We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Thrums Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirriemuir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thrums Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed one night in first week of June 2013 on a business trip.
Single room. Decent size, nice onsuite toilet/shower room.
Tea, Coffee, Kettle etc in room.
Bar staff friendly.
Good selection for evening meal and food was decent enough.
Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ByJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 42 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Not knowing Kirriemuir we went to Thrums for lunch. I had read the earlier reviews but it was too late as my sister had already booked. The reviews were not accurate as far are our visit was concerned as the service was excellent and the food was good pub food, presented well. It is nothing fancy just pub food but it was pretty good. I wouldn't have a problem going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livvvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Have had a few bar meals here lately & tried to give benefit of doubt but today confirmed how bad it is, food arrives quickly but orders were wrong barmaid is useless & not helpful or friendly, some of us were overcharged too, food is all bought in ,a friend had a hair in hers & did make them aware but no apology made, homemade food makes all the difference, really disappointed with the service & way we were treated today so I'm afraid what was a weekly lunch outing for us it will not be there again,I had better stop before I say any more but please don't waste your money! Poor show.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loopylee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I haven't stayed here but have sampled the delicious bar lunches. Huge amount of choice at very reasonable prices. Everything from a toastie to a steak pie! Generous portions. Staff very attentive and friendly. Food arrived quickly. Despite the place being very busy when we arrived, our order was taken within 5 minutes. If you want some good honest food at very reasonable prices then this is the place to come.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaydee841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed with my sister for the only hot weekend of the scottish summer! The room was really nice with a modern ensuite and situated at the front of the building. There was wifi in the room and all over the hotel. The pub is a real local and there is also a nice lounge for residents who don't want to sit in their rooms. Breakfast was lovely and it is a friendly welcoming place. We didn't eat dinner here but meals are available. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We recently stayed in a family room for two nights. On the plus side ; the room was large, the location was great and the owner was very accommodating when we requested a late check out as we had our young daughter with us. Also our heavy cases were carried to our room. On the negative; the decor was a bit dated, the bathroom had black damp on the ceiling and the breakfast had a little to be desired.No real reception desk or area to be found. Quite expensive compared to standards at Premier Inn, when we stayed in Dundee.However, extremely close to the JM Barrie National Trust exhibition.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Have not stayed here so can not comment on the rooms but can recommend it for straight forward honest pub grub at reasonable prices. Ideal stop off for a reasonably priced lunch.

Room Tip: Remember this is a pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BillTft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirriemuir
0.1 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
131 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
13.8 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
571 reviews
12.5 mi away
Glen Clova Hotel
Glen Clova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Clova
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Church House B & B
Church House B & B
#3 of 6 in Kirriemuir
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thrums Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thrums Hotel

Address: 25 Bank Street, Kirriemuir DD8 4BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirriemuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of rural Angus; this charming town is celebrated for its location as the 'gateway' to the beautiful Angus Glens. The Thrums is situated in the heart of the town and offers quality accommodation and a welcoming, friendly atmosphere within charming surroundings. This family-run hotel, recently refurbished to high standard, has nine en-suite rooms. We have a selection of double, twin, single or family sized rooms to cater for all needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thrums Hotel Kirriemuir, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing