We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost as well sleeping outside.”
Review of Carradale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carradale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Carradale B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost as well sleeping outside.”
Reviewed January 15, 2009

I've stayed at the Carradale Hotel now twice in the past 2 months through work and I can definately say I will never go again....in fact i feel pretty stupid for returning the second time.

Sure, the place has seen better days and certainly could use some refurbishment, but my main gripe is how very very cold the place is.
I stayed in December and again in January and both times i slept in my jeans, a t-shirt, a jumper and even a fleece!
The second time we turned up at the hotel at 3 in the afternoon and the person we eventually found to open up for us said the heating was just on.
2 hours later the radiators were still stone cold and i was sitting with 2 duvets over me, fully clothed shivering whilst reading a book (the tv reception is pretty poor.)

We went into Campletown for dinner and when we returned about 7, the rooms were still sub zero.
When we complained we were told the heating was on but they would put it up even more.
I don't know if this was a problem with ancient pipes or if the owners in the bar were warm enough and didn't feel the cold .

An hour later we had to demand a plug in heater as the rooms were still freezing.
Eventually around 2am, i felt heat coming out the radiator!!!
That's 11 hours after our arrival.

Maybe this place is ok in the summer if your a golfer or looking for a base to explore from, but i would advise against it.
I'm due another visit to Carradale in the next few weeks and I know without a doubt i will refuse to use this hotel again.

To offer a degree of fairness, the cooked breakfast was fine and the staff pleasant enough.

  • Liked — Location to where I was working.
  • Disliked — The lack of heating and the speed of resolving the situation.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Everything_Flows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
14
45
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

The proprietor is downright rude and inconsiderate. The hotel needs new ownership, management and refurbishiment .

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeddyBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

If you are used to staying in run of the mill hotels then you will rate the Carradale highly. Anyone who has stayed in a well run hotel will be unlikely to rate it so highly.

Its impossible to say that the hotel doesn't need money spending on it, the paint work and external walls are really poor and the internal decor neither matches and takes you back in a time warp

Rooms are very average - no evidence of home baking with the tea and coffee making facilities as the website promises.

Service in the restaurant and bar is haphazard, spotted a lot of people having to ask for the basics e.g. cutlery, cups to go with tea, ice cream to go with desserts etc.

Food is OK but it's not brilliant.

Have never stayed anywhere, where the reception is virtually unmanned 24/7.

Information packs in the rooms are wrong, e.g. says you can hire a bike but you can't.

Considering the location and great garden this hotel could deliver on so much more but it doesn't.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdenBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

we returned to the carradale in January this year, again on a last min urge but this time using the laterooms website (well worth it, some great deals to be had). We stayed just one night, but had a lovely big room overlooking the garden towards the sea and arran. The weather was thrashing it at night so stayed in infront of pub fire for a couple of drinks befor dinner.When we went through for dinner we were the only ones there (stupid enough to brave the weather!) They had set up a table at the top of the lounge and the whole room was covered in candles, with the big open fire roaring-our own private dinning room! Can also recommend the pottery in campbeltown, convieniently placed beside the whisky shop on longrow, a must for that wee something to take home! We will be back.

  • Liked — personal service, attention to detail,great food and warm and cosy atmosphere
  • Disliked — the weather at night, but that's scotland in january for you!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elliott_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed at the Carradale this August on a cheap deal and had a wonderful and relaxing time. Greeted by the owners son, who took our bags to our room and made us a lovely pot of complimentary tea when we had settled in, which we needed after the long single track to the village! He is also responsible for the wonderful flowers, candles and incense which all added greatly to the our break- its these small attentions to detail that really count. We had a fantastic bar meal in the candlelit conservatory, (which has a great large deck attached for us smokers!) I started with langoustines and followed with a lovely poached haddock special, tip-top! Afterwards we headed to the cruban which was buzzing with locals and tourists alike, a few games of pool, a few malts and many a 'gossip' with the local fishermen, we finally made it up to bed before closing! Breakfast was a joy as well, with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on the go. After check out we hung about for lunch on the deck then reluctanly headed off down to Campbeltown and back up to Oban...Its strange how only 1night can completely relax and destress you when you are with the right company and a lovely hotel and such picturesque surroundings.

  • Liked — the attention to details, the great food and the HUGE chill out factor
  • Disliked — having to leave the next day!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fuzzybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Having stayed in self catering accommodation in Carradale many years ago we decided to return to this beautiful part of Scotland and stay in it's largest hotel. Carradale Hotel is a very average 3 star, the owners have been there for 15 years and obviously feel they need do nothing to attract new custom. I can only assume they rely on the returning custom of golfers. We decided to have a meal in the dining room on the first night. Marcus is the life and soul in the dining room and is very attentive - provided you are a local or play golf. He paid us no attention whatsoever, which made for quite an uncomfortable experience for us as we felt very much the outsiders. On the second night we ventured out and had a very good curry(!) in Cambeltown- well worth the 30min journey. The room was clean but in need of a facelift - it obviously hadn't been decorated for several years.. We will not be returning to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.
We would however definitely return to this area, the beach at Carradale is beautiful and never busy. We can also highly recommend a day trip to the peaceful Isle of Gigha - hire a bike when you get there, the island is only 6miles in length; and the scenery is stunning.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The unfriendly owner
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trueblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2005

The Carradale hotel is a beautifully located small hotel in the centre of the village. It boasts a nine hole links golf course and is a stone's throw from a beautiful sandy beach.

The food is of excellent standard and very good value especially the locally landed sea food.

The Cruban bar attached is the heart and soul of Carradale and is very lively at the weekend but busy and very friendly most nights.

This is an absolutely lovely little village hotel and full of character.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank vodkaredbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carradale
0.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbank Hotel
Ashbank Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carradale
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochpark House B&B
Lochpark House B&B
#2 of 6 in Carradale
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunvalanree
Dunvalanree
#1 of 6 in Carradale
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carradale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carradale Hotel

Property: Carradale Hotel
Address: The Carradale Hotel | Carradale East, Carradale PA28 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carradale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carradale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated inn surrounded by beautiful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Carradale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carradale Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing