We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very inflexible and really rather condescending.”
Review of Allt-Na-Craig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allt-Na-Craig
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very inflexible and really rather condescending.”
Reviewed December 22, 2009

After a 10 hour drive, we arrived at Allt Na Craig very tired. After checking in we asked about breakfast times, and were told last orders for cooked breakfast was 'absolutely no later than 9.15'. We advised the host it had been a very long trip and that we had hoped for maybe a later breakfast, to which he replied 'they had other things to do... like feed the horses'(!?) I wondered whether the horses were paying £90 per night for their bed and breakfast. The hotel appeared fairly empty as we had not seen or heard anyone else. We missed breakfast, and on leaving the hotel the next morning to find a shop, my partner was stopped by the host and told off for apparently 'locking the front door' when we came in the night before. We had simply pulled the door behind us when coming in and had not tampered with the door as had been implied.
We were staying at the hotel for a wedding in the area, and did not return until the early hours of the morning. We were aware that check out was 11 am but with it being such a late night we were slightly late checking out the next day. Whilst checking out, my partner apologised for the slight delay, to which the hostess replied in a rather stroppy manner that we had messed up their whole day! We are a fairly young couple, but were polite, quiet and considerate of any fellow guests for our entire stay. I felt that our hosts were inflexible and in no way accomodating of our needs, and on top of this i felt that at times they were actually rather rude and condescending. We were paying guests, and as such do not expect to be 'told off' like naughty children for really rather insigninficant things. Incidentally, i did not think the accomodation was worth the £45 pp per night, I have stayed in many nicer, more accomodating hotels that were not as expensive. The Grey Gull also in Ardrishaig was nicer, friendlier, more accomodating better located, and CHEAPER.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHNScotland, Owner at Allt-Na-Craig, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Many thanks for your review of the Allt-Na-Craig Hotel. We are naturally very disappointed and surprised that you left with such an unfavourable impression and particularly sorry that you felt unable to bring any of your dissatisfactions to our attention before leaving our guest house.
At checked in, your partner advised us that you were not early risers and neither you or your partner asked for a late breakfast; we did indeed remind you that our last orders for a cooked breakfast is 9.15AM but continental breakfast is however available until 10am as our check-out is at 11am. I know you will understand that in addition to our care of guests, we have a family to look after and animals including horses to feed. But this also includes turning the house around for incoming guests wanting an early arrival for the same wedding. Now I did indeed speak to you and all our guests to reminded guests of the importance of locking the external doors and how the locks work as in the past, other guests have had difficulty with this in the recent past.

We were delighted to hear from all the other guests at breakfast on the Sunday morning that the wedding was a great success. Indeed, we had to wake you at 11.30 to remind you about check out times and you did manage to check out at 12.30. I know that you will appreciate that when our next guests are wanting to check in to the room that is still occupied, they understandably feel aggrieved especially after a long journey from the south of England.

Please be assured that we do value all our customers and take every comment to heart. We can’t please everyone all the time and particularly when outgoing and incoming guests compete for the same room on the same day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    25
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
50
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

After having a terrible experience at a nearby hotel we managd to find a room available in this wonderful little gem. Hamish and Charlotte were so accommodating and we wished we had booked our whole trip here. The house is beautiful and the view over the Loch from our window in the 'Gordon' room was spectacular.
Charlotte makes the most amazing food cooked on the wonderful aga and it truly is a home from home. We will definately be recommending to all our friends and family and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshBird07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSSEX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My Wife and I booked the "Buchanan" room overlooking the Loch for two nights. Amazingly comfortable bed, we both slept incredibly well. Hamish is a walking tourist information office and made sure we did not waste anytime in getting to some of the best scenery we have ever seen. The glorious sunshine was a real bonus. Charlotte kept us well fed on a very tasty and filling breakfast that kept us going pretty much until evening. Only sorry we had to head home.

Highly recommended

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBG600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East of England
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Hamish and Charlotte made our family so welcome that we would happily have stayed another week if we could! We will definitely be back and thoroughly recommend their place as an ideal base for families touring the Highlands and Western Isles. We stayed in the cosy and well-equipped self catering Coach House that adjoins the main guest house. The Nicols' welcome was warm and the service thoughtful and kind throughout our week. We felt very welcome and comfortable with their family and so enjoyed Charlotte's delicious home-cooked meals that one of us put on a whole stone in 7 nights! Our 8 year old loved the wildlife nearby and the local scenery is breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellieEastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Recently had a one night stay here. The hotel was welcoming and clean. We had the superior room which was nice but perhaps it needs a new bed! The view was great and the lounge is relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

After a long day travelling the welcome was warm and friendly. Although the restaurant had closed for the evening, Charlotte & Hamish kindly provided a late supper in the dining room. I was even able to get wine to settle the dust of the day.
The views over the loch were fantastic, and the dining room provided a spectacular view.

I was leaving for the first ferry to Islay the next morning and would not be able to have breakfast before I left. No problem, a take away lunch was provided for me.

The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the internet access (included in the price of the stay) was certainly up to "speed".

All in all, a very pleasant and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cken55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Had a really nice time in Allt-Na-Craig. Room had a fantastic view over the loch. It was very clean, and had a cosy and traditional charm. The owners were very warm, friendly and easy to chat with (I now know a few things about hot air balloons!).
They put on a really delicious cooked breakfast, the perfect cure for a sore head from too much whisky the night before. There are nice places to walk up the trail in the hills behind, or along the nearby canal to the next village, with some lovely views along the way. For convenience, there's a mini-market and small, lively pub within 10mins walk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spassmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
8.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
20.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-Na-Craig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-Na-Craig

Property: Allt-Na-Craig
Address: Tarbert Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allt-Na-Craig 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Allt-Na-Craig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Craig Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing