We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hidden jewel of Kintyre”
Review of Torrisdale Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carradale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torrisdale Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I am almost selfishly reluctant to write this review as in doing so will mean that we have to share this little haven that we have found.. We had the pleasure of staying in Garden Cottage at the end of April.. The communication and directions from the owners were excellent and even tho we arrived late at night we had no problem finding Garden Cottage at all.. The cottage had been sympathetically restored to retain many original features but in addition was modern, immaculate, comfortable and well proportioned for a couple.. After a comfortable sleep in the king size bed, we awoke the next morning to the sound of bird song and the sun streaming through the original wooden shutters in this beautifully renovated little cottage.. Outside the flowers and trees were coming into bloom and the the only sound was that of mother nature.. After having breakfast in the garden we fired up the Eco hot tub with the wood provided and hoped it was as easy as it seemed to heat the water.. We had a short walk round the estate and then took a drive to Carradale where we had coffee and delicious home baking at the tea room and had a wander round the local craft fair picking up delicious, local home made jams and chutneys and hand made organic soaps and toiletries.. We returned to Torrisdale and wandered down to the Estates private beach.. We sat on the beautiful shore in the sunshine and the only company we had were the seals who were basking under the same sun as ourselves.. We then headed back to the little haven that is Garden Cottage and as promised, the hot tub was ready and waiting for us.. After lunch we got into the warm water and only moved to top up our glasses or put another piece of wood in.. It was a truly theraputic experience to be outside surrounded by nature in a hot tub in this beautiful location.. The evening was spent chatting and listening to music under the stars and then in front of the cosy log burning stove in the lounge when the night air became a little chilly.. Again after a wonderful sleep we had breakfast the next morning and reluctantly left this little cottage, touring round the many beautiful villages and beaches in the stunning Kintyre peninsula before heading home totally refreshed and relaxed... Torrisdale is a beautiful estate with a wonderful Eco ethos which truly makes you feel at one with nature.. The other accommodations looks of a similar high standard with plenty of open grassy areas for children to safely play and explore and and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody for either a short break or a longer holiday.. We will certainly be back to this little spot of tranquility we found :))

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sio1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you very much for the fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and look forward to seeing you again! Not much more I can say after that!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Torrisdale Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Last week we spent a week at the Lephincorrach Farmhouse at Torrisdale Castle Estate, we had a great time but one or two things would have just made it very special and that is the reason for not giving it five Stars. We weren't in the door before we were welcomed to Torrisdale which was lovely and was a good start, but, we arrived on a cold, wet evening and although the storage heaters were on in the farmhouse it was very cold, not good when we had elderly parents with us. It took several days to get the place to a comfortable temperature for them which meant that they spent most of the time in front of the wood burner in the living room. That said once it was warm it stayed warm. The farmhouse is well laid out, basic but comfortable. Having three toilets/bathrooms is a great advantage when there is a large party. The stairs to the upstairs bedrooms are steep and treads narrow but otherwise the other bedrooms, bathrooms and the living room are downstairs. The large farmhouse kitchen and dining room are adjoined and there is plenty of cooking utensils and crockery although mugs were on the short side! The estate is a great place for exploring and walking. The views from up the hill are outstanding and we visited the beach most days to watch the seals at play. This is a working estate/farm and the roads are rough which certainly would be better if using a jeep or 4x4. Part of the deal was to plant a tree and we had planned to pay to plant one each but we didn't see anyone after the first night despite being told someone would call to see us!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank fhmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We are so sorry you didn't have the perfect break with us. Unfortunately regarding the trees, because it was early in the season we were waiting for another batch to be delivered and they only arrived on the Thursday before you left. I personally came to see if anyone was at the property on the Friday but unfortunately you were all out enjoying the sun (which made an appearance!). As I have suggested in an email to you, we will plant one for every person in your party and send certificates to you - free of charge of course!

The roads aren't actually that bad at all, however have slightly suffered due to the unprecedented level of rainfall we have had over the winter. It has been the wettest on record, and as a result they can take a battering. However they are regularly maintained, and are more than suitable for normal vehicles which most people have who live on the estate.

Noted regarding the mugs! More have been put in the property.

Hopefully we will see you again, and we will make sure your trees live long!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in Crossaig which is one of the flats within the Castle. The surroundings are magnificent and there's even a charming Estate Ranger to help you with all aspects of the local walks and wildlife. The flat was very clean and quiet and the other cottages on the estate looked very nice as well. There's a good local shop and hotel bar in Carradale which is just a couple of miles away. All in all a very relaxing holiday with plenty to do and see including trips to the surrounding islands by ferry, some of which you can take the car or just walk or cycle as you want.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind response and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Castle. It is also good to hear that you managed to get out and see some the islands - Kintyre really is an excellent base for exploring beyond just the immediate area, with Gigha, Arran, Sanda and Ballycastle all within easy reach! The introduction of Hannah as Ranger has been a big hit with our customers and hopefully she will be back next year when hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Overall our stay in Tangy castle apartment was great. When we arrived the apartment was very clean and tidy, even a pint of milk and tea bags for a drink, which is a nice touch.

Even though the furniture is not modern, it fits in with the status of the building and lends itself to the holiday even more. There was a great personal touch of having a Scooby Doo DVD for children. It was a Loch Ness Monster one, which shows the attention to detail the owners have gone to.


The grounds of the castle itself are very well kept and there are numerous walks around the grounds. We even took the children on a 'midnight' walk on one of the tracks.

The tree planting which was included in our stay added a great touch and Hannah was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and the tree itself.


The electric cost at the end of the holiday was nominal and it is great there are laundry facilities, we won't need to bring as many clothes next time!

We would recommend this venue for staying at if you want to visit the rural highlands of Scotland whether you are a family, couple or just looking for some relaxation. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Hello and thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you again. We are going to be undertaking a big refurbishment of the apartments during this coming winter so lots of changes! The tree planting has gone down well with all our guests - so much so we are now running out of space to plant them all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have just stayed at South Lodge and were very unhappy with this property.It was supposed to have no stairs but to get to the meter we were told that it was half way down the cellar stairs. There was no handrail so that was impossible. Also there were steps to the front door. The place had a terrible smell and the bedroom was dark and damp. The picture of this room on the web site must have been highly illuminated as the actual room bears no resemblance to it. The TV screen was so small that we were completely unable to enjoy the olympics.( I saw the coronation in 1953 on one this size). To even see the television one of us had to sit on an upright dining chair and we had to move the other chair. The sofa was old and tatty and the matress very uncomfortable. There seemed to be no smoke alarm.
We have stayed in hundreds of self catering properties and this was by far the worst.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank readingpoppiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The cottage has in fact just been refurbished and this is the first bad review we have had so we will of course take your comments on board and look at ways to further improve our properties. With regards to the stairs - yes, the electricity meter is located on the basement stairs, and unfortunately there is nothing that can be done about this location. I understand that someone from the castle kindly put coins into the meter so you didn't have to fill the meter yourselves, and in turn, use the stairs. The meter is located at a good height to fill it, and the stairs are very safe. In connection with the steps to the front door, if prior to booking you had asked about any stairs then we would have of course told you about these two very small steps - unfortunately I can find no mention of any acccess problems on your booking form. You mention a photo on our website, and indeed the main image of the cottage on the website clearly shows that there are two steps up to the front door. In terms of the 'terrible smell' you mention, certainly it was not noticed by any of the cleaning staff who cleaned the property the morning you moved in. With a high number of guests and therefore changeovers, given how popular the cottage is, it is sometimes difficult to get rid of any cooking odours left by previous occupants in the few hours we have to get the cottage ready. On this occasion there was no smell. You mention the bedroom being dark - the cottage is B Listed, and the bedroom windows are lovely gothic arched windows, inkeeping with the architecture on the estate. The room also looks out on to a beautiful area of woodland. I am afraid that the only way to make the room lighter would be to fell some large beech trees or to replace the windows with something entirely out of context which we are prohibited from doing so! The room is not dark, but perhaps in contrast to the large picture window in the living room with views to the sea, it would appear to be darker, relatively speaking. I can assure you that the photo on the website is exactly the same as the room is now! There is certainly no damp either. I am sorry you found the TV small. We feel the size is adequate for the property, however will look to replace this if we receive any further complaints from future guests. With regards to the sofa, it is not 'old and tatty' - the covers were replaced in May of this year and have certainly not become tatty since then! I am also sorry you found the mattress uncomfortable - if you had said at the time of your stay, we could have replaced this immediately with a spare one, and have now done so. There is indeed a smoke alarm, as we comply with all regulations. Once again, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and we would have been more than happy to sort out any problems during it if you had mentioned these at the time. We hope you had a safe trip home and would of course welcome you back at Torrisdale again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Highly recommend this for a relaxing break surrounded by beautiful scenery in a unique setting!
We visited to join our friends who had their wedding at the castle on 4th June 2012 - the 1st wedding held at the estate! We stayed in the Killean Holiday Apartment which is on the ground floor within the castle. Killean is a very large apartment with a traditional decor - the owners have plans to modernise and update the interior within all of the castle apartments.
The wedding at the castle was perfect - cannot say I would have noticed that they haven't done this before - very professional and everything appeared to have gone to plan. The weather was good for us thankfully and made our stay all the more enjoyable. The beach is only a stroll away with a larger beach in Carradale itself approximately 5 mins drive away. There is a Tesco in Cambeltown about 12miles away to stock up. There is a small shop with bakery in Carradale.
All in all would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Killean is the larger apartment with bigger sitting area
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRICKSTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thanks for the great review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay! Everything went very well, and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. You rightly mention the size of the apartments - whilst all have two bedrooms, they are pretty huge, especially Killean. And yes, plans already underway for a quick facelift over the winter - new kitchen, bathroom, furniture and decor - we may even go for four stars instead of three, but let's see!! You are all welcome back any time. Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I can recommend Torrisdale estate for anyone wanting to enjoy a relaxing time with family and friends or couples, there is somthing for everyone. We have been on holiday here for many years in all seasons. Our 3 year old daughter loves it wether it's walking around the estate in her wellies and spotting wildlife or splashing in the water down on the beach she couldn't be happier. We have stayed in all of the properties and all are clean and comfortable with everything that you would need. We stayed in Garden cottage before and after our wedding. it's an idilic cottage in a lovely spot with a wonderful eco hot tub thats great for relaxing with a glass of bubbly at the end of the day.
For anyone that is looking for somwhere to get married and have an intimate ceremony with breathtaking scenery this is the perfect place. The owners, welcomed us and our guests we had a perfect day....

Room Tip: Garden cottage is great for couples eco hot tub excellent. The Farmhose is perfect for groups of fr...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah51Pontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

We are all very grateful that the weather shone for you on your big day! It was also great to see everyone enjoying themselves and that everything went without a hitch. Brilliant! Glad you enjoyed Garden Cottage - the hot tub seems to be a hit with most people who come to stay at the property. See you next time you come, and you are welcome to check on the tree you planted any time - we promise to keep it alive!!! Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carradale
22.5 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.9 mi away
Dunvalanree
Dunvalanree
#2 of 6 in Carradale
157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lochpark House B&B
Lochpark House B&B
#1 of 6 in Carradale
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ashbank Hotel
Ashbank Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carradale
85 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
291 reviews
8.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrisdale Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrisdale Castle

Address: Torrisdale | By Carradale, Kintyre, Carradale PA28 6QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carradale
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrisdale Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb range of self-catering properties on Kintyre's east coast provide accommodation for groups of between 2 and 10 people. The estate offers the perfect opportunity to experience the comforts of modern day living whilst relaxing within a stunning and stress-free environment. Breaks are available for a minimum of 3 nights throughout the year.We are also embracing green technology, and have installed a biomass boiler to serve several properties on the estate, and a small hydro scheme which will generate enough electricity for 90 houses. In addition, our innovative tree planting scheme allows you, as our guest, to plant a tree for every holiday taken. Within the ground floor of the castle is a beautifully furnished self-catering apartment and set within the peaceful wooded grounds are a further four superb cottages and houses.The Kintyre Way passes through the estate, which is an ideal base for those looking to complete the long distance walk in individual stretches, being almost halfway on the 87 mile route.Of special interest at Torrisdale is the organic tannery, specialising in natural coloured sheepskins and deer skins using an ancient tanning method to produce a superior skin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torrisdale Castle Carradale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing