We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely company and accommodation”
Review of Falls of Holm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falls of Holm
Ranked #2 of 6 Kirriemuir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely company and accommodation”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My Son and I stayed for 2 very comfortable nights whilst climbing some of the local Mountains and had a lovely welcome from Elizabeth and Willy. Wonderful countryside, very comfortable and well equipped rooms. Home cooked meal by Elizabeth was superb as were the delicious breakfasts, we felt really spoiled.

We will definitely be back if we are in the area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sianeyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
75
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Falls of Holm for one night prior to playing golf at Kirriemuir. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by our hosts and provided with tea and cakes. An evening meal was offered and thoroughly enjoyed. The home cooking was superb as was our Breakfast. Very comfortable rooms and facilities.Altogether a lovely place to stay provided by a great couple Willie and Elizabeth. Just wish we could have stayed longer .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in April during some very cold weather. The welcome and service more than made up for the wind and rain. Our hosts were friendly, efficient and helpful, the house is homely and comfortable and the food was excellent including the three-course dinners we had each evening. Getting to feed the lambs was a bonus!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trefriw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were going up to an area of Scotland we haven't stayed in before to visit a highland cattle breeder and purchase a young bull. Searched Google to find accommodation in the area and after looking at the websites of three decided on Falls of Holm. So glad we did. Lovely friendly welcome - with tea and cakes. Felt like we were in a beautiful home, yet free to make ourselves at home, and felt comfortable to do so. Elizabeth & Willie were friendly and chatty and it was a pleasure to meet them. The bed was comfortable, the room was warm. We will definitely return here if we are in the area again and recommend it to others - because it is always good to know of nice places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleri368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the Falls of Holm for two nights with my boyfriend in February 2013. We chose Kirriemuir as we were visiting the Guide Dogs training centre in Forfar and noticed the great reviews for this B&B, and we were not disappointed!

The house is very homely and nicely decorated. Our room, Isla, was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

We were welcomed with tea and home baking by Willie who made us feel very much at home.

The view from the house is lovely and if you live in a city it is an ideal place to get away from it all and totally relax.

Breakfast was delicious. There was a selection of cereal, yogurt, toast and fruit as well as breakfast to order. My boyfriend had the full works and was delighted. We were also offered a selection of croissants which set us up for a busy day of walking and sight seeing ahead.

As the B&B is on a farm in the middle of the countryside it is essential you have a car as restaurants, shops and places to visit are all at least a 10-15 minute drive away. There isn't a massive choice of good restaurants or pubs nearby but we did stumble across The Drovers Inn which was fantastic - good food and a nice setting.

I highly recommend the J.M Barrie walk around Kirriemuir. We were disappointed to find out that the museum all about his life in the house where he lived was closed as we visited out of season but the walk was very interesting and we learnt lots from information posts along the way.

We also went to Reekie Linn waterfall which is near to the B&B too. It was very impressive and didn't take long to walk to from the car park. If you have little children or elderly people in your party it might be one to miss or make sure you take great care as there is a sheer drop down to the side and no hand rails or barriers between yourself and the water.

Just a few minutes up for the road from the waterfall and still near to the B&B is Peel Farm shop and cafe which is a real gem and just the place to stop by if you fancy a nice cup of tea/coffee and a slice of cake. The choice was vast and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The shop also sells some great antiques, gifts, furniture and farmers market items.

Overall our stay at Falls of Holm was fantastic and we were well looked after. I'd encourage anyone who is looking for somewhere scenic to relax, chill out and get some fresh country air in their lungs to try this B&B.

It is also ideal for cyclists and walkers.

Room Tip: The Isla room is very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for a short break at a difficult time. It was just what the doctor ordered! The attentiveness of the owners is second to none. A great place to relax and unwind. Breakfast was superb and dinner can also be provided.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Tranquil location, (great for walkers & cyclists, birdwatchers, or those simply wanting to get away from it all) pleasant helpful hosts, fantastic amenities, great bed (& room), top class service, excellent breakfast...Falls of Holm is a real Scottish Gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirriemuir
4.7 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Church House B & B
Church House B & B
#3 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muirhouses Farm B&B
Muirhouses Farm B&B
#5 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tigh Na Leigh
Tigh Na Leigh
#1 of 4 in Alyth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls of Holm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls of Holm

Property: Falls of Holm
Address: Kirriemuir DD8 5HY , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirriemuir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kirriemuir
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Falls of Holm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Of Holm Kirriemuir, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing