We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE”
Review of Grey Gull Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ardrishaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Gull Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Blantyre, Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My Husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis and we had a great time. The food was fabulous and the staff were friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. We will have no hesitation in returning and recommening it to family and friends. SUPERB VALUE FOR MONEY.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyangelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    77
    26
    19
    11
See reviews for
46
65
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We arrived on Saturday and took a walk along the Crinan Canal. The whole area is great to walk. It is well worth watching for a boat to come in or out of the canal entrance to see how the Victoria locks work.

Our room was clean and tidy with crisp bed linen. The breakfast was perfect, you choose your cereal etc, have as much coffee and tea as you wish and the cooked breakfast was excellent.

We had dinner in the hotel each evening and the food was well prepared and very well served.

I would recommend anyone who enjoys straight forward good service, food and accommodation to stay here. The prcie was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

8 of us stayed at the Grey Gull for two nights. Fantastic service from the owner and staff. A beautiful lounge and restaurant, accompanied by a large selection of quality food. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone. Have a look at their website - it gives a good insight into what to expect.

Stayed April 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank AliGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. We've stayed here and in other hotels in the surrounding area over many years and now nowhere comes close!

Stayed for four nights, room 5 was clean cozy and bright (OK not much of a Loch view, but that did not matter to us, as picking up the Wi-Fi signal for work was more important to us.

Service by everyone was friendly and efficient and the food was excellent (OK it's not the Ivy, but given its mission it was great). Our hearts sank when we went down for our first meal as there was a party of 40 people on a bike tour in front of us, but they (and we) were all served with freshly cooked food without any delay.

Highly recommended.

My wife and I really cannot fault the place and will certainly be staying here on our return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW6_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Spent a fabulous weekend at the Grey Gull. The room was large with a four poster bed and a large bay window with uninterupted views over the loch. Raymond, Murdo and all the staff are so friendly that you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The food at dinner I can only describe as excellent and would put a lot of higher rated hotels to shame.

We will be back

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Dumbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Had a really enjoyable and relaxing 3 day stay last weekend with my wife and 6 year old son.
I was a bit wary given some of the earlier reviews but can only conclude that some people have difficulty in reconciling their expectations with what they are being asked to pay.
I have no hesitation in saying that our 3 day bed/breakfast/dinner package was terrific value for money with only a nominal charge made for our 6 year old on the same basis.
The facilities also were good value for money and the staff, who were all extremely courteous and industrious, went out of their way to be helpful. This included the breakfast cook extending their shift on our 3rd morning because we had mistakenly thought that the weekend timings were for the entire week.

The location is superb and we look forward to visiting the Grey gull again in the not too distant future.

  • Liked — Fabulous views
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We spent 3 nights at The Grey Gull Inn and had a most enjoyable and relaxing weekend break. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and most helpful.

The Hotel is in an excellent location with wonderful views over the loch.

The room was comfortable and food was plentiful and of high quality.

A very good deal considering the very reasonable cost!

Would definitely recommend this Hotel to others and we hope to return.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere, staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BobbyJoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
1.2 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
135 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
269 reviews
9.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
77 reviews
19.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull Inn

Property: Grey Gull Inn
Address: Glenburn Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Hotel Ardrishaig
Grey Gull Ardrishaig
Grey Gull Inn Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing