We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather than rush to the ferry--stay here!”
Review of Allt-Na-Craig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allt-Na-Craig
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rather than rush to the ferry--stay here!”
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I broke up my travel to Islay and Jura by stopping at Allt-Na-Craig en route. My room was wonderful (charmingly decorated, beautiful views); Hamish and Charlotte were really accommodating; the other guests were interesting and well-traveled. May i is a wonderful month to visit Scotland, and from Allt-Na-Craig you can visit interesting spots. I had a terrific dinner cooked to order, and the breakfast next morning was great--pretty much anything you could ask for. And the ferry was a half hour away, no rushing involved. Highly recommended!





y.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    26
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
54
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2010

If you've visited Scotland for the dramatic countryside, this lovely B&B place will give you superb views over Loch Fyne and a super base to explore the area. The building is great, well renovated to a high standard. Hamish and Charlotte, who own and run it, are absolutely wonderful - full of local information, tips on 'hidden gems' to visit and great to talk to. They leant us maps of the area, showed us local walks and coun't have been more helpful.

The breakfast was just excellent - great home-cooked food, home made jams, everthing you could want. After the full cooked breakfast on the first day we didn't (coudn't!) eat until that evening.

The room was great, with original wooden shutters so we slept solidly. Bathroom was great, with high quality soaps from Arran Aromatics which we're now fans of too!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJTNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This seemingly unassuming hotel has so much to offer - breathtaking views from the rooms as well as from almost any spot on the many walking/hiking routes nearby. The journey up to this idyllic spot is out of this world.
The hotel itself is delightfully and tastfully decorated, clean and welcoming. All the decor and facilities are modern and functional and comfortable.
This is a home away from home in gorgeous surroundings - with the exception of Charlotte's delicious food!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HedyGorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2010

This small family run hotel is well worth the effort to battle with the ice and snow to get there.
Very warm welcome from Hamish and Charlotte's fantiastic cooking.
This little corner of Scotland is beautiful and well worth exploring and Allt-na-Craig provides the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

After a 10 hour drive, we arrived at Allt Na Craig very tired. After checking in we asked about breakfast times, and were told last orders for cooked breakfast was 'absolutely no later than 9.15'. We advised the host it had been a very long trip and that we had hoped for maybe a later breakfast, to which he replied 'they had other things to do... like feed the horses'(!?) I wondered whether the horses were paying £90 per night for their bed and breakfast. The hotel appeared fairly empty as we had not seen or heard anyone else. We missed breakfast, and on leaving the hotel the next morning to find a shop, my partner was stopped by the host and told off for apparently 'locking the front door' when we came in the night before. We had simply pulled the door behind us when coming in and had not tampered with the door as had been implied.
We were staying at the hotel for a wedding in the area, and did not return until the early hours of the morning. We were aware that check out was 11 am but with it being such a late night we were slightly late checking out the next day. Whilst checking out, my partner apologised for the slight delay, to which the hostess replied in a rather stroppy manner that we had messed up their whole day! We are a fairly young couple, but were polite, quiet and considerate of any fellow guests for our entire stay. I felt that our hosts were inflexible and in no way accomodating of our needs, and on top of this i felt that at times they were actually rather rude and condescending. We were paying guests, and as such do not expect to be 'told off' like naughty children for really rather insigninficant things. Incidentally, i did not think the accomodation was worth the £45 pp per night, I have stayed in many nicer, more accomodating hotels that were not as expensive. The Grey Gull also in Ardrishaig was nicer, friendlier, more accomodating better located, and CHEAPER.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHNScotland, Owner at Allt-Na-Craig, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Many thanks for your review of the Allt-Na-Craig Hotel. We are naturally very disappointed and surprised that you left with such an unfavourable impression and particularly sorry that you felt unable to bring any of your dissatisfactions to our attention before leaving our guest house.
At checked in, your partner advised us that you were not early risers and neither you or your partner asked for a late breakfast; we did indeed remind you that our last orders for a cooked breakfast is 9.15AM but continental breakfast is however available until 10am as our check-out is at 11am. I know you will understand that in addition to our care of guests, we have a family to look after and animals including horses to feed. But this also includes turning the house around for incoming guests wanting an early arrival for the same wedding. Now I did indeed speak to you and all our guests to reminded guests of the importance of locking the external doors and how the locks work as in the past, other guests have had difficulty with this in the recent past.

We were delighted to hear from all the other guests at breakfast on the Sunday morning that the wedding was a great success. Indeed, we had to wake you at 11.30 to remind you about check out times and you did manage to check out at 12.30. I know that you will appreciate that when our next guests are wanting to check in to the room that is still occupied, they understandably feel aggrieved especially after a long journey from the south of England.

Please be assured that we do value all our customers and take every comment to heart. We can’t please everyone all the time and particularly when outgoing and incoming guests compete for the same room on the same day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

After having a terrible experience at a nearby hotel we managd to find a room available in this wonderful little gem. Hamish and Charlotte were so accommodating and we wished we had booked our whole trip here. The house is beautiful and the view over the Loch from our window in the 'Gordon' room was spectacular.
Charlotte makes the most amazing food cooked on the wonderful aga and it truly is a home from home. We will definately be recommending to all our friends and family and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshBird07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSSEX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My Wife and I booked the "Buchanan" room overlooking the Loch for two nights. Amazingly comfortable bed, we both slept incredibly well. Hamish is a walking tourist information office and made sure we did not waste anytime in getting to some of the best scenery we have ever seen. The glorious sunshine was a real bonus. Charlotte kept us well fed on a very tasty and filling breakfast that kept us going pretty much until evening. Only sorry we had to head home.

Highly recommended

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBG600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
4.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
281 reviews
8.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
6.3 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,452 reviews
9.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
443 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-Na-Craig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-Na-Craig

Property: Allt-Na-Craig
Address: Tarbert Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allt-Na-Craig 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Allt-Na-Craig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Craig Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing