We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the dysart boys”
Review of Grey Gull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey Gull Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Reviewed March 30, 2012

just finished a three night stay at grey gull, have to say four of us were delighted with food,service,an amazing breakfast, and the hotel itself is spotless and lovely decor..its been transformed by new management who are very friendly and helpful.and what a view from the beer garden with a lovely pint.cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 148andrewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

food here is excellent service from staff and management faultless rooms need updating again i say if you like good food get yourelf to this hotel if the local community tret threselfs to dinner here then you know its good food

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregory m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have been here for lunch a few times and I can honestly say I found it to be friendly, clean, value for money, good quality and worht the drive. I can't comment on the room but a great atmosphere for sure. I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woohootrp4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

WHAT A LOVELY WELCOMING PLACE. We had bought a boat and were collecting it at Ardrishaig on a Friday after it came through the Crinan Canal, and had booked to stay the night here as it is so close to the canal and the lock basin. Unfortunately one of the bridges was down and we had to cancel our booking and wanted to re-book for the following Monday. NO PROBLEM! We also have a yorkshire Terrier NO PROBLEM! We had a lovely night's stay. The room (no 3) was VERY comfortable; extra heating was provided in addition to the 2 radiators in the room, as well as extra bedding in case we needed it (we certainly didn't) The room and bathroom were extremely clean and everything worked (UNLIKE the following night when we stayed at a hotel in Tarbet...at least 10 things wrong...don't start me on this one). The breakfast was good and filled us up for the day.The dining room, with internet access, is really pretty and interesting, with great views over Loch Fyne. (and we loved the fish and chips; the batter was amazing)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which has a large double bed and a single bed, on the ground floor, close to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSquatLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I have stayed at the Grey Gull several times since the beginning of the summer while in the area on business. The hotel is comfortable with big rooms and well equipped bathrooms. The restaurant, bar and lounge area is also comfortable with goof views over Loch Gilp. The service is unfailingly efficient and friendly. Food at breakfast and dinner is always good and substantial. All in all a very good 3 * star hotel at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edinburghguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We just spent the one night at the grey gull. The staff were pleasant, good humoured and chatty. We paid £70.00 for a twin midweek in November which was a bit pricey. The room was clean and spacious but featureless. Modelled on one of those awful travel lodges or Premier Inns. Breakfast was good and served with a smile in a nice room overlooking the loch. The hotel was fine for a perfuctary stop over.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I late booked a room at the Grey Gull Inn. When we booked we were well warned that the only available accomodation was at the very top of the house. Nevertheless the rate we were offered was attractive so we reserved the room with a credit card.
On arriving a week later we made our way to the very top of the house. To be honest, the room was disappointing. Maybe suitable for a man working away from home requiring an inexpensive place to rest his head. he would have to be fit though! It's truly, a long way up.
As the popular Grey Gull restaurant was packed, we set off to eat at another nearby Hotel recommended by Bruce, the owner of the Grey Gull.
On the off chance we enquired if the new hotel had a room. They had one left and it was on the ground floor. And again to be honest, the room was more attractive though also more expensive. We agreed to return and set off to negotiate cancellation costs with Bruce and Heather.
As you may imagine we were a little concerned but ready to bear some cost.
Although naturally disappointed the Kiwi couple could not have been more helpful and would not hear of payment. This is so unusual these days, it does them great credit and we thank them for understanding.
We are unable to make a review of the hote, only applaud and recognise the five star kindness of its owners.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank onetedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
0.8 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
142 reviews
8.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
20.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
289 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
481 reviews
10.8 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull Inn

Address: Glenburn Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Price Range: $107 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grey Gull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Hotel Ardrishaig
Grey Gull Ardrishaig
Grey Gull Inn Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing