classed as a family suite which included a double bed, extra single bed and large en suite bathroom.
Our daughter had a small single room with en suite shower which was adequate. The smaller rooms are due to be redesigned as part of the new owners refurbishment plans. We spent time in the residents lounge talking with other guests. There is a separate TV lounge with good reception for terrestial channels .
The track leading from the end of the main road to the north of the island is easy walking and an 8 mile return trip allowing a view if the remote cottage where George Orwell wrote 1984. Next time we will go further and do the 16 mile return trip to the whirlpool at Corryvreckan and also climb one of the Paps. Lots for birdwatchers to see and the red deer looked magnificent.
Breakfasts were good with a genuinely freshly cooked hot food option. Evening meals were done in an unfussy home cooked style ( best steak pie ever) with tempting daily special choices....scallops and duck much appreciated.
The staff made us feel very welcome and there was a pleasant relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.
Look forward to returning and seeing more of this inspirational island.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyretriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

We had afantastic week at the hotel from the12th to the 18th of September.Whilst We agree that the rooms were a little tired this is well recognised by the current owners who have great plans for the hotel. Everything else was brilliant. Food and service excellent- it is an idyllic place for a quiet outdoor holiday.We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves walking visiting the local sites and enjoying the wildlife.There are few places where you can watch an otter playing whilst having breakfast! We will definately be back. Good luck to Cath and Andy

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwduffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is the only hotel on Jura and the current owners only took it over recently and have good plans for it (although I don't envy them their task). Rooms are comfortable and clean. Rooms will be refurbished soon (the outside of the hotel has already had a good revamp) and once that is done it is likely that the hotel can move up a rating because it is already ideal in terms of the welcome and the service. It is also on an enviable spot next to the water and ideal for walkers, boaters and those just looking for some peace and quiet that island life brings. Breakfast is good and freshly cooked to order. Lunch and evening meals are served in the bar and the restaurant and there is a good choice of traditional fare.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuvetDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Jura
21.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
20.0 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
23.9 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
21.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jura Hotel

Property: Jura Hotel
Address: Craighouse, PA60 7XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Jura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jura Hotel is the perfect spot from which to explore the magical island of Jura, in the Inner Hebrides off the west coast of Scotland. The hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There are two comfortable lounges for guests' use; free wifi for hotel residents; a restaurant & lounge bar serving great meals based on local produce and at reasonable prices; and a lively bar, which is the island's only pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jura Hotel Isle Of Jura, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing