We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing basic hotel comforts”
Review of Ashbank Hotel

Ashbank Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Carradale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We don't understand the good reviews for this hotel. Be aware that this is really a B&B, an average one, charging hotel prices while missing basic hotel comforts as follows: grey seen-better-days towels, no toiletries apart from a tube of handwash, no biscuits with the tea/coffee, television with indoor aerial showing 3 fuzzy channels, no wifi, no guest lounge to escape from the bedrooms. Our bedrooms had cruddy heaters and carpets and a lingering damp smell. We can't commemt on the food as we didn't eat there apart from breakfast, which was a good one. If they made these changes and opened up a classy lounge, this could be a a lot better. Not recommended for more than one night,

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Starbuck_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed here with our miniature schnauzer for two enjoyable evenings as part of a tour of the West Coast of Scotland. Made to feel very welcome although the bedroom was a little on the small side but offset by the excellent evening meal and hearty breakfast.
A good place to stay for touring Kintyre and would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiganMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Friendly, welcoming, clean and tidy. Good food at reasonable prices. The hotel is much like the village it is in where total strangers say hello and pass the time of day with you. Very pleasing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjimcanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

What a really lovely little hotel this is. We arrived totally on spec, on a Saturday afternoon, with not alot of options in the area for accomodation, and the owner could not have been more helpful. She re-arranged beds and rooms and while we were having our evening meal ( even a half an hour after the kitchen had closed and food had finished ) our rooms were prepared. The kids loved it, especially the resident cat, we all slept sound, and had a great hearty breakfast the next morning, before we traveled onwards.
A couple of guests provided the Sat night entertainment, and we all had a sing song.
A short walk to Carradale beach , to walk off the breakfast, and therev is also the golf course 200 yards away.

A truly delightful little hotel in a beautiful wee part of kintyre... A must see !!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Have never been to this part of Scotland before and when we arrived we weren't too sure what to expect!
Fiona and Tracy are the best hosts you could ever wish for...they are pleasant well mannered and Fiona is every mans dream wife...(A whizz in the kitchen)
Nothing is too much bother for them...
Please don't hesitate to book if you are like us...Hard workers that wanted to switch off and be spoiled!!!
Go to the Ashbank!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim-mckinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Had a fabulous time at the Ashbank, weather could have been better, but hosts Tracy and Fiona were excellent, with advise on days out and things to do and see. The book on Kintyre which they lent us for the day really helped us discover the area. We stayed in a double room at the front of the hotel, it was very comforable not sure if it was all the fresh air or the bed but we both had the best nights sleep we have had in ages. Room was lovely and clean. We ate in the restaurant for the whole stay, the food was great though too many nice deserts for someone watching their weight. I would recomend the Steak Pie and the Sticky Toffee Pudding, delicious. Carradale is lovely little village, its like stepping back in time people are very friendly and I will definatly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hairy-Biker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My friends and I stayed for 1 night in The Ashbank. Wish we could have made the stay longer. Excellent, family run hotel. The bedroom I was in (Number 1) had stunning views of the golf course and the sea beyond. Bedroom was very comfortable. Weather was fantastic too! Food/drink was super. Tracy was really helpful and made our stay very relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carradale
8.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carradale Hotel
Carradale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carradale
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochpark House B&B
Lochpark House B&B
#1 of 5 in Carradale
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunvalanree
Dunvalanree
#3 of 5 in Carradale
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbank Hotel

Address: Airds, Carradale PA28 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carradale
Price Range: $96 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashbank is a small family owned and run hotel in the picturesque fishing village of Carradale on the east coast of the quiet and unique Kintyre Peninsula, with views across Kilbrannan Sound to Arran and Ailsa Craig. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbank Hotel Carradale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing