We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B!”
Review of Falls of Holm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falls of Holm
Ranked #4 of 6 Kirriemuir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I had a family reason to visit Forfar in mid January. We knew Falls of Holm was 20 minutes drive from Forfar but were happy to book as we would arrive in evening and just have a meal and a quiet time before leaving the next morning. A country location B&B suited and this fitted the bill perfectly.
Elizabeth and Willie were welcoming while our room was superb - large, fully equipped with en-suite, tea/coffee and biscuits tray, beautiful views, plenty storage space if needed and as expected, spotless.
Given the time of year, we were the only guests and we enjoyed a great 3 course meal (with a bottle of wine we had taken with us) and then relaxed with a book and later, some TV, in the lounge. After a very good sleep, we were served an excellent Scottish breakfast including proper porridge.
Our stay at Falls of Holm was excellent, very good value, and set us up well for a long day ahead.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovanout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 152 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night to escape house renovations and it was just perfect. Elizabeth gave us a really warm welcome - including home-made scones. The room was lovely, the bed was really comfy and the shower was fab. Next morning, an excellent cooked breakfast set us up for the day. Lovely place, can't wait to go back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed with Elizabeth and Willia Lang mid October 13 having spent a very wet day outdoors, I hadn't beenbefore. I got a very welcoming helping hand with all my wet clothes, which were taken away for drying. Had a quick warm up shower and then prearranged supper. Very nice too. My room was perfectly sized with an ensuite. I slept like a lolg!!! Next morning was even wetter, but had a hearty breakfast with everything one could want, and then off to get wet again!! All in all a very fine experience which I will repeat.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just fine and completed to a high standardd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrislAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lovely warm welcome, comfy beds, hot baths and great breakfast. Well worth a stay. We were cycling the snow roads and the route runs staright passed the B&B so great location if you are cycling. If not a little way into Kirriemuir and a long walk but worth the spectacular views and location. SUPBERB!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

One of the nicest places we've found in this very beautiful--and to some extent under-appreciated-- part of Scotland, with Elizabeth and Willie providing warmth, hospitality, very generous helpings of delicious food and plenty of day-dreaming space in an eminently comfortable house with a glorious view. It is also dog-friendly (though only guide-dogs permitted in the dining room and sitting room) .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were at the Falls of Holm for only one night but were very warmly welcomed. William was a great host! We stayed in the upstairs room with the amazing bed!! The room was spottless clean, as well as the badroom. We had a lovely dinner and breakfast and got some tips from William and Elizabeth. A place to returm to!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anapkitoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A fantastic overnight touring stop. Elizabeth and William are very friendly and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The breakfast was fantastic!

The location is remote, lovely and quiet.

Handy for visiting Reekie Linn Falls and Glamis Castle to name but a couple of places.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherinegran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirriemuir hotels
4.7 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
135 reviews
4.8 mi away
Church House B & B
Church House B & B
#3 of 6 in Kirriemuir
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Druminoch
Druminoch
#5 of 6 in Kirriemuir
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Falls of Holm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls of Holm

Address: Kirriemuir DD8 5HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirriemuir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kirriemuir
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Falls Of Holm Kirriemuir, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing