We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest B&B I've ever stayed in”
Review of Allt-Na-Craig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allt-Na-Craig
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Had a really nice time in Allt-Na-Craig. Room had a fantastic view over the loch. It was very clean, and had a cosy and traditional charm. The owners were very warm, friendly and easy to chat with (I now know a few things about hot air balloons!).
They put on a really delicious cooked breakfast, the perfect cure for a sore head from too much whisky the night before. There are nice places to walk up the trail in the hills behind, or along the nearby canal to the next village, with some lovely views along the way. For convenience, there's a mini-market and small, lively pub within 10mins walk.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spassmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2009

Have been at Allt-Na-Craig since I was sent here for work purposes since June 2008. I am still here now(March 2009). Hamish and Charlotte have made me feel like one of the family, so much so that even their dog Monty knows me by name. The accomodation and food are excellent. The hospitality is out of this world and the only problem I have here, is the fact that I will eventually have to leave. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louthman1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

My husband and I have stayed in B&B's up and down the West coast of Scotland and have never before felt the need to leave a review, but.... How could we not share the experience of one of the best weekend breaks we have ever had? We were welcomed (despite arriving two hours later than arranged - sorry!!) on the Friday night by the smiling faces of our hosts Charlotte & Hamish. We immediately felt at ease in their home and gratefully accepted Hamish's offer of a drink by the fire in their cosy lounge. Our room (the Buchanan suite) was exquisite and after 6 hours of driving the whirlpool bath in the en-suite was put to good use - and I have never had a better nights sleep! Hamish arranged Clay Pigeon Shooting for us the next day at Brenfield Farm and then we took our dog for a walk through Kilmartin Glen (Beautiful!!), before returning to Allt-na-Craig for the most fantastic meal cooked by the ever bubbly Charlotte. Sunday morning was traditionally easy going, we enjoyed the unbeatable views over Loch Fyne and tried to think up excuses for taking a few more days off work and staying right here in our newly discovered haven. Neither of us could come up with any other place we would rather be for the weekend - that's the sign of a truly fabulous guest house. And yes, we have already booked our next trip to Allt-na-Craig, our new (and favourite) Home from Home.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poochyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Last week we stayed for 1 night B&B and were disappointed. We felt the owners were not particularly friendly - brief and business-like infact. The room was spacious and clean but very tired and dated. The heating was on fully but the radiator just lukewarm.Having settled on a price of £3, on booking, for our little dog to stay, we found it quite rude that Hamish informed us on departure that "we had got away lightly - as they normally charge £6!" rather greedy actually when you consider we paid £45 per head and £23 for our child for 1 night B&B. Not good value for money and certainly not 4 star. we wont be back and wont be recommending it to friends and family. glad to be able to make a comment on Trip Advisor as i see my comment on their website has been deleted!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghillie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotten, Owners at Allt-Na-Craig, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2009

Although we are disappointed to receive a review like this we thank this family for the comments and apologise for having upset them. We are surprised that we were not perceived as friendly and tried to behave towards them as we do all our customers (and clearly the vast majority of our clients disagree with this familys view about our warmth and approachability). Maybe we were too preoccupied with the business of running a small country Guest house. As we had agreed to their request for early entry at 13.30 (instead of 15.00 as usual) and were surprised when they turned up 11.25 as we had just waved good bye to the previous night’s guests and were setting about the housekeeping, paperwork etc. I am sorry we did not explain this fully to them although they were shown to their room at that time.
Our family room does not have our more precious personal items that the other rooms have to make it more child friendly and this is the first comment we have had to this effect. However we accept that one of the chairs is older and that will be replaced.
Many hotels do not accept pets but we are pleased to be able to accommodate dogs and levy a small charge to cover the additional cleaning costs and wear and tear. I am sorry that my attempt at a light hearted comment (over a £3 pound saving!) was misinterpreted.
We always verbally ask guests for feedback and are keen to make sure every stay is memorable for the right reasons. However if guests do not tell us their problems at the time we cannot respond or have an opportunity to rectify the situation.
As always, we learn from this feedback and will continue to try and please everyone that stays with us, as is usually the case, as judged by our large number of repeat guests and other positive feedback.

Many thanks
Hamish & Charlotte Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We planned a horseback riding trip to Scotland and found that our home for our stay was the Allt-Na-Craig in Ardrishaig. And home it truly was. Hamish and Charlotte Nicol made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Although we eat a several places during our stay, we all voted that Charlotte cooking was the best and made sure our last night in Ardrishaig we had dinner at the Allt-Na-Craig.

Every morning Hamish greeted and served us a great breakfast before we set out on our horseback riding advantage.

The rooms were always clean and comfortable. There were nine people in our group and we all felt like we were family.

Hamish and Charlotte would recommend places for us to see during our stay and would help us make reservations and/or give us directions to make sure our stay in Scotland was special.

If you are planning a vacation in Scotland, please include Allt-Na-Craig. You will never want to leave!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Penshockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Friendly, comfortable, good food, free wi-fi. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DrJenCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

We felt that we were staying with friends in their home rather than in a hotel we couldnt have asked for better service attention and the food was out of this world.Just found these reviews whilst searching to book again. and felt I had to add my piece. The bedrooms and private bathrooms were fantastic and we enjoyed our stay so much we wanted to stay on .Our hosts were outstanding in their attention to detail ,we will be returning very soon ,that is if we can manage to get in.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Charliefarley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
4.0 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
288 reviews
8.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
10.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
280 reviews
20.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,529 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-Na-Craig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-Na-Craig

Address: Tarbert Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Price Range: $149 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allt-Na-Craig 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Allt-Na-Craig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Craig Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing