We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cairndow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Stagecoach is located in a lovely place with a view over the Loch. There are gardens directly in front of the hotel where you can enjoy a snack or beer and enjoy the scenery. The food in the restaurant is excellent, also breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was in the inn and after reading reviews we were very surprised to be shown to a small room with old furniture. The bathroom was of reasonable size but really needed a revamp as the handy man!!!! who experimented didn't have much of a clue. We still enjoyed our stay there but make sure you get accommodation in the new complex next to the inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairndowinn, Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the Inn and made use of our Lochside Beergarden and that you found the food in the Restaurant and Breakfast excellent. We are glad that you pointed out our friendly and helpful staff, they are a great asset to us. We are aware that some, not many, but some bedrooms/bathrooms are needing an upgrade. I am happy to report that this will be taken care of within our yearly Winter Maintenance/Redecorating schedule. I am also happy to report that last year we redecorated and refurbished more bedrooms and bathrooms than we had planned to. You will also be happy to know that we have a new Handy Man who started with us last week.
We would like to point out to anyone reading this that the main part of the Inn dates back to the late 16th/early 17th Century, we do not claim it to be a modern or up-to-date building and we don’t want it to be, that would spoil the character and charm that all of our return guests and most new guests love about the Inn.

Yours faithfully

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    130
    23
    9
    13
See reviews for
73
174
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilsyth, Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This lovely little inn is sitated scenically on the banks of Loch Fyne. We all enjoyed the friendly welcome from the staff and the pleasant food. The room was comfortable and the view of the loch was superb.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairndowinn, Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Rosie,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found our "lovely little Inn" and enjoyed the friendly welcome from the staff, pleasant food and comfortable room. We are lucky to have this stunning scenery on our doorstep.

Thanks,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Room was OK, nothing stunning, but the bed was excellent. The breakfast was a really nice surprise (it was excellent), one we weren't looking forward to following a very poor evening meal. The Spanish Tapas starter... the chef obviously has no idea of anything Spanish or Tapas and, unfortunately, the rest of the dinner went downhill from there.
All the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful and that made up for the poor evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t0nyn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairndowinn, Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read that you found the bed and breakfast excellent. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your evening dining experience with us, however I do feel that I should point out that the Menu does state "Try our Chefs take on Spanish Style Tapas" indicating that it is our Chefs creation based on that dish, I would also like to point out that the Menu does have a large vegetarian symbol next to the dish, indicating no meat or fish products. I trust that you brought it to a staff members attention that you were not happy with your meal and that they will have taken care of this. If that is not the case, please send me an email at enq@cairndowinn.com so that I am able to look into this for you.
I hope that this will not stop you returning to the Inn one day so that we can change your mind on our evening dining experience.

Yours Faithfully

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our stay at the Stagecoach Inn at Cairndow was just great. The location is superb and the staff went out of their way to provide excellent service - especially Jay in the bar who asked Cook for real cream for my coffee. I shall return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairndowinn, Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Laura,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoying the location and noticing the excellent service from our staff! We also wish you could have stayed longer...maybe next time.

Thanks,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited with my partner, after a recommendation from a family member that had stayed recently. Spent only 3 days here after a month long stint at work, and was fully refreshed the morning after waking. We had arrived in the evening and as a result couldn't fully appreciate the stunning room views and area til first light. Incredible rooms, beautiful food and lovely staff. Idealistic destination in general, and a central location to an phenomenal holiday overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great value. The location is perfect, overlooking the loch. Quiet and tranquil. And probably the most scenic beer garden in Scotland. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The decor is a bit dated, with lots of patterned carpets, wallpaper etc, but it's clean and feels cosy and seems to suit the place. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and thought the food was 1st class. A really good variety to choose from, with daily specials. The only critiscism I would have is about the cooked breakfast. It was just OK, but with a wee bit of thought, could be a lot better. The pork link sausage and the black pudding tasted of a cheap, poor quality. How about a nice square (lorne) sausage, some locally produced black pudding and where was the potato scone? And please, ditch the rubbery tinned mushrooms!! But, inspite of that, I'd happily go back and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairndowinn, Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello Paul,

Thanks for your review. Overall it seems that you have enjoyed your stay and maybe return some time in the future. Thanks for your feedback on the breakfast, we normally get really positive feedback about the breakfast however we will look into this to see if we can do anything better.

Thanks again.

Jamie Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at the Cairndow on the first evening of our long weekend. The room was quirky, cosy and had everything we needed. The staff were extremely helpful and made us feel most welcome. We had a great night in the warm and friendly bar, with a good nights rest and a warm reception for breakfast. A beautiful location with staff who are an asset to their emloyers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairndow
5.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
8.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
15.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
4.6 mi away
Thistle House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndow Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndow Stagecoach Inn

Property: Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
Address: Cairndow, Cairndow PA26 8BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairndow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cairndow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndow Stagecoach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Douglas, Catherine and family extend a warm welcome in the best traditions of Scottish hospitality to one of the oldest Coaching Inns in the Highlands. The Inn is delightfully situated on the upper reaches of Loch Fyne, and presents to the visitor a haven of sparkling views, high mountains and magnificent woodlands and rivers. The location of the Inn makes it the ideal centre for a touring holiday, especially for visiting such places as Loch Lomond, The Mull of Kintyre, The Cowal peninsula and the breath taking scenery of the West Highlands. For the Hill walker and Climber, Cairndow is within easy reach of some of the finest terrain in Scotland. It is also a popular spot for boating and sea angling, and deer stalking can be arranged in the Autumn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HRS, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairndow Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndow Stagecoach Hotel Cairndow
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing