We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thistle House Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thistle House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Cairndow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We chose to have our wedding at the Thistle House and cannot recommend it highly enough. Most of our guests were able to stay on-site in the beautiful rooms. A few stayed at a nearby hotel which was recommended by the owners of the Thistle House. The owners of the thistle house went far beyond what you would expect from a normal B&B. They recommended a local restaurant for the evening before the wedding; they recommended a florist; they bought all the alcohol for the wedding (and helped serve it on the day); and they recommended caterers (and liaised with them to ensure everything went smoothly on the day). They made sure we had everything we needed throughout our stay but in a very discrete way so as not to encroach upon our privacy. The service was outstanding, in particular the breakfasts, and the scenery idyllic.

Anyone looking to have an intimate wedding in Scotland (or even a small get-together in a beautiful setting) - this is an ideal place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCAMAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 277 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2008

A lovely bed and breakfast with good views, beautiful rooms and good hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TortgirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

We spent two nights at this lovely B&B we had a room which over looked Loch Fyne with views of Inverary Castle. The room was lovely, big and very clean. Yvonne made a reservation at the Inver Cottage - one of the best dinners on our trip. Breakfast was very good, Yvonne made a special effort for me as I didn't eat the cooked breakfast.

We didn't want to leave could have stayed there for the rest of our break. We will be back hopefully next year!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lallylassie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serialweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank muiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehouse, Owner at Thistle House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairndow
17.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
1.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,558 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
#2 of 2 in Cairndow
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Halftown Cottages
Halftown Cottages
#1 of 1 in Cairndow
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House Guest House

Address: St Catherines | Inverary, Cairndow PA25 8AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairndow
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cairndow
Price Range: $114 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle House sits on the shores of Loch Fyne in the small village of St Catherines. Many of our bedrooms overlook the loch over to Inveraray and its castle. We are perfectly situated on the west coast of Scotland to enjoy the wonderful Cowal Peninsula and many west coast islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thistle House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Guest House Cairndow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing