We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal accommodation after a tough day on the Paps.”
Review of Jura Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Jura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jura Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a sea facing room with two windows looking onto a fabulous view. The room was a good size with modern en suite and a very comfortable double bed, together with a settee so we could sit and enjoy that view. We enjoyed the comfortable public bar, residents lounge, dining room and drying room facility. The staff were friendly and efficient, and the dinner and breakfast delicious and reasonably priced. Our trip had been delayed for a day due to bad weather and a missed ferry so we only had one night at the hotel, but the location and comfort will ensure we return within a year or two.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bewildered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 358 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent two nights here and really enjoyed the stay. Rooms were suprisingly impressive with recently rennovated bathrooms and very comfortable beds. View from our room and from the front door of the hotel were awesome! Food was fantastic and considering the minimal staff, service was good. I would recommend you take a look at the dinner menu early and place your order in advance if possible as some items on the menu will be depleted quickly. Remember, you're on an island and everything is not readily available in mass quantity.
This is a great place to just get away and enjoy the peace and quiet that the island offers. For an island there is much to do. Bikes are available for hire and there are plenty of places accessable by foot. The house where George Orwell wrote 1984 (Barnhill) is at one end of the island and is a bit of a hike. The Paps of Jura are an all day adventure and the Jura distillery across from the hotel is a gem as well. Excellent distiller of my favorite single malt whisky (visiting the distillery is what brought me to the island).
If your stuck indoors due to inclimate weather, the hotel bar, sitting room and TV lounge are most accomodating and there is a collection of paperbacks on the bookshelf in the sitting room.
All in all a very nice visit.
Hats off to the owners - Andy and Catherine. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Getting to Jura can be challenging. Two ferries if you come via auto. Ferries book up so plan well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I had a 3 night Island break whilst up at our holiday home in Scotland. The first two hotels had AA Rosettes and our third night was here at The Jura Hotel. The food was much better than our first 2 nights away, and I was delighted when the chef kindly let me have his recipe for the most delicious whisky sauce (via Mark, our friendly and efficient waiter that evening, who brought me the hand-written note from the kitchen). The Jura Distillery is situated just behind the hotel, and the guided tour is excellent. It's my husband's favourite single malt and was the whole reason for our trip to Jura. As it says on the box "Jura is, quite simply, in a world of its own". With comfortable rooms offering views of the surrounding spectacular scenery and welcoming hospitality, this hotel is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycouple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend stay here and everything was as good as could be hoped for - lovely room with en-suite and cot, good food, great views, very welcoming and attentive staff and locals.

It was nice to stay somewhere that the owners (Andy, Catherine and little Rudy) are hands on and cannot do enough to make sure that your stay is memorable for all the right reasons, as well as their many staff.

The island is also beautiful and easily explored on bikes (hired there) or walking. Maybe next time we will attempt one of the Paps of Jura.

We spent the majority of our visit outside, however, the choice of Lounge, Bar, Dining Room, Drawing Room and TV Room meant that you would always have a bit of space and something to do outside of your room.

We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a tour of the Jura whisky distillery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay, with possibly the best views from any hotel we've stayed in! Our room was small (we were warned it would be) but perfectly fine and had all been refurbished recently by the look of it. Dinner was excellent and the whole feel of the place was really lovely. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

When my husband and I got married we overlooked the sound of Jura and had the Paps of Jura as a backdrop to many of our wedding photographs. Consequently there was only one place to go to for our first wedding anniversary!!! Our stay at The Jura Hotel was absolutely perfect. The views from the lounge and restaurant were beautiful - and on a clear day you could just about make out the red roof and the white building of Crear, where we got married. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home immediately. The bedrooms are tastefully and simply done with some Scottish themed cushions which were fab! The food was consistently excellent and offered a great choice especially with the specials of the day. I would highly recommend this lovely Hotel and cannot wait to visit Jura and stay at the Hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just returned from a short break on the Isle of Jura where The Jura Hotel very much exceeded our expectations. Great views from the hotel lounge and a warm welcome from the staff made it very easy to switch off and relax. Our clean, spacious, tastefully modern room was ideal. The lunch and dinner menus had a great blend of classic dishes and local produce all at reasonable prices. Simple, no nonsense food cooked consistently well. The relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel and the attentiveness of the staff made our stay all the more enjoyable. The drinks selection at the bar was also extensive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Jura
12.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
53 reviews
17.8 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
281 reviews
21.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
189 reviews
20.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
460 reviews
20.0 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jura Hotel

Address: Craighouse, PA60 7XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Jura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Price Range: $53 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jura Hotel is the perfect spot from which to explore the magical island of Jura, in the Inner Hebrides off the west coast of Scotland. The hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There are two comfortable lounges for guests' use; free wifi for hotel residents; a restaurant & lounge bar serving great meals based on local produce and at reasonable prices; and a lively bar, which is the island's only pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jura Hotel Isle Of Jura, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing