We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Airlie Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Church House B & B(Kirriemuir)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge at Lochside(Kirriemuir)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Druminoch(Kirriemuir)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thrums Hotel(Kirriemuir)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
78
36
14
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
36
14
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheesecakerestaurant upstairsbar areacoffee and cakehigh teaexcellent valuepleasant staffovernight staychicken stuffed with black puddingtwin roomon arrivalspecial mentionfirst classwould highly recommend a visitinterior designquality and quantitygroupon voucher
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 147 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on July 9th and would definitely come back. We got a family room that could fit 4 people. Was better as it wasn't actually inside the hotel but a bit more like an annex. We had a decent size bathroom with a brilliant power shower, huge bedroom for us to sleep in, tv with freeview and a storage room to keep our bags in. Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Cereal, toast and a full cooked breakfast if you wanted it. Room was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely book again, shame about all it's negative reviews really!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lor138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The Hotel is in a nice part of the world, I do be,leave they have had some problems but the new manager assures me that they are being fixed.
The only issue that we had was no parking and the room prices were a bit on the high for what type of hotel it is also no reception.
We had an evening meal on arrival and portions were great and good value at only £10 for 2 main courses.
we will be back

Room Tip: Room 6 is a nice double very modern
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jappstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

An absoloutly awful hotel. From the moment we arrived we could tell it was going to be the hotel from hell. When we went to check in, there was nobody around. We waited several minutes and a chef appreared. He did his best to check us in but the hotel had no record of my email reservation! They said the hotel was full and they could only offer us a twin room. Well, the other guests must have been ghosts.
The room was manky with cobwebs hanging from the coving. Even a cobweb above the shower. The carpet was stained and there was dust on the furniture.
To make matters worse, when we returned from our function at night - we were locked out!! The Police were very helpfull but 40 minutes until the Manager appeared.
The breakfast room was grotty too.
There is no way we will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighlandsHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My parents in law had planned their golden wedding celebrations years in advance, had heard rumours of bad service, but visited the manager who assured them that the rumours were untrue, and promised a night to remember. They got a night that they will never forget, but for all the wrong reasons. The function room was not set out when we arrived, the meal started getting served to the 40 plus guests one, yes one plate at a time, over an hour late. There were no bar staff behind the bar as the poor solitary barman on his first night employed by the hotel had to come out to help serve the three course meal, which took over two and a half hours to serve. Most people were so fed up that they could not be bothered to wait on the last course. There were people at the same table all on different courses of the meal, some were finished the main course before others had received their soup!!. The evening guests were arriving and we still had not been served all our meal.
My mother in law was in tears, after all the planning, and after paying all the bill up front in cash, it was a shambles from start to finish. They did get an apology from the manager before he left in the early evening and did not return, but it can not replace the 50 year celebration party she deserved, you can only celebrate that event once.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel under its present management.
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fath52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My grandparents had booked the airlie's function room for their Golden Wedding Anniversary, an occasion that can never be repeated, all paid for in advance. When we arrived to set up the function room, it was still dirty from the previous nights event. Staff never set up enough tables or chairs for the meal and the tables were not even set. when the party had all arrived and were seated for the meal the manager came to take everyones orders off of a pre-set menu ( to point out, menu's had gone out to guest to get a rough number of what was wanted). the starters were passable, but were waitressed one plate at a time, there was tables who had finished there starters and on to there main, while others had not yet recieved there starters! the main meal was questionable and again was served slowly. when it came to pudding some people never recieved one and those who did were extremely dissatified with it. Also on top of all this, the first 2 hours of the evening there was barely a member of staff on the bar, family members who had previously worked in the airlie had to step up and help out, i myself had to help clear the tables for the nighttime guests arriving and help out the barman by collecting glasses or we would never have recieved a drink. To top it off when approached the manager was hostile and rather aggressive at times towards our copmplaints, including tutting and walking away. he then proceeding to make promises of compensation which he has had to be forced into keeping. He left at 9o'clock and left his bar staff to sort the mess he had created. My grandmother was in floods of tears and felt her happy occasion had been ruined. I would recommend that everyone books functions elsewhere unless you want your night ruined. You will notice i never rated sleep quality or rooms as we never stayed over, but the service has not been rated due to the managers lack of people skills, organisation and appalling attitude towards everyone at the party!

Room Tip: Stay away!!!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank peach18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews