We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thistle House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Cairndow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great location and very nice place with fantastic hosts. The rooms are very well kept and the breakfast is delicious. It's also very well located to explore argyl area. Definitely will come back or recommend !!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lolo of London S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Excellent location, good view of the Inveraray Castle (and of Inveraray itself), kind hosts and a to-die-for sumptuous breakfast - if this not satisfy you, then you better look out for accommodations at the Buckingham Palace!!!!

The house itself is well-maintained, and a personification of cleanliness. The hosts have gone to great lengths in creating a welcoming atmosphere and very commendable that they have the heart to open up such a beautiful home to others.

The restaurants might not be too close, but a short drive does lead to excellent ones. The hosts, Alistair and Jennifer, were most helpful in providing information about not just the restaurants, but also the must-see things around the area.

Our stay was for 1 day, but we wish it was longer. Looking forward to returning there soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors that face the lake / Inveraray - those are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raokaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed in early May with my bf and my relative, enjoyed everything! Very nice place to stay, nice rooms (Fergus suite, 2 rooms with shared bathroom), magnificent view from the lounge, very quiet, nice green area around for walks. Quality food for breakfast a la carte, friendly and helpful personnel! We spent just 1 night and we want to return again!!! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnyZ_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Beautiful location, beautiful house, wonderful breakfasts and lovely comfortable room. Jennifer & Alistair are extremely friendly helpful hosts who run a lovely guest house.

We would recommend this venue for anyone wanting a quite location for a base to visit The Highlands. A must is also to visit the Lochfyne Oyster restaurant and nearby brewery with adjoining bar.

Sadly there are no local cab companies to enable you to have more than a modest tipple though!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Extremely friendly and helpful hosts Jennifer and Alistair. We stayed for one night but if it hadn't been for work commitments would have stayed for another. The bedroom was luxurious with stunning views the bed being oh so comfortable. Everything but everything is how you would want it, I highly recommend a stay here, next time we will be there for several days.

Room Tip: Call direct to discuss rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay and the Thistle, the room was beautiful and clean,very luxurious and the location is so tranquil and magical. Breakfast were of a high quality and the choice each morning certainly filled you up for the day ahead.
Would certainly recommend a visit you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royst1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Room and breakfast superb. Lounge with log fire an absolute gem. Great location with lovely views across Loch Fyne. Had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely go back if visiting the area again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slml1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairndow
1.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,499 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
438 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
11.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,204 reviews
11.4 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House Guest House

Address: St Catherines | Inverary, Cairndow PA25 8AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairndow
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cairndow
Price Range: $113 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle House sits on the shores of Loch Fyne in the small village of St Catherines. Many of our bedrooms overlook the loch over to Inveraray and its castle. We are perfectly situated on the west coast of Scotland to enjoy the wonderful Cowal Peninsula and many west coast islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thistle House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Guest House Cairndow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing