We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Allt-Na-Craig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allt-Na-Craig
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Certificate of Excellence
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Upon arrival we got a somewhat less than genuine greeting - I guess this is somewhat to be expected with the number of visitors. The bed was uncomfortable (had a significant bow in the middle). We needed to leave early the next morning (7 am) so they put together a sandwich bag, which was ok but I was hoping for something a bit more like breakfast. Overall the decor is tired and had a slightly funky odour. Definitely not a highlight on our otherwise wonderful experiences in our travels in Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    25
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
52
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Strathcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time i have stayed here - a genuinly nice guesthouse run by a very pleasent couple.
The building is from the victorian period, and the owners have the decor to match, ive seen other reviews say they should update - i feel the furnishings really match the building and give it character.

I was only here for one evening, and as i start work early i was kindly offered a packed lunch to take with me - very generous indeed.

I'll be back here again & again.

5 star!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightfireuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is super, with lovely rooms, fantastic views and really good food. I can recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this part of Scotland. The house is Victorian and the owners have furnished it in the style befitting such a house. So the furniture is dated but the rooms are spotless and the whole experience was extremly comfortable. Can you ask for more of a B & B in the far flung corners of Scotland?

Room Tip: Rooms at the front (we stayed in the "Stewart" room) have great views over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a beautiful victorian guesthouse with great views over the loch (we stayed in room Stewart). The owners are most helpful with information about the area and where to travel to. Also, dinner and breakfast were both amazing, prepared with an Aga cooker. We asked for a gluten free dinner and the owners were very accomodating, with no extra charges. The bathroom was renovated and very nice. Rooms were very clean. We can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Setareh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dullstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room we stayed in needed a little revamping. It was small, yet clean and tidy, the shower-room was tiny yet functional. The breakfast was good and the hosts were very friendly. The view over the loch is pleasant, and overall it was average to good, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow lanarkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was really looking forward to this 4 star Guest house and was disappointed when I saw the room. It is full of tired old furniture and really needs a total upgrade, including the bathroom. Having said that, the bed was clean and comfortable. I couldn't find a hairdryer.
The dining room is very nice, overlooking the loch, and the rest of the public area looks good.
Breakfast was good, with a wide choice.
I don't think it warrants 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teajenny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Hamish and Charlotte after a wet drive into Scotland. After choosing from the dinner menu our hosts showed us around and to our rooms. They explained we could order drinks before dinner and we decided what time we wanted to have dinner. Our room was very spacious with all we needed to refresh ourselves, tea making facilities and both a bath and electric shower. We found plenty of hot water and large towels. Our friend had a modern en-suite shower room equally well equipped.
There was a good choice of pre-dinner drinks and wine to drink with our meal. Dinner was delicious particularly the proper puddings. Tea or coffee was offered in the lounge after dinner and our hosts were available we needed anything else. Breakfast time was flexible so you could have an early start if staying on business or a more leisurely start if on holiday.
Breakfast had a choice of cereals, grapefruit etc. to serve yourself with a choice of juices. There was a choice of up to 5 cooked items which was certainly enough for us.
Hamish was a great source of information both local and about his former career and was interested in our travel plans onward from Ardrishaig. It was apparent that guests would become friends very soon as the rate of returning guests would testify. If we are travelling through Argyll & Bute again in the future we will make a point of building a couple of nights at Allt-na-craig into our holiday stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yordas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
4.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
269 reviews
8.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
6.3 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
77 reviews
20.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-Na-Craig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-Na-Craig

Property: Allt-Na-Craig
Address: Tarbert Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allt-Na-Craig 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Allt-Na-Craig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Craig Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing