We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden cliff edge eatery”
Review of The Green Room - CLOSED

The Green Room
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For the last two years The Green Room has been a unique spring and summer tea room that offers visitors Carradale's two greatest gifts - traditional hospitality and stunning views. Now Heather, our manager, is moving on to see the world so the tea room will close on the 16th September. From October 3rd 2014 The Green Room will be available as a self-catering holiday let. See the web site for details. The Green Room is perched on a cliff by Carradale harbour and looks across the Kilbrannan Sound to a panoramic view of the Isle of Arran. In the foreground below lies Eilean Carrach, a small island resting place for gulls, cormorants, oyster catchers, and shags. Seals and wild goats are frequent visitors and now and then an otter can be seen. Dolphins and Minke whales occasionally pass by and, when mackerel gather, gannets put on their astounding diving displays. We keep binoculars at hand for a better view. Or you can watch the fishing boats coming in and out of the harbour, passing yachts, or even a submarine. All this action takes place within the vast kaleidoscope of Scottish weather, the chief subject of William McTaggart's Carradale paintings.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hidden cliff edge eatery”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Panoramic views across to Arran and surrounds from the conservatory whilst enjoying an interesting, home made lunch menu for my Dad's birthday including delicious lemon drizzle cake specially made by Heather a delightful hostess, who readily accommodated last minute change of booking.
Take the time to leave the beaten track to experience this interesting venue. It has much to offer beyond a typical eatery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davinasully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Well worth the small detour off the B842 on the east side of Kintyre to Carradale harbour. Friendly welcoming staff, good food and drink and amazing views from the cliff top observatory over to Arran and beyond. Wouldn't hesitate to return if we are in the area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossgates, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lost in Time”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Amazing glass conservatory to watch the stunning views, spent few hours here watching seals & various birdlife,. Staff and snacks very good, grandaughter loved the crocquet lawn, amazing cliff views if you follow the path taking us to quiet beach! Cant wait 'til July!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Scones with a view”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a smashing place. A quirky building with sea views on one side and garden birds on the other. A warm welcome from Heather and the fantastic aroma of home cooking and baking. Great coffee too! If you are in the area drop in you will not be disappointed. Even learned some new words from the grandson of the owner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldgreyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“what a great quirky cafe whether you like birds or not!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were staying in Argyll and took a trip with 2 friends to Skipness Castle and Carradale, After enjoying wonderful views of the isles we came into Carradale looking forward to some refreshment. We found the Green Room right away tho' it's tucked away up a driveway in the village not far from the little quayside - and it was like finding a little lost, quirky world.

There was a pretty garden, a gate to the cliffs with a great view, a croquet lawn and seats and tables scattered about. Inside, there were different rooms where you could sit to have drinks and food, a plain room downstairs but with a good sea view and a large room upstairs, delightfully comfy with bookshelves, a green velvet couch, and backgammon and chessboards on some of the tables - and again the ubiquitous sea views.

There was, leading from the kitchen and counter where you give your order, a great glass covered viewing platform with huge standing binoculars to view the birds in flight and on the rocks below. Indeed, every room has small binoculars on windowsills and tables - even the loo.

The food was very good - there had been a large group in before us and we were late for lunch and there was no salad left, but we had a selection of delicious rolls - egg mayo and bacon - gorgeous yellow split pea soup/fresh rolls and butter. I had baked potato with cheese and coleslaw: I think I was the least satisfied as my potato was oddly waxy but the cheese was delicious Kintyre cheddar and the coleslaw home made and very good. We also enjoyed well made coffee and teas.
Two friends indulged in home made cakes: one had a rock cake with icing and the other a cake called 'the heavy stuff' which was essentially fudge with chocolate on top. Both licked their lips and looked as if they wanted to order another one each, but restrained themselves as those of us who couldn't indulge had suffered enough.

This is a great place in a beautiful setting and well worth a visit. I didn't check the opening times or if they do dinner as well as snacks and lunches but check out their website and if you're in this area don't miss it. On a sunny day it'd be a little slice of paradise and if you're a birdwatcher who likes cake, then it's definitely paradise times 2

A hint: there's not much parking near the Green Room (2-3 spaces at most), but there is plenty of parking at the quayside and it's probably best to park there as long as you're mobile. A walk up the hill would sharpen the appetite very well and work off stiffness after long car trips . . .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Room also viewed

Carradale, Argyll and Bute
Carradale, Argyll and Bute
 
Carradale, Argyll and Bute
Carradale, Argyll and Bute
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing