We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply great !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muirhouses Farm B&B
Ranked #5 of 6 Kirriemuir B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“simply great !”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent solution: large room, very clean, many "maniacal" attention by the ownwer Susan (ex: biscuits self made in room for the guests !!!); simply WONDERFUL and various breakfast...Beautiful and peaceful house in the country, just 3 minutes from Kirriemuir (but not so simply to find...!). Susan has been so careful....What could we expect any more ????

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea e patriz... m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limmycow, Owner at Muirhouses Farm B&B, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review - you were such a delightful couple, so sorry I couldn't let you stay another night, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

On a month long trip in the UK, Scotland and Ireland we stayed at B&Bs or Farmhouse B&Bs and found them very well suited to the needs of a senior married couple. The hosts were welcoming and even offered use of a refreshments. Tea and Coffee were also available any time we desired. The room was upstairs and was roomy with a comfortable bed. The hosts suggested places to eat and the one recommended was wonderful. Not a place on the main drag but if you want a peaceful setting this is the place. Breakfast was the English standard with good everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent accommodation and hospitality on a working farm. Good location for the Angus Glens and Pictish stones. Owner very friendly and attentive. Good selection of home made jams, oatcakes, etc. for breakfast. Exceptionally clean while being homely.

Room Tip: 3 good sized bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Muirhouses. The owner was warm and inviting. The rooms are generous in size and clean with modern decor. The power shower was superb. And the breakfast was one of the best we have had, fresh and delicious.

I can highly recommend Muirhouses. It's in a great location, peaceful and secluded. Yet easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Thoroughly recommended. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and tastefully decorated, and came equipped with a DVD player and the most delectable homemade shortbread. The owner is warm and welcoming and gave us some great tips for places to eat and go hiking nearby in beautiful Glen Clova and Glen Doll. The home cooked breakfast was also excellent. A really lovely place in a great setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Friendly, scenic, well equiped, great breakfast, very comfortable and spotlessly clean,... all the right characteristics... easy to find and well signposted, good communication and easy arrangements. Really really nice. We suggest that you believe the pictures and website.

Room Tip: All are good, just pay attention to the bed types & whether you want bath (Longbank) or shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M2855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Muirhouses is a 4 Star Farmhouse B&B. We stayed for two nights, and fell in love with the place and the area. Susan runs a very warm and friendly home. The other guests come there every year, and we were made to feel quite welcome. The setting is pure farm, outside of the town, and right on the edge of some spectacular glen country. Great breakfast. Great accommodations. We would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baysidetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirriemuir
1.7 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
11.0 mi away
Glen Clova Hotel
Glen Clova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Clova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.0 mi away
Church House B & B
Church House B & B
#3 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.1 mi away
Falls of Holm
Falls of Holm
#2 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muirhouses Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhouses Farm B&B

Property: Muirhouses Farm B&B
Address: Cortachy, Kirriemuir DD8 4QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirriemuir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kirriemuir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Muirhouses Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very comfortable accommodation in farmhouse with excellent breakfast made with locally sourced produce and home made oatcakes and preserves. A warm welcome awaits you on your arrival. Perfect base for walking, cycling, hill walking and sight-seeing. Close to Glamis Castle and the Cairngorm National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Muirhouses Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muirhouses Farm B&B Kirriemuir, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing